We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”
Review of Hilton York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton York
Ranked #39 of 46 Hotels in York
Pinner
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Check in was relatively straight forward and our room was clean, tidy as you would expect from a Hilton. The bed, pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was good. The trouble began when I tried to iron my partner's shirt for our meal out (having experienced Hilton dining before we always eat out in the evenings.) The ironing board was wobbly which made the job quite challenging but the iron should not have been in the room let alone the hotel due to the flex being worn in several places. After a very good night's sleep we ventured down to breakfast...what a mistake. The Hilton breakfast is renown and ours certainly was. The sausages were not cooked properly and cold, the bacon was cold as were the hash browns, the scrambled egg was "warm". We asked for 2 teas and got 1 tea and 1 coffee which got changed but he blamed his colleague for getting the order wrong (not good). We were not offered a top up of tea. I completed the comment card and handed it into Reception together with the iron when we checked out. When asked if we enjoyed our stay I said no and the Receptionist gave me a flithy look and gave a brief explanation of what was written on the card. I would not recommend this hotel for food but the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuesPinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 23 November 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I was sorry to read that you were disappointed in the standard of breakfast and iron and ironing board in your room. Please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and communicated to my team for action and review.

On a brighter note, I was delighted to note that you found the bed to be comfortable and the room to be nice.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    881
    654
    313
    147
See reviews for
568
1,253
72
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Just returned from a two night stay at the Hilton to celebrate my 30th birthday. Our room was upgraded and reception also sent fruit, wine, water and a card to our room to say happy birthday! Hotel staff were very helpful and breakfast was brilliant. The beds were very comfy as were the pillows, I was even tempted to bring one home! Hotel very central to all attractions. Would defo return!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your recent celebratory stay with us and found the staff to be helpful and the breakfast to be brilliant.

It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We booked here well in advance and managed to get a very good rate for a double double room. For an additional GBP20 , we also bought the dinner and breakfast package, which we found extremely good value. the breakfast was standard Hilton, which was enormous and included black pudding and Haggis for thos inclined to try it. A bit mass produced, but fine for us. The dinner was a 3 course set menu, which was also extremely good value, although no Michelin chef's hat, was still very presentable and reasonably tasty.
The Hotel itself is not waht we're used to in Austrlia for a hiltin, and I would rate it at around 3 1/2 to 4 star.
Rooms were not huge for a Hilton, so for an overnight stop, with 4 large cases from travelling further afield, we had to cram the cases in the room.
Parking was very expensive, but once you're inside York's walls, you don't have much iof an option, so to find free parking, you'd need to walk about 10-15 minutes.
Hotel location was fabulous. Opposite clifford tower and near the main shpping street and all the museums, the shambles and a 5 minute walk to the Minster.
The staff tried to be halpful, but were a bit busy, so i guess could use a few more staff. Plenty of brochures available at reception and we did a great night walk ghost tour.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em_be53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive comments on this website.

I am sorry you found the rooms to be small. Whilst we are somewhat limited by the size and structure of our building, our recent refurbishment programme has allowed us to maximize our space with slim line furniture and contemporary, calming décor and soft furnishings. This has been well received by the majority of our guests. I regret that this was not to your liking.

However, I was pleased to note that you found the staff to be helpful and the location to be fabulous.

It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I stayed at the Hilton York recently. For a business class hotel, I would class it as fairly average - neither great nor terrible.

Location - near to city centre. The hotel is opposite Clifford's Tower, and all the main tourist sights are at most 10-15 minutes walk away.

Rooms - I had one at the front overlooking the Tower. It was a reasonable size, bright, and the decor was pretty fresh. My wife noticed a few corners that needed dusting. The bathroom was small (and smelled slightly when we came in, but that quickly went away). Bed was a decent size, and comfortable.

Facilities - we didn't eat in the restaurant., except for breakfast. The choice was fine, but it seemed pretty crowded, and the tables were set out almost to the front of the buffet. Lots of places around if you want to eat out at night. We had dinner twice in a smallish place just across the road called 31 Castlegate - not cheap, but good quality and nice staff.

There wasn't much lounge space if you just wanted to sit - almost all of the seating was part of the bar, or the restaurant.

No gym, no pool.

Staff - varied from so so to good. No one was rude to us, or anything like it, and some of the staff were really friendly and helpful. Some of the others had a habit of ignoring guests who were waiting if they were busy themselves. Understandable, but doesn't give a good impression.

Others - car parking is a pain. As others have said, it's 15 pounds a day to use the hotel's underground car park, and you have to leave your keys with reception. We used the public car park across the road overnight (2 pounds from 6pm to 8am), overpaid another 2 pounds when buying the overnight ticket (which gave us until 9am), and then moved the car to another park near the railway museum. It's 6 pounds for all day there - the one across from the hotel is 2 pounds per hour during the day.

Noise. The rooms at the front at least are prone to street noise. I was woken up every night between 2 and 3am by people outside the hotel. However, I don't fault the hotel for that - it's near a busy city centre, and that's what happens.

All in all, the Hilton York didn't really do anything terribly badly, in my eyes. It just didn't do much terribly well. The room was comfortable for sleeping in, but the lack of facilities, lack of lounge space, and expensive parking, meant that I felt obliged to go out and look around the city. No great hardship, when it's a place as lovely as York, but I would have liked to have had the choice.

I would stay again if I got a sensible room rate - the published ones are utterly ridiculous - but I would regard it as a base to go out from, not a place to relax in.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on this website.

I was sorry to learn that you found the breakfast area to be crowded and for any inconvenience this caused you. Please rest assured that I have communicated your comments to my Restaurant Manager for review and resolution.

I regret that you found the bathroom to be small. Whilst we are somewhat limited by the size and structure of our building, we do endeavour to ensure that our guests are comfortable at all times.

However, I was pleased to note that you found the room to be comfortable.

It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2009

we stayed at the hilton for a two night stay the hotel was wonderful great location staff were extremely helpful great room we stayed in the double suite it was amazing would definately recommend to anyone york itself was great

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwinstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on this website.

I was delighted to learn that you found the hotel to be wonderful and the suite to be amazing.

It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

A very decent hotel in a fantastc location with too much emphasis on everything but the rooms. The rooms are pleasant, bright and minimalist but they are no way in the league of a so-called top class luxury hotel. They are a little better than some of the better Holiday Inn Expresses I have stayed in. Hilton hotels in the UK I have found, are average. Go to the continent and they are excuisite (e.g. Prague & Munich). Bathrooms are cramped and 'plasticy' with feeble shower pressure and dusty corners. Comfortable beds, tea and coffee facilities, nice large flat screen TV and a satisfactory range of storage options. There is obviously a fair emphasis on corporate hospitality and creating a good impression here. The entrance and lobby are impressive, the bar and dinning area very well presented along with the meeting rooms, corridors and other communal areas. Externally, the hotel is nothing special to look at, but the location right opposite Clifford's Tower is perfect for all angles on York. At £189 a night, the price was crazy (race weekend had something to do with it perhaps) but luckily there were 4 of us in a room crashing out on a stag night so the financial hit was wholly acceptable. I would never dream of paying this kind of rate for any hotel anywhere and if I did it would have to be out of this world. I would be more than happy paying something like £69 a night for this hotel. In summary, a pleasant stay at a perfectly located and functional hotel with all the trimmings there if required.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minky35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on this website.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be well presented and the rooms to be pleasant.

I would like to take this opportunity to confirm to you that our rates are based on demand.

It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2009

I booked this through Last minute.com. When I booked it I didnt know it was going to be the Hilton because it was one of the "secret hotels". I was well chuffed. When we arived the guys in the car park, parked my car for me, nice touch. We checked in ok. The room was smaller than I was expecting, but it was adequate, clean and quiet. We went to the races in York, where I had a nice win on the first race, which covered the cost of the hotel and our evening meal in York that night. Breakfast was the usual Hilton fair, lots of it, and all good stuff. This is just a nice hotel, nothing special, very central and if you can book it through last minute.com, then go for it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertsSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonYork, Hotel Manager at Hilton York, responded to this review, 30 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback on this website.

I was delighted to learn that you found the room to be clean and the hotel to be nice.

It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton York in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Gary Morrison
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,198 reviews
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton York

Property: Hilton York
Address: 1 Tower Street, York YO1 9WD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton York 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton York hotel is the 4-star hotel within the city walls and located in the heart of York. Only 10 minutes walk from York Minster, the railway station and other York attractions. Do business in one of 8 meeting rooms and savour European or Tex-Mex food in the 3 bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton York Hotel York
Hilton International York
Hilton Hotel York
York Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing