We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff in the bar/restaurant fantastic but facilities poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Staff in the bar/restaurant fantastic but facilities poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Food was fantastic and staff very warm an welcoming. Steam room is more like a cupboard with a kettle in it. Tv in room was tiny. Bathroom very clean but shower is pathetic. I was rudely awoken buy the maids at 6am speaking loudly outside my room. Breakfast was cooked to perfection again staff fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    248
    58
    17
    10
See reviews for
87
316
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Combined work/family trip - 3 nights in York, with 17yo, 14yo & 9yo in tow. Hotel in great place, a nice walk into City - but not too far. Quiet, clean, and helpful, friendly staff. Very good food for breakfast, with large choice all freshly cooked to order. Added advantage of a swimming pool, fantastic for the kids to let off steam.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Having stayed in hotels throughout the UK this small and friendly hotel is definitely one of our favourites, and we would not stay anywhere else in York. The staff are so welcoming and friendly and extremely efficient. The whole place feels loved and cared for and is very well run with a high standard of decor and a big free car park at the back. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with everything we needed on hand. We had asked for a quiet room when booking and they made sure we got one. In fact on check in we were told we had been given a quiet room and the next morning we were asked if it had been quiet enough, which of course it had. The cellar bar and restaurant is very cosy and the food is wonderful and not overpriced. The excellent breakfast is served piping hot to your table and there is a wide variety of choice served quickly by the polite and pleasant staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we felt this way throughout our stay, which was all too short. The pool and leisure centre is an added bonus, although originally it was this that first attracted us to this hotel as swimming pools are few and far between in York. As for location, it is a 10 minute walk into the city centre or a short inexpensive cab ride. If I had to think of one downside I would say it is a little cold in the bar/restaurant so wear a jumper. Not a big problem though. We would recommend The Kilima to anyone who likes friendliness, comfort and high standards in a hotel where you feel really taken care of.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed with friends for a long weekend, both had a large double en-suite on 1st floor. The rooms were clean, nice linens, towels etc and had a good range of teas and coffees and a nice bikkie for bedtime with your hot chocolate which was needed after a walk back on a cold crisp night. Hotel was a 10/15 minute walk from the centre which was not a problem at all but not ideal for those who want city centre, however the bonus of this hotel is its friendly staff and the fact they go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Breakfast is very good, all freshly cooked to order no help yourself to a buffet which normally means either get up early or do without if like our group you leave it to the last minute to go down. Bar is adequate for a nightcap. Pool looked very inviting but we did not actually take a dig. The hotel is quite old and perhaps could do with a makeover but not to make it a cold and sterile boutique type but just to refresh ceratin tired areas. Would go back without hesitation and tried to book for August when we return for the races but alas fully booked which speaks volumes. Do not let the photos deter you and do not always believe what you read onTrip make your own mind up these privately owned hotels offer you the service which big chains never do

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottinghamCoolmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed as a family of four between Christmas and New Year. Our room was lovely and the kids had their own seperate room which was also a really good size. It's a good ten minute walk into town but well worth it. The pool was an added bonus for us but it was a little chilly! The car park round the back was huge. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful and we would definately stay agin, thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanneheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stopped here as a last minute evening away. A very good sized car park to rear of the hotel. It does seem very small from the front. The lady on reception was very friendly & took us to our room. We did book a double excutive room & paid a little more but was disappointed as the room we were given was very basic & overlooked bins. Bed was very comfy & breakfast was good. We found the bedroom extremely warm during the night despite opening windows for some reason.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank littlekev333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, KS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We booked two different hotels in York. One we were disappointed in, but the Kilima was anything but a disappointment. The room was clean, inviting, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We were in room number 1; the four poster en suite. The only downside were the squeaky floors, but in an old building, that is to be expected. We didn't get a chance to use the leisure facilities, but wished we would have brought our swim suits. The full English breakfast the next morning was perfect. We'd stay here again for $152 or 99 GBP.

Room Tip: Room 1 was nice and quiet, even though it was off the stairs. Take bus 10 or 1 to the train station...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.9 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing