We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure trip”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 4 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Travelbuddy033
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,917)
There are newer reviews for Ibis York Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,917 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank colenso33
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Me & my partner stayed for one night and I can't say a bad word about it. Room was spacious and clean. Bed was comfy & surrounding area was quiet. Hotel has a good location just outside the city wall so you are close enough but not too close to the noise. Before booking the website stated there was only limited parking so we found alternate parking for a small fee about 5 minute walk away from the hotel, people who are complaining about parking need to do their research properly. Staff were friendly & helpful. I would stay again, cheap price too.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweetheart72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your positve feedback.

I am pleased to see that you checked on our website before travelling and knew that you may have to find alternative parking when you arrived, so were not dissapointed before check in.

I hope that we can be part of any future plans when visiting the city. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly for our best available rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Not a good start upon arrival. Had selected this hotel by narrowing down the comparison site for free on-site parking and yet we had to park off-site at the cost of £7.50 for 24 hours. Staff were quite rude about this actually refering me to the small print and not once uttering an apology about the confusion. After finally getting parked, check in was fine - if perhaps a little scripted. Hallways, doors etc are very dated but the rooms are basic yet clean. Breakfast was the best of the budget hotels i've stayed in lately with fresh hot items. Location is great, a short walk from the centre. Overall i would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PurpleRonnieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

I would like to thank you for your feedback.

I apologise that on this occasion you were unable to find space in our car park. We do have a limited car park at the hotel and being a city centre hotel we do not have the ability to expand our car park. We do advise the local NCP car park to our guests as this is the cheapest car park in the local area.

I am pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your recent stay with us and would hope that you choose to stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We've recently returned from a four day stay at the Ibis Hotel in York and have to say the stay was a pleasant surprise as with all budget hotels you never know quite what to expect but while they were one or two things that some may have found reason to moan about we were more than happy the room was larger than we imagined with a good supply of tea and coffee making facilities ,not always the case in some hotels..Above all it was very comfortable ,clean , well located and we had one of the free parking places on offer..The breakfast selection was as good as in any other hotel I've stayed in and the added bonus meal wise was meals were served 24/7 if one felt inclined to eat late..Another treat not normally associated with budget hotels was the free morning paper

Summing up it was a very enjoyable stay and we would have no hesitation in booking an Ibis hotel in future

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martCwmbran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us recently. It is always a pleasure to have such positive feedback.

I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We were desperate for a place on a Saturday night. It was a mistake we won't make again. The lighting was so poor, I cut myself shaving. The tea kettle had loose wiring. The staff said, "just move it around until it works."

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JART1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for your comments.
We price ourselves very competitively in comparison with other budget hotels in the city, often being the cheapest and best value.
I have had all the kettles checked in the hotel and have found none of the leads to be faulty, but i will continue to monitor this situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

The hotel was undergoing renovation and the restaurant was partly functional. The rooms was a bit small. Location wise very good. Staff were nice and courteous. The breakfast spread was good. I hope the renovation is over. The finner spread was just adequate.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SriharshaHoysala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us in 2012.

I hope you take the oppertunity to stay with us in the future to experience our newly refurbished restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,150 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#40 of 47 in York
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £50 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing