We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a weekend break”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal for a weekend break”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The staff from the start were friendly and helpful, the 2 rooms we booked were of good size and clean. It would have been nice to have a few more channels on the television but the beds were comfortable and the rooms warm. The breakfast next morning was excellent and great value and if booked the previous day even better value. The hotel is ideally situated for York centre and we will definitely staying again in the near future

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browny1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for your very positive review regarding your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and would like to direct you to our ibis website for the best possible rates for future bookings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    704
    463
    192
    138
See reviews for
218
968
101
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Firstly lovely friendly staff, great value and a 10 minute walk into the centre of York, I have absolutely no complaints considering the cost of the room and breakfast (Very nice and extremely polite young lady arranging the breakfast buffet, full credit here again for great staff). No negative feedback but hotel could possibly do with a lick of paint but generally clean and tidy, I will stay here again.
Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Epernay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for your kind review, which I will pass onto my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Ibis in York in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A quick check in by friendly staff, a good sized bedroom with a king sized bed and bathroom with a walk in shower. Bar/dining room clean and modern design, a good choice at the buffet breakfast.
The hotel is situated 15 mins walk from York city centre, 10 mins from York station, 20 mins from York railway museum and 20 mins from the race course.
Overall a well kept hotel in a good position. One minor "blip" the heating in the bedroom could have been better when we visited on a very cold weekend!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimnlinda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for your review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I will ensure that my maintenence manager carrys out a full check of the heating system in the hotel, so please let me thank you bringing this issue to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I didn't stay here, but attended a three day conference in one of the function rooms.

From the outset the staff were pleasant and helpful, consistently. The hotel had all the basic amenities that I wanted, and people who were staying here told me that the rooms were clean and comfortable: one complained that parking in the hotel car park was limited; parking in York generally is not cheap, and the traffic wardens are enthusiastic...

This is a good, clean budget hotel in a very good location for those wanting a handy base from which to explore the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishbloke1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts regarding your recent conference.

I am pleased to hear that everything was satisfactory during your recent time with us.

I would like to welcome you back for a stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ackworth, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I have stayed in many hotels over the years, but this has to be the dirtiest, worst place in which I have ever had the misfortune to stay. The bedrooms had dirty kettles, filthy carpets covered in some strange white powder and mould at the skirting boards. The carpet was a filthy, muddy brown colour and so badly stained that the best treatment would be to rip the carpet up and burn it. The bathroom was mouldy and had brown stains in the shower area. When the person in the room above had a shower, the water leaked through the ceiling, pouring through the bathroom light fitting and also into the hall. The water was coming through two places in the bathroom and no-one seemed to care. This hotel was so bad that I would never set foot in it again.

Room Tip: I would avoid this place at all costs - dirty, dirty hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

As you have stated, you did inform us about the leak from the room above and as far as I am aware you were offered a change of rooms which you declined, until the 3rd day of your stay. Please be assured that my team do care when it comes to guest satisfaction and will always do their very best to rectify any issues that occur immediatly.

I am sorry that you thought your room was dirty but during numerous conversations with both myself and my reception team these issues were not mentioned and if they had of been we would have rectified the situation for you.

Please accept my apologies for any distress caused during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Excellent and pleasant central position (can walk into York's very core - its only hundreds of yards outside the city walls). Free parking. Good modern bedroom and ensuite. Modern reception rooms. Good sitting area downstairs. Excellent breakfast in good surroundings, and from early until 10.00 to eat it. Will use again.

Very slight downside: slight hum heard in the bedroom (318). Looked out of the window and saw the heat exchangers on the next door property.

What a contrast with the Travelodge where I stayed in Leeds the previous night (see review Leeds Central).

Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank ejcowper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
It is always a pleasure to hear that we are making our guests happy, so thank you for your kind review.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Excellent value for money, this is the 2nd time we have stayed here and it won't be the last. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Big bed, hair dryer, lots of towels and a fan heater . . . . . . great for drying off wet coats as it rained the whole time we were in York. The buffet breakfast is as good as any we've had. It was Mother's Day on the Sunday morning and all the ladies were offered a glass of rose, what a lovely touch. Staff are all polite, knowledgeable and really helpful. Complimentary newspaper each day with a cheerful good morning!! For a budget hotel we would recommend certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 307, side view over the roof tops, bathroom separate from the bedroom as the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citytripper955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 17 March 2013
I am happy to hear that you have chosen to visit us for the 2nd time, hopefully not your last.

Being a mother myself I know its the little things that matter, so I'm pleased that you enjoyed your sparking wine with your breakfast.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing