We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Weekend Break”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped 1 night in June 2014. Modern, clean, tidy. Friendly staff. Very comfortable bed in a lovely bright, spotless room with all the facilities you would expect. Breakfast was good. Eggs cooked fresh. Hot coffee, which makes a change to most. Didn't eat in the restaurant.
Excellent location walking distance from every attraction.
Overall an excellent hotel. Only downside is the fee for parking, but it's cheaper than the car park over the road. Would definitely stop again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IaShaCraSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,848)
There are newer reviews for Hilton York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,622 - 1,628 of 2,848 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed at the Hilton in York due to its locality. This is the only bonus of the hotel.. great for all tourist attractions. The hotel itself is very dated.. rooms are basic.. not what you would expect for a Hilton hotel. Our room was opposite a building yard.. also very noisy throughout the night therefore couldn't keep the window open and in turn boiling to death! bed small and uncomfy.. stains all over the carpet.. Wouldn't pay the amount of money we did to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank becky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

parking limited £10 but valet parked, good conference facilities, nice hotel, when coming away you turn straight into the one way system which at rush hour does not rush! Nice staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Large room with two twin beds, comfortable, great restaurant, and location. Great staff and cleanliness. The room had a lot of room, the tv worked really well and had great features. It site right at the bottom of Clifford's tower and is near the center of the town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Sadly, the Hilton brand is nowhere near what it used to be.

Mixed opinion about this hotel. This was the 2nd time I have stayed here (I gave them the benefit of the doubt for the second visit)

First time was in a suite – which is in no way as fancy as it sounds. As well as the bedroom (which is great) you have a dingy, dark room with a sofa and telly in. The room was FREEZING cold. I went to reception (it was about 2pm) and asked if I could have some heating only to be told that ‘the heating doesn’t come on until 5pm’!! This is supposed to be a 4* hotel?? The hot water takes 5-6 minutes to come through (the hotel is aware of this, it is apparently because of the distance it has to travel) – what an absolute waste of water – so much for environmental policy.

The breakfast was wonderful, though it’s clear there are not enough breakfast staff to cope with demand (the breakfast staff there in fairness worked their socks off).

Staff (particularly reception) generally not very accommodating or exceed at customer service.

I did stay for a second time - though this was only because I was taking my (83 year old) mum who can’t walk very far and the hotel is in an excellent location in York. I therefore asked for a room near the lift (when booking) so my mum wouldn’t have to walk too far. You’ve guessed it…they put my mum in a room that not only was the furthest from the lift – but also had several steps to manage also!!! They could not move my mum as they were fully booked (The room I was in was of equal distance so there was little point swapping).

Beware of having a room above the function suite – despite being on the second floor and not that close to the function suite there was a party on that night (it was December) and the bass line thudded and vibrated through the room – I stuck it till around midnight until I rang down. They said they would ask them to turn the bass level down.

Average hotel at a top price. Very disappointing – would have expected far more with Hilton.

Room Tip: Pay an extra £50 for an executive room (you do receive a bottle of water and a couple of pieces of f...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigOwl2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

An alright place in an otherwise impressive city. The building is old and the suite, very simple with 2 beds. Wifi was pretty slow. The location is the only saving grace!

The breakfast selection was amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manish_Shetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Things I liked about the Hilton Hotel in York UK. As an American I really enjoyed the wonderful air conditioning. Big bed. Big shower. We are members oh HHonor so we were upgraded to bigger room. Best part about staying here is that they have their own parking. If sightseeing in York, stay here and you can walk all about the old town. Breakfast was wonderful also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: £92 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing