We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and our stay was most enjoyable. the greeting was informative and enthusiastic. Hotel is a short walk to the centre and a few pubs on way! Car parking is plentiful but walk from car to reception would be difficult for guests who have mobility issues. Breakfast was of high quality and hot! Staff were very helpful and were able to advise on places to eat locally. The hotel comes reccomended!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    256
    61
    17
    10
See reviews for
88
330
31
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-furness
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two-night stay in the Kilima Hotel (while the races were on) and I was very pleasantly surprised!! Admittedly, the hotel is slightly old-fashioned, but this shouldn't put anyone off staying here. The staff are superb, especially Chris, nothing is too much trouble for them & all is done with a cheery smile! I liked having waitress service for breakfast and the food was lovely. I have read a few reviews which say the bathroom is tiny, yes it is small, but seriously, how big do you need a bathroom to be when you're just using it for the toilet and washing yourself???? Get a grip people!!! If I had to have a slight gripe, it would be the small double bed (but then again I am used to a super-king size!!!!) and the fact breakfast is only served until 9.30 (a bit of an early start if you've had a heavy evening)!!! Distance into town & to the races not bad at all, but after a full day standing at the races, it had to be a taxi back!!! All in all, will definitely stay here again when I come back to York.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GailNeil11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

As expected for 3* Hotel. Old fashioned, tired decor. Small cramped bathroom. However the sleeping arrangements in the 4-poster suite were perfect for our family of 5 (although my husband's feet were dangling off the end of the bed !)

Great for leaving the car safely & exploring York on foot.
Breakfast good and nice to have waiter service rather than buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithyj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Excellent weekend away with our 3 young kids. Room was a four poster with separate secure room for the kids with their own TV. Food and service were excellent with the staff being very friendly and patient even with the little ones running around. Nothing is too much trouble. They provided the sort of service most bigger hotels miss - it's not about having loads of staff being paid small wages who don't want t be there is about having staff and a family business who make ever effort to make every guest feel special because they want to. Pool was brilliant and pretty much had it to ourselves. I work in York regularly and have requested my company to put me here in future as they are a cut above every other hotel I have been to in York. Could do with a larger choice of beers in the bar but Black Sheep is pretty good anyway.

Room Tip: Room 27 for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

What a fantastic welcome we had! Chris was always so helpful as was sammy and the rest of the team. This is a great place to stay, a nice distance from York centre. The restaurant and pool were fantastic, the food delicious. I can't rate this hotel enough. I give 9/10 but next time it will be 10/10 if we get a king size bed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a king size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINCOLN
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Most enjoyable stay we found all staff to be very helpful , the food was fantastic all freshly cooked to order ,we enjoyed the waitress service at breakfast .The hotel was full yet we still had excellent service.
Ideal location we walked into town each day
Room was OK this is a 3star hotel so we did not expect too much
Hotel very clean
Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbarasbistro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A small quirky hotel about 10 mins walk from the centre of York, or the station. As York is fairly compact, we decided to leave the car at home and take the train from London. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and adequate, but perhaps a little tired. Although we had planned to eat out each evening, it was far too convenient to eat in the Hotel’s basement restaurant. The food was very good, as was breakfast in the morning. We had a good few days in York.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmuswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,248 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilima Hotel

Property: Best Western Kilima Hotel
Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing