We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room and lovely breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
east sussex
Level Contributor
155 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good room and lovely breakfast”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked this with a Superbreak deal and would have preferred something a bit nearer the City Centre but with a regular bus service outside the hotel so it was fine. The room was clean with a good shower but above the kitchen and next to the stairs made it a bit noisy.
All in all OK and friendly staff and a cracking breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blatters2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    254
    60
    17
    10
See reviews for
88
327
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay at the kilima in York. Booked this hotel through super break and received a good deal including train travel. On arrival we met Chris who checked us in efficiently and was extremely friendly and helpful. This was great since the station taxi driver was not very friendly. Chris gave us lots of helpful info about the hotel and even upgraded us to a bigger room which we didn't even ask for! The room was clean and spacious and ideal for our two night stay. If I had to make any constructive criticism then I would say that our pillows could have been softer however I'm sure that if we had complained then they would have been changed without a problem. Breakfast both days was great and served very quick and hot. I would definately recommend the croissant with cheese and bacon! The full English breakfast was also very good and not greasy. The hotel also has a swimming pool which we used each day. The leisure club was very clean and we had all the facilities to ourselves both days. Would definately recommend this hotel to others. Super 3 star.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwalker83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

my husband and i stayed at this hotel it is more 2star than 3.the staff were very nice especially
the manager. our room was ok apart from a brown stain on the mattress and the bathroom floor was dirty in the corners the pipes were very dusty. york was great during the day but at night full of very drunken hen and stag parties.

Room Tip: room on first floor at the side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank handbaggirl114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at Kilima Hotel for 3 nights. The staff were friendly, the service was excellent and the hotel was well maintained. We used the pool and it was lovely. The breakast was very good and there was plenty to choose from. It is located a short bus trip or 15 minute walk to the Centre of York. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit York

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilima_11, Director of Sales at Best Western Kilima Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments about the hotel. We are pleased to have been of service and hope that you will return again soon. Thanks again, the Kilima team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Location is ok. 10 minute walk to city. walk from car park to hotel was harder. reception was ok. polite man was welcoming and helpful. it has a swimming pool. no opportunity to buy trunks. Missing a trick here. anyway. Rooms. oh sweet -------- what is that smell? It smells of zoo urine. maybe elephant wee. it smells dreadful. before you accept your room check before agreeing to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ekim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneCossins, General Manager at Best Western Kilima Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Please remove your review, we do not have a pool and this is clearly for another Hotel. But I guess this demonstrates the ability for anyone to post comments about your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

I chose this hotel as it is part of the Best Western group and having stayed in the Pavillion on Fulford Road 2 weeks previous, I was interested to know how this compared.
Firstly it is on the a59 Holgate Road into York which is a particularly busy road at most times, a difficult get out so be prepared to wait (walking is better, its only 10mins)
On arrival I was surprised at how small the hotel appeared but it had a very good sized car park which is great to get in York, normally my car is wedged in tiny spaces and I worry it will be damaged so this was very welcome!
The enterance to the hotel is very nice and I was greeted very warmly and professionally.
I was taken up to my room and given a tour on the way which was very helpful.
My room was very nice and had lots of space especially for a single traveller.
All I would say is there is a lot going on decoration wise, with the curtains, wallpaper, carpet and bedspread all being different patterns it all clashed a bit, but a very minor point!
The bathroom was a very good size and had a bath which is unusual for York. Shower was powerful and plenty hot water. Most importantly it was all immaculately clean.
I took a trip down to the leisure facilities which were very nice, the changing rooms and pool are spotless and I had them to myself. I wasn't a fan of the steam room, I find them a bit unhygenic with water dripping from the walls and ceiling and sitting in puddles on the seats but each to their own!
What I liked most about this hotel was they had listened to my requests. Before arrival I had asked for a quiet room as the one in the Best Western Pavillion had been very noisy due to a staff room door. When you get a good deal it seems compulsory to get a noisy room! So when I realised my room was next to a fire exit I wasn't too impressed thinking it would be used for staff smoking etc but was pleasantly surprised to find that I put in this room as it was at the very end of the corridor so nobody passed by and I had a really good nights sleep. Much appreciated on business trips and long days of travel.
I didnt get to have breakfast so can't comment, but the hotel is kept beautifully clean and there's attention to detail in the decoration.
I wouldn't hesitate for a second in recommending this hotel, I'll be using again should a great deal that I had come up again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardner, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My fiance and I enjoyed this hotel despite the fact that it was a good walk from the train station and to city center (20-25 minutes if you walk briskly). The breakfast was very tasty and the room very clean. The only downside to our room on the second floor near the stairs was the really squeaky floor. We would be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank couponqueenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,197 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilima Hotel

Property: Best Western Kilima Hotel
Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing