We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not too expensive and good”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 12 March 2013

What appreciate most is the sleep quality excellent I must say, and the very good service offered at the reception. In fact it's the third time I booked this hotel in York. The least thing I liked is the price of the internet connection that is too high.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dormice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feed back.

I am pleased to hear that you had a restful stay with us. For any future stays with us please be advised that we now offer free wifi in our public areas, just ask one of my reception team for the activation code.

I look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Ibis York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

This hotel is great value for money. Short walk into the town centre but for those not wanting to venture far there are some nice bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk. The staff are very welcoming and effecient. The bar area is pleasant and the rooms are comfortable with a great hot shower. Cannot find fault with this hotel and will be back soon

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenHeckmondwike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay with us.

I will feedback to the whole team. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

What can I say! 6 minutes from the train station and an easy 10 min stroll into the town centre, perfect location. Lovely relaxing bar/restaurant area and breakfast was fantastic, we were shocked at how much choice there was. I can't believe anyone could write a bad review as for the Money this is excellent value. Very happy customers. See you again soon :-))

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renthem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.

It is a great boost for my team to hear such positive feed back, we are all very proud of our hotel and are glad to hear you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

First of all, in heels this hotel is a long walk to the town centre, however in comfy shoes it is a nice 15 minute walk. This is a budget hotel but for a hen party where all we wanted was a bed for the night this hotel was great. The rooms are a lot nicer than the corridors walking upto the room and the beds are VERY comfy. Staff are friendly, we arrived hours before check in and we were all kindly able to store our bags ( there was 21 of us! ) Breakfast is brilliant, all you can choose from, cereals, full English, muffins, yoghurts etc...
I would recommend to anyone coming to York who's not looking for anything fancy.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Jemgardner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for such a kind review regarding your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us.

Please feel free to follow us on facebook, where you will hear about our special offers and compititions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

You would not think this was a chain hotel. The welcome at the IBIS York is so friendly and personal. Even before we arrived Lisa Mcilwaine and Helen Eades had been looking after us, and our numerous reservation changes.

We were checked in quickly and efficiently and dispatched to our rooms. As we came down the ladies on the front desk (Lauren and Laura I think), checked we were happy with our rooms, gave us some maps and sent us on our way.

IBIS is a good quality budget hotel brand and you know what to expect from the rooms. Our rooms were on the side of the hotel which meant they were lovely and quiet. The room was basic, but the beds were clean and very comfortable. Our friends found their room too hot, even with the windows open and the heating turned off, but our room was perfect.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and available until 12 noon . It did not disappoint, with a good selection of cereals, breads, museli, pastries, cheeses and the obligatory English breakfast staples.

For a girls weekend where we were only using the hotel as a base this was perfect. And if we come back to York we will stay here again.

Lisa, Helen and the team, thanks again for making our stay so nice and for being so friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side or at the back of the hotel as the street out front is noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTW72again
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for such a lovely comment.

I have also shown your kind words to the other members of my team that you have mentioned.

I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and if we can be of any further assistance with any future bookings please feel free to contact the hotel directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Clean. Good location - a 10 minute walk from the city centre. nearby restaurants and a local Sainsburys for snacks and drinks.
I stayed twice. My room both times was a decent size and quiet.
Ask for a corner room for more space and a room at the back for quiet.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at back of hotel. Get there early if you want a patking space in the hotel car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamillajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2013

I am glad to hear that you have come back for a repeat visit to us.

I would love to welcome you back for a third visit to us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comeagainok
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £53 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing