We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, awesome facilities but old dated and small rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The staff were so friendly and helpful and the breakfast were spot on (get the full English)The steam room and sauna felt amazing after a long walk around York and best of all were free of charge. The hotel itself was old and dated the floors creaked in the bedroom and corridors and the room/ensuite were so small. Over all I'd probably stay again but only if bigger more modern rooms are available.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwertyowen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

Booked this hotel for a Business trip and was not dissapointed, very nice room although the bathroom was not the best however the rest of the hotel was very nice.
The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked to order and was first class, I would most definately stay here again

Room Tip: I had a room facing the rear of the Hotel and found it very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danermag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed in Best Western Kilima Hotel for a night due to IELTS exam which held in Melton College on the next morning. For you who might have the same reason to go to York, I think it's a good decision to spend a night in Kilima hotel as it's just 2-3 minutes walk to Melton College rather than rushing from the train station. The hotel are nice and clean although it is a little bit old fashioned. The room and the en-suite bathroom are comfortable and suitable for my needs. The breakfast was superb and provided you with a lot of selection. The egg and smoked salmon tasted delicious :). The staffs are really friendly and helpful. They even told me a shortcut to the railway station. Yay :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liavaniadewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

we only booked a one night stay spare of the moment. on arrival we were met by Matt at reception very happy to help showed us to our room,and advised us of the local shops pubs and life in york.
we stayed at this hotel for our main meal that evening and were served by Chris again very happy to help and with friendly converstation to make us feel comfortable. Our meals were to die for especially the steak and chicken dishes.
our room was comfortable and had all we required for our nights stay we overlooked the car park at the back, this was a very quiet room and we were very happy.
we would stay again,
Chris and Matt thanks boys.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northants1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The staff here are some of the nicest I have encountered... really excellent.
The hotel is clean, and in a quiet location.
However the rooms are old fashioned, as are the bathrooms and in general need of some TLC - very old bed in my room which groaned every time I moved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen100Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I feel really bad for writing this. Firstly I want everyone to know that the staff in this hotel are fabulous, couldn't do enough for you and basically really friendly. I stay in the York/ Leeds area a few nights each month for work. This hotel is clean and really there is nothing wrong with it, it just wasn't for me. It was very dated and twee which is great if you like that sort of thing and unfortunately I'm really not a fan. Its the chinz curtains, bedspreads and patterned carpets too much in all the areas. This hotel does have a car park which was one of the reasons I decided to stay here, and that was great, right behind the hotel.

Can really comment on breakfast as all I had was cereal and toast. What I will say is that I wouldn't stay here again because you have to bear in mind that they don't actually start serving breakfast until 0730hrs and by about 0715hrs people are hanging about waiting on it opening. This wasn't convenient for me as I have to be in work for 0800hrs so it was a bit of a mad rush, just a suggestion, but serving breakfast from 0700hrs would probably make a big difference.

Don't let this put you off as I said its worth a chance, especially if you are getting a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MACDONALDS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

very friendly staff always on hand, i have stayed there for the best part of 6 months usally 3 or 4 nights a week. the chef is willing to cater outside the menu if pre arranged and the food is usually top notch, a bit pricey, but thats York for you. there is a small gym, if you must exercise, i found the pool and steam room more to my liking, ideal for relaxing the trials of the day away before dining. the one negative i have is the showers, not a problem if your a bath person, not a lot of power and a little tempermental. All in all a very welcoming hotel with good facilities close to the town centre, free parking and free wi-fi unlike some hotels that want to charge £10 per day. will be back there soon

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,880 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £87 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing