We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good ,bad and ugly..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in York
Brum
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The good ,bad and ugly..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Arrived to a chilly reception by Nicola the receptionist ! No eye contact, smile or warm welcome ( room number 335) just told you can use the stairs or lifts!!
Room had a slanted roof with window in roof! Could not open it As Broken! ( had read reveiw from someone about this room and it was broken 2 mths ago) there may aswell Not have been any glass in it as noise from road outside was so loud( traffic lights right outside so constant traffic day & night) ( think this Needs to be fixed) also "blind" as good as a chocolate ashtray ! Bright light blaring through at 5 am!
Bathroom Really Clean ( shower kept running hot then cold)
Cleaners need to move beds to clean around legs( beds are only boards so shudnt be a problem) also vac upto skirting boards!
Bedding quilts & pillow cases Very Clean & towels.
Very noisy late at night due to groups ov men Comming in ( Not hotels fault) but someone on reception should take note of them when they come in and check they don't disturb other customers!!
When we left noticed same person on reception so didn't bother checking out as didn't fancy another "cold shoulder"
Location Very Good, Overall Nice stay in Very Budgit Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozzz63Brum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I will address the issues that you have mentioned witht the relevent departments.
Please feel free to come back in the future to experience a hassle free stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    683
    444
    185
    129
See reviews for
205
934
97
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

stayed for one night the reception area is spotless and modern, shame the rooms arent as upto date. rooms need a lick of paint and updating but for one night and the price you pay its okay. we had no problems with noise, a short walk into lovely york centre (which is a stag and hen haven)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our city.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I'm happy to hear that you had a quiet stay and any group we may have had at the hotel during your stay didn't cause any distubance to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had a nice stay with freinds at the Ibis a little noisy but York seems to be Stag and Hen Central, so no matter where you stay I suspect there will be someone coming back late worse for wear ! The rooms were averaged size but very clean with nice Bathrooms, There was a varied choice for breakfast. I would recomend this hotel to a freind and would certainly go back. A good location about a 10 minute walk to the center. Thumbs Up

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for your 'thumbs up' review.

We do from time to time have groups at the hotel, but like you say where ever you go in york you will tend to find groups. I am happy to find that this didn't impact on your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

Our stay at the Ibis was a mixed bag. We stayed for the better part of a week prior to moving to York (staying in a hotel was actually cheaper than commuting to work by train), so in this case, the Ibis was a budget-friendly option. On the plus side, the Ibis is in a convenient location for the city centre and the train station. Check in was a bit chaotic, and the woman who checked me appeared somewhat disinterested in helping the customers. We had booked a double room, but on arrival we were allocated a room with two twin beds. I was told that no other rooms were available and that I could check back the next day to see if one might be free. Our room was large and furnished with two twin beds (essentially wooden platforms with foam-like mattresses), a wall-mounted tv that was positioned to the far side of the room, open hanging space and a small desk with a chair. We pushed the beds together, and the staff was able to bring us a large duvet that would cover both beds. The bathroom was fairly large, with a shower but no bathtub. Handsoap and shower gel/shampoo were provided in a dispenser in the shower. Tea and coffee making supplies were also provided along with a kettle. Our room was located on a down the corridor and around the corner from the lift and accessible by climbing a few stairs, so this might not be a good option for someone with mobility issues.

I checked with the desk clerk about a room change the following morning and was told to check back that afternoon. When I came back later in the day, I was told that we could change rooms but that I would need to pack up our belongings, bring the cases to the lobby and then I would be told the new room number. The woman I dealt was helpful and apologetic for not being able to sort the issue out sooner. The new room was much smaller than the previous room, but it did have a double bed, which was more comfortable than those in the previous room. The new room was furnished and stocked in a similar manner to the first room. One drawback was that the tv was mounted on the wall in a way that made viewing difficult unless sitting on one side of the bed. The housekeeping staff did a fine job cleaning the room each day, sufficient towels were provided and supplies for tea and coffee restocked each day. We slept reasonably well, though the noise from the corridor was more noticeable than in some other hotels we've stayed in. Overall, we had a decent enough stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_R_Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for your kind review regarding your hotel rooms during your recent stay.

I was most concerned to learn of the way in which you had been spoken to by a member of my team. You should always find the staff at Ibis to be helpful and professional and I am very sorry that this is not the impression you left with. Please be assured that I have undertaken further staff training in order to address the lapse in service that you have highlighted.

I am happy to find that our hotel rooms met your needs.

I hope that your move to York goes smoothly and that you enjoy our city and all it has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very creaky so if you don't sleep well it may not be good for you, but they did tell us when we left the hotel was 400 years old ( don't no if that true or not) not to good on outside but nice inside.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Ideally located close to the walls and exceptional value for the location. Car parking too but limited places so need to get there early to secure a spot. The staff are excellent and could not be more helpful. Highly recommended but book early to get the best internet price

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
We welcome all feedback that we receive from our guests, including positive comments which help us to recognise and reinforce excellent service within the team.

Should you wish to book again in the future please either go to the Ibis web site or call the hotel directly to get the best possible price.

Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

It was clean, it was safe, it was in a convenient location and the shower was big enough to move around in. The front desk people were lovely, a pleasant surprise especially because I was bringing along a group of 10 US HS students. The breakfast was solid; the students were thrilled they had Nutella. My only complaint was the inconsistent WiFi; it worked for about 20 minutes or so and then conked out for the rest of the night. 5 quid for 20 mins was a disappointment, especially because I was attempting to get work done...

I would recommend to someone on a budget or a student group.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SM D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen E, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

We have had a few issues with the WIFI in the hotel, which have now been resolved so i apologise for the problems you experienced during your stay.

I am happy that the hotel met your needs during your stay.

On a final note I would like to mention what a pleasant group of students you brought over, they were a real credit to your school.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing