We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at IBIS in York just one night. Car park is really small and basically who comes first gets a place. Room was clean, but very dark and very noisy (we had a room with the street view). TV is placed about 1 meter from the bed, but on the left side. You can't even watch it (really don't understand the point why is it there). We were woken up by houskeeper (about 09.30), as she knocked on the door, but before we have a chance to react, she just opened a door and came in! At the same time she dissapeared without a word. We stayed just shocked, I believe they should have a list of rooms which are free and ready to be cleaned!!!We decided to get up and leave, there was really noisy as she was cleaning the rooms around.Hotels is at good location, just walking distance from the York centre. If you are not looking for someting special, this is OK. Average rooms, average service, good location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your review.
I am dissapointed to hear that you did not have a relaxing stay with us during your recent visit to York.
I have brought your comments to the attention of my Head housekeeper, who will ensure that this situation does not reoccur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,098 - 1,104 of 1,970 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Cristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We Stayed for three nights from 16th December ,Arrived at hotel lunchtime and had no problem parking in rear car park. Receptionists where polite and helpful during our stay. Our room at the front on the third floor was basic but clean, spacious and the bed comfy.The breakfast had a good variety and backed up by friendly staff. Location of hotel is excellent to sightsee

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darrendeighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank nbscotsgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

Outside and the reception seem really nice when you walk in. Upstairs and the rooms are a lot different. The window might well not be there its that noisy. Im well aware its on a busy street but still too loud and the walls paper thin. Shower was either too hot or freezing. There were hairs in the bathroom. Staff on the front desk werent best either not acknowledging hello and goodbye.

Price for the room was too much with the 'Christmas tax' around £100 per night. I expect the simple things at least to be done.

A good location but thats it. York is great just not here.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

I am dissapointed to hear that the hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay.

If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This is budget hotel located close to York city centre and railway station, it has a modern, fresh bar and reception, on site parking and really good staff. The room was very clean with nice fresh bedding. The bed itself was very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The shower was warm and powerful. I only stayed for one night on business and the price was very competitive and there is free on site parking which is a rarity for York. The staff were wonderful and a credit to the hotel. As you can see there are some positives.

However there are some negatives: The car park is very small and tight for space. On street parking or other car parking in the local area is very limited and expensive. The rooms are cold and tired with a distinctly 1980's feel. They are in desperate need of an overhaul. The room was also noisy in the morning as it overlooked one of the main routes into York. The bathroom is tiny and the air conditioner/heater didn't seem to do anything. The communal areas need a good refresh has everything just seems dated and a bit tired. The breakfast, whilst bountiful, was very poor.

With a decent refurbishment of the rooms the hotel could be a great budget location, however at present the whole feel (apart from the reception and bar/restaurant) is dated and tired.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for your review.
I have taken on board the comments you have made and will ensure that these comments are passed on to the relivent departments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
713 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.7 mi away
Hotel 53
Hotel 53
#31 of 47 in York
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £43 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing