We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very amateur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have literally just got back from our first weekend in York together having been on many weekend breaks together around the uk & europe.

On arriving at the hotel there was no one to be found at reception, on ringing the bell several times 'finally' somebody appeared, i'd like to add with no apology about our wait in reception. The young male I would like to add was friendly & attentive, showed us where our room was & advised where other facilities were in the hotel.

In entering the room it was clean but we noticed that the bed was incredibly small considering both me & my partner are of slim build but we thought nothing of it & continued for a very good evening in York. The hotel itself is a good 15 minutes brisk from the centre but this did not bother us as we were aware & are of relatively good shape.

In entering the room on our return the room was very stuffy & this was where we had our first night of complete lack of sleep due to the bed size.

In the morning we were still trying to remain positive & headed down for breakfast. My partner straight away headed towards the cereals & juice area & was advised that this would be brought to us?? We found this very strange as the majority of hotels nowadays allow you to get you to get those accompliments yourself? But again we left it be & ordered our cereals & hot foods. Unfortunately we never received these & my apparent poached egg was a hard boiled & my partners food was cold, we perhaps should have said something but by that time the sleep deprivation & the cock up already just put us off to be honest.

We headed for a swim & the pool was nice but the steam room seat was broken & by looking at other reviews its been that way for a long time which shouts out a lack of attention to detail.

I didnt want to go for breakfast the next day & would rather had gone somewhere else but my partner was still optimistic, again unfortunately it wasn't to standard, again when we checked out this morning nobody was to be found hence having to leave this review rather than bringing this to their attention.

Unfortunately the hotel needs to raise its game to compete with the chain of hotels that are far cheaper & offer better quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sadie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Kilima Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

This charming hotel (originally the rectory for the local church which has been extended) is ideal for visiting the city of York. It has plenty of car parking and there is a frequent bus service (nos 1 and 10) into the City Centre with bus stops right outside the hotel (senior citizen bus passes are accepted). For younger legs, walking into the City Centre, railway station and the National Railway Museum are all within a 15-20 minute walk. The staff were all very friendly, professional and offered advice and assistance. Chris and Samantha in particular make guests feel very welcome with nothing too much trouble for any of their staff. We can highly recommend the food in the downstairs restaurant where food is cooked to order. It is of an excellent standard but note that portions are very generous - we never managed more than 2 courses! There is a good choice of breakfast dishes and the local Whitby kippers are recommended. Daily specials augment the menu for those staying more than a couple of nights. The swimming pool is clean and offers a welcome dip after long days visiting the sights. Our suite was large with a separate lounge, a four poster bed in the bedroom, and both bath and shower in the small bathroom. Thankfully the hotel provided a room fan which did help to move the air around during the uncommon heat wave! We would certainly recommend this hotel if visiting York.

Room Tip: Room 20 is a spacious quiet suite with separate lounge and a corner bath and shower in the bathroom.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepeingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

First visit to this hotel. What a pleasant surprise. Staff are all very friendly and professional - any issues sorted promptly and without question. Room very clean and spacious although during this heatwave no air conditioning made it a little uncomfortable despite the best efforts of our room fan. Had breakfast and dinner at the hotel, both of which were delicious - be aware however that the portions are enormous so make sure you are hungry! The hotel is a bit of a walk from the city centre and/or train station but only a few minutes by taxi. I would highly recommend the Kilima.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from any traffic noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Somerferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel is located a 15 minute walk from the old town and the rail station. Use a bus or a taxi if you arrive with lots of luggage.

Staff was very friendly. For our family of five we got a room with two bedrooms and a four poster bed in the master bedroom. Bathroom was somewhat small, but the pool in the basement made up for it.

Breakfast was nice and plentiful.

Did not try the hotel restaurant, as we found it somewhat costly. There's no other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blazius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from best western kilima after going to York races,we were made to feel really welcome and Chris who first greeted us is so friendly and welcoming,as is all of the staff.
The food is good and the bar down stairs is just what you need after a cracking day ou.Would
recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in York.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed at the Best Western Kilima between 18-28 June 2013. My ten-day business stay was fantastic and the staff were very friendly, helpful and went the extra mile for me making me feel very comfortable during my ten days away from home. I would HIGHLY recommend the hotel to any type of visitor (tourist and business alike) as it is situated in a qiuet residential location and close to the city centre and only a 10-minute walk to the train station. The hotel, apart from its convenient & quiet location and exceptionally helpful staff, it boasts a well-equiped gym, an indoor swimming pool and a steam room! Their rates are a bargain considering the services they offer and the good WiFi connection throughout the premises was amazing for someone who was 10 days away from office.. :) Thanks Chris!

Room Tip: The room was spotless and comfortable with everything I could ask for (the coffee and biscuits too...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

From the friendly greeting when we arrived and being shown to our room not just told where it find it to great breakfasts and lovely dinners what more could we want. Everybody was really pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. A little dated in decorations but it suits the hotel. Noisy fan in the bathroom could do with replacing. So much nicer than the impersonal chains.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £85 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing