We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay In York”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in early December on a short break to York. I was impressed with the hotel, for the price. It is only a 5-10 minute walk (depending on how you catch the traffic lights) from the train station and about a 10 minute walk to the city centre - so the location is ideal.

The room itself is what you'd expect from a budget hotel - basic but clean. However, they were generous with the free biscuits and provided a good number of tea bags for the room, which some other hotels skimp on. I also liked the shower, which looked new.

The breakfast was decent and was more than worthwhile with the pay for 2 get the 3rd free deal. There was a wide selection of cooked and continental breakfast items, including black pudding, and easily kept me filled up until mid-afternoon.

I didn't eat there of an evening, but the bar area looked really nice and fresh.

I would definitely return here if I was going to go for another short stay in York.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the hotel, away from the main road at the front, and it was nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Our breakfasts do recieve very positive comments and I'm pleased that you also found this to be the case.
Should you wish to stay with us again in the future please feel free to contact the hotel directly in order for one of my team to allocate a quite room in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at IBIS in York just one night. Car park is really small and basically who comes first gets a place. Room was clean, but very dark and very noisy (we had a room with the street view). TV is placed about 1 meter from the bed, but on the left side. You can't even watch it (really don't understand the point why is it there). We were woken up by houskeeper (about 09.30), as she knocked on the door, but before we have a chance to react, she just opened a door and came in! At the same time she dissapeared without a word. We stayed just shocked, I believe they should have a list of rooms which are free and ready to be cleaned!!!We decided to get up and leave, there was really noisy as she was cleaning the rooms around.Hotels is at good location, just walking distance from the York centre. If you are not looking for someting special, this is OK. Average rooms, average service, good location.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your review.
I am dissapointed to hear that you did not have a relaxing stay with us during your recent visit to York.
I have brought your comments to the attention of my Head housekeeper, who will ensure that this situation does not reoccur.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Cristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We Stayed for three nights from 16th December ,Arrived at hotel lunchtime and had no problem parking in rear car park. Receptionists where polite and helpful during our stay. Our room at the front on the third floor was basic but clean, spacious and the bed comfy.The breakfast had a good variety and backed up by friendly staff. Location of hotel is excellent to sightsee

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darrendeighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank nbscotsgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,401 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Jorvik
The Jorvik
#41 of 47 in York
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £36 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing