We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (707)
Filter reviews
707 results
Traveller rating
323
286
67
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
286
67
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsteam roommanager chriscity centrelovely poolfour posterminute walkthe hotel managerposter bedlovely hotelcar parkthe national railway museumgood sizefamily roombooked this hotelbus stopvisiting york
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 707 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

small room for the price....strange decor.

the full english breakfast for some reason they try to build a tower with it. Everyone knows the ingredients should be spaced properly on the plate. I might want to mix the egg yolk with the beans - but that should be my choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We always select a hotel after checking tripadvisor and are normally quite good at sifting through reviews and ignoring the very good and very bad. We have always had good hotels until now.
The decor was very dated as stated by other reviewers - this is not a problem if the hotel is clean - which it wasn't.
We stayed for 2 nights in ?? room 17 (ground floor next to the stairs which access the swimming pool).

Positive -
York is a lovely place to visit.
The hotel manager was very helpful and allowed us to check in early as our room was ready. The staff were very attentive and a credit to Best Western.
Parking was easy and plentiful.
The swimming pool was warm, I enjoyed the luxury of the pool to myself.
The bedroom was spacious.
Late check out.

Negative -
Dirty bathroom floor - see attached photo. It is the non-slip type of floor covering that has been down for many years and clearly needs a scrub.
We dined in the hotel on night 1. As there were only 3 tables occupied we played safe and opted for the daily special which was fish pie. It was awful. When I left over half the waitress kindly asked if she could bring me anything else which I declined. She asked me if it was watery (which it was) so obviously other complaints had been received. What a shame as the prawn cocktail started was very good.
The steam room had a 1" pool of water due to the drain being blocked - I therefore made a swift exit. It still contained a large broken seat as stated in other reviews.
Public areas were not cleaned regularly - ie. dried leaves on stairs leading down to dining room for the whole of our stay.

The price was far too much for the dated, inferior accomodation.
We will visit York again and take the taxi driver's recommendation re hotel in the centre of York.
Great meal on the second night at 'The Go Down' - just down from York dungeons - excellent food and service.
To be fair, we did not complain during our stay and after completing the online questionnaire sent by Best Western the manager of the Kilima contacted me for further feedback.
The hotel needs a big cash injection to allow a decent refurbishment.

Room Tip: Don't stay there!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escapingfromwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We visited for a 2 night stay the weekend of 17th January. Easy to find and good car parking. Great location within easy reach of the city. The hotel catered for all our needs with friendly staff who went above and beyond to ensure a relaxing stay. Good breakfast served by friendly staff. The Manager is very helpful and approchable. We will definitely visit again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DeeIan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

clean and friendly hotel, excellent breakfast would recommend the Eggs Benedict 10 minute walk into York, Leisure facilities were closed when we visited so cannot comment on these. Booked through Best Western website and got a much better rate then on late rooms or booking,com

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Booked this trip as a quiet post Christmas break and not disappointed.

Secure, free car park, 10 minutes walk into town and the hotel itself is spotlessly clean.
Very pleasant residential area and our room was very quiet.

Breakfasts were well cooked, arrived quickly and were served with a smile by an extremely helpful and friendly lady.
In fact, all the staff were superb, could not have been friendlier or more helpful.

We had been looking forward to using the pool, but found it had been retiled and was out of action on the day of our arrival.
Spoke to Chris about this and he kept us informed of progress and the pool was ready for use again the next day - excellent gym, pool spotless and the steam room was fine.

Only slight gripe was that the mattress in our room was was a bit tired.
Not a deal breaker, but something to be aware of.

Overall, we were very impressed - the hotel itself is good, but the staff are genuinely exceptional.

Room Tip: Room 20 overlooking the car park was quiet - radiators can be turned off and the windows open!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews