We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just got home from a stay at this hotel. It is a basic hotel, everything was clean and tidy, the breakfast was great. The location is a nice short walk from the town, an ideal location for us as it was out of the busy city centre but close enough for sight seeing etc. We used the pool which was nice. By far the best thing about our stay wee the very friendly, helpful staff, making us feel very at home and full of local information to help us.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A88yc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed two nights bed and breakfast at beginning of March. Price was good value and the hotel is in a good location within 10-15 minutes walk of pubs, restaurants and city centre. There is also a bus route that you can use that will take you to a from the city. York rail station is only 15 minutes from the hotel.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. There is a pool and steam room available to guests free of charge, parking and wi-fi is also available free of charge. All of which are a plus to the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, only negative was that the doors to the rooms banged shut so you could hear the people who got up early for breakfast. Breakfast is served in the restaurant area between 7.30 and 9.30. You are able to choose from a breakfast menu including cereal, juice, and various cooked items with tea or coffee. We felt that breakfast would have been more enjoyable if it had been self service apart from cooked items as there were only two staff serving.

If you are looking for a good value hotel in a good location with friendly staff then this hotel would meet your needs.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We had a mid week break, what a welcome from Chris and the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyed breakfasts and dinners. Lots of ideas of where to go. Will definitely return. Chris also had a nack of guessing exactly what you would like to drink after dinner. We had a four poster room which was very quiet with no noise from the main road. Easy to get into the centre of York, parking and the one way system was a night mare, but just over£5.00 for a Taxi was simple. Thanks.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is our second visit to the Kilima, this time we stayed for 2 nights in room 27 (a family room) lovely clean room with separate room attached for the kids. The hotels a 15 minute walk into centre of town which was fine, to be honest we were glad to be out of the centre on the saturday night (alot of stag/hen parties about). Safe parking on site with a lovely swimming pool and steam room, ideal to relax in after busy day sightseeing.
The breakfasts were great, good selection and friendly efficient service.
The overall plus for the hotel though has to be the staff, very welcoming, helpful and friendly, a real credit to the hotel especially the manager Chris, we felt welcome straight away.
Will return for sure.

Room Tip: Both visits, we stayed in the rear of the property, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob_scrivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and efficient. We stayed in a family room which was very comfortable and clean. Private parking is a great benefit and hotel just a short walk to the centre. Breakfast wasn't terribly good (overcooked poached eggs each morning). This was a shame from the hotels perspective as it deterred us from having an evening meal on site.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dufis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We have stayed at this hotel previously. It is close enough to walk in to the city centre but because it is a little outside the walls is cheaper than similar hotels within the walls. Staff were very helpful throughout. There was a good selection at Breakfast. The pool and steam room were very welcome after a days sightseeing - a spa bath would have been nice though.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Novotel York Centre
3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kilima Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kilima Hotel

Address: 129 Holgate Road, York YO24 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £70 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kilima Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BESTWESTERN Kilima hotel is a privately run family feel hotel with 26 bedrooms. Located on the west side of the historic city of York we are a 10-15 minute walk to the bar walls and a further 5-10 to the city centre. We are on two bus routes and busses go every 10-15 minutes. Taxis are around £5.00. We have our own car park (free to guest who book direct with the hotel otherwise £5.00 per day) as well as an indoor swimming pool and small fitness room. All rooms are en-suite and all have flat screen TV and free coffee and tea making facilities. We pride ourselves on our friendly relaxed approach as well as our drive to make every guest stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Kilima Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing