We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overnight in York”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in York
Leith
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overnight in York”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is in excellent location within city walls - been coming here since it was a Stakis (or Forte). Staff friendly & helpful. Hilton (not just for York) need to sharpen their act - web booking pages frustrating, charges for internet ridiculous, parking now valet service only but reasonable though Novotel nearby may still be free. Not even a biscuit on welcome tray!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank sonnyleith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    873
    635
    305
    146
See reviews for
557
1,224
71
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice and clean rooms. Efficient, helpfull and friendly staff. Great full English breakfast. The hotel lies at the edge of the historic city centre of York, with all the beautiful buildings and streets at easy walking distance. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Etienne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Hot, noisy and drab room, one or two great staff ruined by others (more senior?) taking a delight in messing this Hilton Honors customer around. Two room changes, one on day two finally gave us some peace and quiet.

A visit best forgotten was our conclusion.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roomno9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
361 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a great location opposite Clifford's Tower in a great city, yet the whole experience is vanilla bordering on should be in special measures.

The outside of the hotel looks great, big open windows looking into the lobby and dining room. You then else where in the hotel its like a rabbit warren, the meeting room we had cam with 4 brick walls, no windows unless you count the dirty skylights that had electric blinds on them that were as dysfunctional as the service. We were trying to have a meeting in the cell that had been provided for us and every 40 mins or so there was a knock on the door, when would we like tea, tea was now here, what time did we want lunch etc. WiFi was horrendously slow, the food in the restaurant was very limited and reminded me of my school dinners in the way it was served. This place could be so much more if it just got some leadership and a little decoration. This is York, tourists, business and residents of York deserve better!!! City of York Council, Hotels, Restaurants, Bars UP YOUR GAME, especially you Hilton!

Room Tip: Avoid the Hilton Brand until they up their game!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerIIYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very well run, clean and comfortable hotel. Situated right in the centre of York it has underground car parking facilities, lovely clean rooms, serves a great breakfast and has very helpful and friendly staff. All rooms are air conditioned and the bathroom was spotless. Would definitely stop again. The staff deserve great credit as they all seem to work extremely hard. I don't know who the manager is but he's doing a great job!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jamie959768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Overnight stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary, prepaid for a King Deluxe room, the room was spacious and airy and had an excellent view overlooking Cliffords Tower. King bed was an excellent size and quite comfortable. Special mention to the front of house manager Paul, for the excellent gesture of the upgrade package to celebrate our anniversary.
Breakfast included, and was excellent, overall a brilliant stay and a great base for the centre of York.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aidan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Great location for the city of York and local attractions, especially Cliffords Tower, the castle museum and the river. Also a short bus trip to the University of York campus.

Check in was quick, the two rooms we booked were clean and comfortable and breakfast was very nice.

The hotel lacked individuality and charm but was functional, which is what we were looking for given we weren't planning on spending much time in the hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bekka_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, General Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Bekka_13,

Thank you for taking the time post your feedback on this website.

I am pleased to see that overall you had an enjoyable stay and found our location great for exploring the lovely city of York.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Martin Bradnam
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing