We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ring ahead to make sure you don't get room 15!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed in a standard double for two nights in late January 2014. Booked through Expedia at about £104/night. The hotel is just outside of the city centre (about 15 minutes' walk to York Minster or the National Railway Museum) but has free car parking.

This hotel appeared to be a large townhouse with an extension on the back of it. Our room was on the ground floor at the front that faced onto the main road; traffic noise was not really an issue. What was a problem was the ceiling in the bathroom (see attached photo). I am 6' and could not stand up properly to have a shower. This meant having to lean, bend and endure a few collisions with the sloping ceiling. We felt the situation was unacceptable. I complained to the front desk but the girl on reception said she could not move us to another room as the hotel was fully booked for the weekend. She suggested, although not ideal, that we could use the showers in the pool area. Now for over £100/night I don't expect to have to use alternative facilities. We could also hear the footsteps of people walking around upstairs, which was rather instrusive, but for an old house I do not imagine the noise inulsation between the floors is that great. Note this room did not have A/C. Other than that the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

The breakfast was average. I found it quite antiquated that it was fully waiter serviced but this is not necessarily a criticism. On both mornings I had the full English but asked for certain items to be taken out but there was no offer of an extra piece of bacon or a sausage; perhaps if you don't ask, you don't get!

I cannot comment on the pool or gym as we did not have time to use them.

The staff were friendly and welcoming.

I complained to Best Western Customer Services and the response I got was that: a) we could have used the showers in the pool; and, b) that the hotel manager, Chris, could offer a preferential discount if we stayed there again. All credit to Chris as he did attempt to contact me on a number of occasions but I was away at the time. However, I replied back to Best Western and felt the offer of a discount at that hotel was unusual; I mean why would I want to go back knowing there would be a chance of being put in the same room?! Best Western assured me there would be no chance of a similar situation recurring and that they could not offer compensation/a discount on another of their hotels as each one is independently owned. I was reassured to hear that booking through Expedia had no bearing on whcih room we got, and, in addition, apparently it's only room 15 with the limited headroom bathroom.

My advice, ring ahead if you want to stay at this hotel. I think I might be taking my own advice in the future too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tillyhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Hotel exterior could do with smartening up. Gives a poor first impression. Flower planters with dead flowers etc. Inside is nice and clean and tidy. Friendly staff. Rooms are clean and spacious. Not so much storage though and the bathrooms could be updated, although they're clean and nothing was falling to bits.

Food in the restaurant was decent, service could have been better and it's expensive for the quality.

Breakfast was much better, generous and well prepared.

The fitness room is clean and there's one of everything you might expect. A treadmill, stepper, bike, rower, abs rocker and free weights bench. Hotter than the devils armpit in there though so take water.

Hotel is situated within 15 minutes walk of the city centre making it really accessible. A short walk in the other direction leads you to a historic windmill and lovely park to spend time in so location is great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank StillHarpingOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just back from spending a couple of days in York. The Kilima Hotel was ideal. Great location, fantastic food, comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. We also enjoyed a dip in the pool after a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Jacquimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Very cosy traditional hotel, lovely pool facilities, food absolutely delicious although a little pricey, room clean and warm but bathroom a bit outdated, overall a lovely hotel with friendly, efficient staff, would visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank becca12322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Pros

- Very friendly staff (couldn't fault them).
- Spacious room.
- Clean and tidy.
- Comfortable.
- Plenty of parking.
- Good food (nice tasting. Cooked breakfast was one of the nicest I've had in a hotel).
- Nice pool and steam room.
- Just within walking distance of the city centre (working on the principal you are reasonably fit... ish).
- Generally an overall pleasant experience.

Cons

- Food was overpriced for what it was.
- Eton Mess was not what I thought it would be, e.g. Eton Mess! It had no berry based items in it :-(
- The hotel was showing its age and needs a degree of modernising.
- The shower was not ideal. It was cramped and dribbly.
- Creaky floor boards.
- Although generally quiet you could hear clearly what was going on in the reception area whilst sat in your hotel room (our room was very near to the reception).

If I was in that neck of the woods again I would stay at that hotel. I would also recommend it to others.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ASE01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

First time we stay in the best western Kilima hotel. staff was friendly, the room was very clean and quiet no (25),the breakfast was good, we will go back again. Thank you to all the staff for looking after us xx

Room Tip: We where in room 25 and it was a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank hedberg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#38 of 47 in York
2,881 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £87 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing