We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis York”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
A TripAdvisor Member
“Ibis York”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Booked hotel half price. Close to railway station and sme onsite parking. Short walk to City Walls and easy walk into York City Centre apprpox. 10 minutes. Lots of bars and esateries close to hotel loads more in York centre

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    692
    456
    190
    135
See reviews for
212
954
98
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
barrow-in-furness
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights to visit York races
Walikng distance to the city and the racecourse
Hotel was clean & staff friendly and helpful
Rooms clean but very basic
Breakfast :- not a great deal of choice but plenty and what there is is nice
Expensive (£125 ) per night for room, would expect to pay about £50 -£75 for this standard..
Prices probably high due to racing season and locality
WORST point are the beds..they are awful..just woodern boards with a mattress on top,!!
Read on TA about the beds before we went and they are worse than I expected, we did take two pillows from home which helped slightly , but still a poor nights uncomfortable stay.
The state of the beds is mentioned on loads of reviews about these beds, at those prices i would have thought the Ibis management would consider upgrading them .

Room Tip: Tip is if you are going to York for the races book a room earlier at a nice hotel ..give this one a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sistercath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

west yorks
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed here as we were attending the Ebor, we got a good rate and its within walking distance of the race course. Very nice girl on check in and although we arrived early there was a room ready for us. Room basic similar to a travelodge but clean and tidy, the bed was as others have described....a thin mattress on a board on legs and very hard! There is a tv in the room but unless you pay £9.99 you cannot even watch BBC/ITV etc but we were out all day/night so not a problem, slept reasonably well on the hard bed but was woken quite early by doors banging and this continued throughout the morning, think they need to fix a different closing mechanism or something! The hotel was fine for the one night but i think if your looking for something in a similar price range you,d be better off at the travelodge thats recently opened on micklegate!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hippo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Being a young couple my partner and I fancied a 2 day break in York that would be on the cheaper side. We picked the Ibis because it was in a convenient location, included breakfast and was cheap and quite clean. My partner and I aren't a fan of B&Bs so this fit the bill fine for us. Yes it was basic and the carpet needs updating but it was by no means terrible and considering how little time we actually slept in the hotel it was fine. My only real complaint was the bed, it was not all that comfortable and the pillows felt hard. If I stay here again I will be briging my own pillows. There is a Sainsburys local just down the street, a cinema and 5 mins walk from the hotel there is an amazing Itallian restraunt called Delrios the food was delicious and I recommend them completely. The walk into the town centre is about 15 mins, give 20 for my foot injury. The only thing that really dissapointed me was access to the TV and internet costs £9.99 per night. If it was a one off fee I think that would have been more reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovespace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

1st impression was nice clean up to date hotel but when we tried to check in on arrival at 3 the room wasnt ready!! the man on reception was stinking of body odour and wearing what was meant to be a white shirt. it was grey and over boiled with thick orange sweat patches. everything seemd fine until we got to our room, it was painted white with marked walls.out of date furniture and stained scruffy carpets.it had a stench of wet dog! the linen was over washed stained and smelly. the bed was terrible and it felt like a plank of wood, i didnt dare look under the covers to see what was there. 1 good point was the bathroom was modern and clean. there seems to be no sound proofing at all you get alot of noise from the corridor and other guest rooms!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellylovesgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing