We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed as a family of four between Christmas and New Year. Our room was lovely and the kids had their own seperate room which was also a really good size. It's a good ten minute walk into town but well worth it. The pool was an added bonus for us but it was a little chilly! The car park round the back was huge. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful and we would definately stay agin, thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joanneheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stopped here as a last minute evening away. A very good sized car park to rear of the hotel. It does seem very small from the front. The lady on reception was very friendly & took us to our room. We did book a double excutive room & paid a little more but was disappointed as the room we were given was very basic & overlooked bins. Bed was very comfy & breakfast was good. We found the bedroom extremely warm during the night despite opening windows for some reason.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlekev333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We booked two different hotels in York. One we were disappointed in, but the Kilima was anything but a disappointment. The room was clean, inviting, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We were in room number 1; the four poster en suite. The only downside were the squeaky floors, but in an old building, that is to be expected. We didn't get a chance to use the leisure facilities, but wished we would have brought our swim suits. The full English breakfast the next morning was perfect. We'd stay here again for $152 or 99 GBP.

Room Tip: Room 1 was nice and quiet, even though it was off the stairs. Take bus 10 or 1 to the train station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

I was visiting York on business and needed a hotel for the outskirts rather than city centre. The Kilima was a great location as it gave me terrific access out to the A1(M) but only a 10 min walk into the heart of the city.

The hotel has plenty of free parking at the rear, a lovely quiet location with no noise and good facilities. I found the staff to be friendly and smiling and happy to help; I had a small issue with the bathroom in my room that was dealt with promptly and with the minimum of fuss to my satisfaction.

The bar/restaraunt area is very cosy and has a nice atmosphere. There is a terrific swimming pool that as great to unwind in after a long day at work. The breakfast was of a good standard and well sized portions.

My room was smartly decorated in a modern style with very comfy bed and good amenities such as trouser press, tea/coffee making facilities and free WIFI. The bathroom was good, but would benefit from being modernised to the standard of the room; this and the decor in the public areas of the hotel would benefit from updating to make this a fantastic hotel.

As a 3 star rated location, I think this provides excellent facilities and good value and I would recommend this as a great value alternative to the more expensive city centre hotels

Room Tip: Rooms at the side or rear to be away from the main road. Make sure you take your swimming costume...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T7PDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We booked the KIlima as the other Best Western properties in York were both full and we had a two night Dinner Bed and Breakfast voucher to use . We were a little put of on arrival by the location and the fact the hotel was more like a large house but we really enjoyed our stay ! Its a very personal hotel and the staff cannot do enough to help you ! Its a short walk into York center which is very historical with loads to see and do.
The hotel itself , although small has a small swimming pool and onsite bar and restaurant . We arrived late on a Friday so had a couple of drinks in the old fashioned bar and enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant . The food was fabulous with plenty to choose from and real quality home cooked taste . The staff were well informed on the menu and offered a series of recommendations . We intended to eat out on the Saturday but were so impressed we ate in the hotel again , The Salmon on the menu was fantastic but there was a very good choice of top quality dishes . The breakfast was also superb, cooked to order and very very tasty , just what you need on a cold February morning .
The room was basic but had everything you need .
May rating of very good is based on the personal service and quality of food in the hotel . If you are looking for a relaxing weekend in a small personal hotel stay here...if you want room service and the other add on's you get at larger city center hotels dont !
Will return !

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimjam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Had a sudden need to be in York. Other hotels I normally stay in were expensive due to an event going on. Picked Kilima from BW as they normally have good hotels. Arrived late made very welcome, room was clean and spacious. Quiet location room at the back so no road noise. The bar was great with proper beer, pity it was very quiet. Braekfast was good. Pity missed the pool but as I have said I will return.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are rooms at the front but those at the back had no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithsboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel and I'm pleased to say it has retained all of the qualities that we loved the 1st time around. The food and wine in the restaurant is lovely if you don't fancy going into the city centre and all of the staff are very friendly and accommodating. There's a swimming pool, steam room and small gym area to keep you occupied, or it's just a 10 min walk into the city centre for plenty of shopping or restaurants. There's a free on-site car park, so once you've arrived you don't really need to worry about driving anywhere. Will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_Stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £76 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing