We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$202
US$107
Park Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$204
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
US$68
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (668)
Filter reviews
668 results
Traveller rating
301
271
67
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
271
67
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsteam roommanager chriscity centrelovely poolfour poster bedleisure facilitiesthe hotel managerminute walkfree car parklovely hoteleggs benedictthe national railway museumgood sizefull englishbooked this hotelfamily room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
416 - 421 of 668 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just got home from a stay at this hotel. It is a basic hotel, everything was clean and tidy, the breakfast was great. The location is a nice short walk from the town, an ideal location for us as it was out of the busy city centre but close enough for sight seeing etc. We used the pool which was nice. By far the best thing about our stay wee the very friendly, helpful staff, making us feel very at home and full of local information to help us.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A88yc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed two nights bed and breakfast at beginning of March. Price was good value and the hotel is in a good location within 10-15 minutes walk of pubs, restaurants and city centre. There is also a bus route that you can use that will take you to a from the city. York rail station is only 15 minutes from the hotel.

The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. There is a pool and steam room available to guests free of charge, parking and wi-fi is also available free of charge. All of which are a plus to the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, only negative was that the doors to the rooms banged shut so you could hear the people who got up early for breakfast. Breakfast is served in the restaurant area between 7.30 and 9.30. You are able to choose from a breakfast menu including cereal, juice, and various cooked items with tea or coffee. We felt that breakfast would have been more enjoyable if it had been self service apart from cooked items as there were only two staff serving.

If you are looking for a good value hotel in a good location with friendly staff then this hotel would meet your needs.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room away from main road.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We had a mid week break, what a welcome from Chris and the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyed breakfasts and dinners. Lots of ideas of where to go. Will definitely return. Chris also had a nack of guessing exactly what you would like to drink after dinner. We had a four poster room which was very quiet with no noise from the main road. Easy to get into the centre of York, parking and the one way system was a night mare, but just over£5.00 for a Taxi was simple. Thanks.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is our second visit to the Kilima, this time we stayed for 2 nights in room 27 (a family room) lovely clean room with separate room attached for the kids. The hotels a 15 minute walk into centre of town which was fine, to be honest we were glad to be out of the centre on the saturday night (alot of stag/hen parties about). Safe parking on site with a lovely swimming pool and steam room, ideal to relax in after busy day sightseeing.
The breakfasts were great, good selection and friendly efficient service.
The overall plus for the hotel though has to be the staff, very welcoming, helpful and friendly, a real credit to the hotel especially the manager Chris, we felt welcome straight away.
Will return for sure.

Room Tip: Both visits, we stayed in the rear of the property, very quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob_scrivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews