We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel I have ever stayed in”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Was really looking forward to my bank holiday break in York.
We booked it about a month before going and thought that the Ibis hotel, although basic, was still going to be a decent place to stay. Ha ha.
When we arrived we were greeted by a very moody blonde girl who said straight away" you cant see your room til 2". Fair enough, but her attitude was very surly.
When we eventually got into our room, it was very shabby, tiny and our towels were stained and the bathroom mirror broken.
My boyfriend went to ask if we could upgrade, and there was a different receptionist on duty. She was wearing jeans and a checked shirt and drinking diet coke whilst yacking to her friend on the phone. She could see my boyfriend looked cross, so legged it!!!
The room became very hot in the evening so we had to open the window (broken). We were very lucky that we were on the third floor.
However, on the positive side, the breakfast was nice and the reception area very tidy and clean. Pity the same couldnt be said for the bedroom. Would never stay in an ibis hotel again

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandaj186443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,915)
There are newer reviews for Ibis York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,576 - 1,582 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed here with a group of 40 people for 4 nights. A mixed experience. On the one hand, the hotel staff found a conference room for us at a moment's notice and tried hard to please. On the other, wi-fi and use of the hotel's PC were chargeable (who charges for wi-fi these days?!) - a money-grasping attitude guaranteed to offend. Breakfast choices were predictable and unexciting, but there was plenty of room. Our group came back from outings each evening at around 10.30 and headed for the bar; on two occasions only one bar staff was available (the other had called in sick and there appeared to be no back-up). This was very poor service, and even poorer was the fact that the bar ran out of wine, and had still not restocked the following evening (fortunately there was a Sainsburys opposite....). My complaint about a broken light in my room, repeated each morning, was never dealt with. There was supposed to be a scheme that if your problems were not solved within 40 minutes, you got a free night - I won't be taking up the offer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corvell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
South Shields
1
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Booked hotel half price. Close to railway station and sme onsite parking. Short walk to City Walls and easy walk into York City Centre apprpox. 10 minutes. Lots of bars and esateries close to hotel loads more in York centre

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights to visit York races
Walikng distance to the city and the racecourse
Hotel was clean & staff friendly and helpful
Rooms clean but very basic
Breakfast :- not a great deal of choice but plenty and what there is is nice
Expensive (£125 ) per night for room, would expect to pay about £50 -£75 for this standard..
Prices probably high due to racing season and locality
WORST point are the beds..they are awful..just woodern boards with a mattress on top,!!
Read on TA about the beds before we went and they are worse than I expected, we did take two pillows from home which helped slightly , but still a poor nights uncomfortable stay.
The state of the beds is mentioned on loads of reviews about these beds, at those prices i would have thought the Ibis management would consider upgrading them .

Room Tip: Tip is if you are going to York for the races book a room earlier at a nice hotel ..give this one a...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sistercath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed here as we were attending the Ebor, we got a good rate and its within walking distance of the race course. Very nice girl on check in and although we arrived early there was a room ready for us. Room basic similar to a travelodge but clean and tidy, the bed was as others have described....a thin mattress on a board on legs and very hard! There is a tv in the room but unless you pay £9.99 you cannot even watch BBC/ITV etc but we were out all day/night so not a problem, slept reasonably well on the hard bed but was woken quite early by doors banging and this continued throughout the morning, think they need to fix a different closing mechanism or something! The hotel was fine for the one night but i think if your looking for something in a similar price range you,d be better off at the travelodge thats recently opened on micklegate!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippo35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Birmingham
1
Reviewed 15 August 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StaffordSal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#40 of 47 in York
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £50 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing