We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Base for Visiting York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This nice hotel is very comfortable, conveniently located and well run. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Car parking is excellent and buses to the centre of York stop very close to the front of the hotel. The bedroom was spacious but rather dark: facilities are good. The dining room is pleasant enough although lacks external light. Food is very good and portions are generous. The bar area is pleasant enough but the lounge is attractive and more comfortable. Overall, this is a very good base for visiting York.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great location; crisp white bedding; huge bed; spotlessly clean; substantial and varied breakfast; swimming pool and steam room for relaxation and staff friendly and professional. Car parking plentiful and this is a bonus for York. Booked directly with Best Western and this was the best deal.

Room Tip: Room 25 had a massive bed and was very quiet being at the side of the hotel. Delrio's Italian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobmunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The welcome was friendly. The room (twin) cosy and warm with everything that could be required - even a tea pot (as readers of my other reviews will know is something by which I set great store!). The pub/restaurant downstairs is warm and cosy too. We were at first surprised by the price of the food but, on tasting it, it was very good and the portions were large (possibly too large but better that way for the price than too little). Breakfast was very good too - Eggs Benedict, toast, cereals, yoghurt all on offer as well as the usual cooked breakfast options. The next day we were able to leave our cases there after check out and were welcomed back to fetch them with friendliness and charm. It was an easy 20 minute walk into York centre. Nothing was too much trouble. A place with real personality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Before I leave this review I too want to say that Chris and the staff at Kilima are such a lovely crowd, that it is them that leave the lasting impression with you - rather than the hotel.
I picked this offer off laterooms.com and even at the discounted price it is way too expensive!
On entering room 3 which has a four poster you are met with a real mismatch of patterns and colours, nothing really blends, all far too busy BUT all very clean. The furniture is "tired" and dates back to the 80's. For a room that should have been over £150 per night I did not expect to have a four poster bed that had been repaired, peeling paint on a table, worn chairs and the bed linen frayed at the edges, double glazed windows seemed to be broken and net curtains were tired, wardrobe wobbly etc etc....
The bathroom was clean, but there was a very distrubing damp patch behind the toilet, we found out what this was caused by when we discovered that when you have a shower the floor floods, due to a leak at the back of the shower. Again in the loo for this price I did not expect to find a tired looking shower curtain, shower over the bath looked in need of replacement and the complimentary shower gel etc presented in a blue plastic soup bowl! And plastic cups!
The hotel is fairly far out of the main town and I agree with other reviewers that if you are out, you tend to stay out for the evening, on returning to the hotel you find that the bar prices are high.
The hotel does offer free parking which is good, but in this area there is plenty on street parking so they could reduce the price of their rooms.
The swimming pool etc were lovely to use, perhaps because I had the whole place to myself when I used them, but again a comment about the seat in the sauna! Still not sorted!

And why oh why does the hotel have a stuffed fox etc in a glass case on the first landing? With a bowl of very tired plastic flowers on the top? Not an awful lot more to say on that one!

All in all the Kilima is a hotel stuck in a time warp and needs up grading - but BEST WESTERN needs to be told that their prices here are way out of line.

I for one will be writing to them directly to express my disappointment in the price point of this hotel.

AGAIN I must say "thank you" to the staff providing a very high standard of hospitality with limited resources!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

stayed here for 3 nights on 27 september 2013,booked for 2 nights ended up staying for 3,great hotel brilliant, staff some of the friendliest ive met in a hotel ,room spotless- nice little pool and steam room to relax after breakfast which again was great would defo stay here again no danger.some people make you laugh what more do u want,also ate at the mumbai lounge great food,stay clear of el grouchos steak house though got treated abysmally,disgusting scott-julie liverpool

Room Tip: room 21 was in a great location perfect....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 885scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was a trip my children and I were really looking forward to because York is such a beautiful city and the hotel had a pool. The children enjoyed the pool which was clean. The decor was quite dated which would have been overlooked and passed off as just needing a bit of updating because the hotel was clean. The problems came in the mornings. I was awaken at seven to seven thirty every day, on a weekend, by slamming doors an the KITCHEN EXTRACTOR FAN which was in close proximity to our room. The fan sounded like a loud drumming, followed by the squeak of a door and then a slam. Before going down to breakfast the first day, as I had no knowledge of what the cause was at the time, I brought the issue to the attention of the reception who seemed perplexed by my inquiry. Upon entering the dinning room, which is located in the basement, the source of the problem became apparent. Each time the waiting staff entered or exited the kitchen area I could hear the drumming of the fan as well as the squeak of the door. These sounds appear to be amplified through the floor providing a rude awakening for anyone in ROOM 11. Breakfast was very disappointing, watering eggs,rubbery bacon, coffee that tasted as if it were instant, juice that was either watery or tasted like bargain juice from concentrate. Very disappointing. On our second morning, I was again awaken by the drumming/squeaking and slamming before eight o'clock but notice a reduction in the drumming/squeaking before nine. Perhaps the fan issue was brought to the attention of the maintenance dept. The slamming continued throughout the morning. If you choose this hotel insist on a room on the upper floor as far from the kitchen as you can get. I left feeling not as rested as I would have liked.

Room Tip: Not room eleven or any rooms near said room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KK A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Comfortable, friendly staff, clean swimming pool, accessible location: within ten minutes walk of station, filling breakfast - I spent three days in the most comforting of surroundings. The interior decoration was like a time warp - 1970s provincial, only missing a communal television where the free hotel computer is parked.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are good if you have a heavy case - even the front-facing 15 was not at all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £70 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing