We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel exterior could do with smartening up. Gives a poor first impression. Flower planters with dead flowers etc. Inside is nice and clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Rooms are clean and spacious. Not so much storage though and the bathrooms could be updated, although they're clean and nothing was falling to bits.

Food in the restaurant was decent, service could have been better and it's expensive for the quality.

Breakfast was much better, generous and well prepared.

The fitness room is clean and there's one of everything you might expect. A treadmill, stepper, bike, rower, abs rocker and free weights bench. Hotter than the devils armpit in there though so take water.

Hotel is situated within 15 minutes walk of the city centre making it really accessible. A short walk in the other direction leads you to a historic windmill and lovely park to spend time in so location is great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank StillHarpingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Kilima Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just back from spending a couple of days in York. The Kilima Hotel was ideal. Great location, fantastic food, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. We also enjoyed a dip in the pool after a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Jacquimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very cosy traditional hotel, lovely pool facilities, food absolutely delicious although a little pricey, room clean and warm but bathroom a bit outdated, overall a lovely hotel with friendly, efficient staff, would visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank becca12322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Pros

- Very friendly staff (couldn't fault them).
- Spacious room.
- Clean and tidy.
- Comfortable.
- Plenty of parking.
- Good food (nice tasting. Cooked breakfast was one of the nicest I've had in a hotel).
- Nice pool and steam room.
- Just within walking distance of the city centre (working on the principal you are reasonably fit... ish).
- Generally an overall pleasant experience.

Cons

- Food was overpriced for what it was.
- Eton Mess was not what I thought it would be, e.g. Eton Mess! It had no berry based items in it :-(
- The hotel was showing its age and needs a degree of modernising.
- The shower was not ideal. It was cramped and dribbly.
- Creaky floor boards.
- Although generally quiet you could hear clearly what was going on in the reception area whilst sat in your hotel room (our room was very near to the reception).

If I was in that neck of the woods again I would stay at that hotel. I would also recommend it to others.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ASE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

First time we stay in the best western Kilima hotel. staff was friendly, the room was very clean and quiet no (25),the breakfast was good, we will go back again. Thank you to all the staff for looking after us xx

Room Tip: We where in room 25 and it was a quiet room
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank hedberg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We chose this hotel for its indoor pool and location within easy walking distance of York centre and the train station. The pool had been recently refurbished and we had the entire pool to ourselves on each visit! Heaven. We were upgraded on the basis of it being our wedding anniversary - to a room with four poster bed. The hotel, the staff and our whole stay was memorable. We will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.9 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £84 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing