We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could've rated this hotel as 2.5, I would've. The staff however were great.”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If I could've rated this hotel as 2.5, I would've. The staff however were great.”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel itself is very tired and the corridors in particular are in need of some attention. Due to the narrow halls and stairs that interconnect between parts of the hotel I would not recommend this hotel for people with mobility issues. The lifts are also very small (4 people max) and would be unlikely to accommodate a larger wheelchair/mobility scooter. Whilst parking is available, it's not guaranteed, and on the nights that we stayed I ended up parking in the cinema car park across the road and paying £8/night to do so. The on street parking is 1 hour max, until 8pm, so if you're staying overnight and leaving before 8am the next day this is a viable option.

The hotel had lots of advertisement for free wifi dotted around the foyer, in the lifts etc, however both myself and my partner were unable to receive any signal in our bedroom on phones or laptops/tablets and could only get limited access next door in our families room (1 signal bar, which dropped out frequently). If you have a legitimate business need to stay in this hotel there is a pre-pay LAN connection, which is charged at a fairly high tariff for 24 hours access. The TV was old and had very limited channel selection. The window leaked in our room, which allowed a lot of water to come in through the night and the curtain had a substantial water stain on it. There was also an unfathomable light switch, located right between the pillows of the bed, allowing my sleeping self to turn on the lights several times throughout the nights we stayed.

Service in general was good, with staff polite and willing to help. The hotel front doors were locked overnight and the staff were happy to let me in and out as needed when faffing around with moving the car and also to make change for a note so I could pay for the parking. The breakfast supplied was by far the most varied and of the best quality of any that we encountered on our week travelling around the UK, with mini pastries, cereal, and full cooked breakfast items on offer. The room itself was clean. The hotel is located only a short walk from the walled city, so great for tourists.

Overall this hotel is conveniently located and relatively inexpensive for York city centre. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the breakfast is excellent. However, the hotel is let down by it's decor, wifi and being a bit run down. If you're just staying for a night and need a bed near the city centre, this hotel would be great but for an extended stay I would recommend spending a bit more money and staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your comments.
I am glad to see that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us.
Following feedback from our guests we have had our WiFi upgraded this week and are planning to have our TVs upgraded next month, so please allow me to thank you for feedback, which are happy to recieve and act upon.
Our corridors are to be upgraded early this year also.
I'm confident that for any future visits you will see improvements at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    692
    456
    190
    135
See reviews for
212
954
98
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I stayed here with my boyfriend in January and found it to be a perfect little budget hotel. Room was very comfortable and clean (towels are quite small so you may want to take your own). Only a 5/10 minute walk to York city centre and a 5 minute walk from the train station, however there is no on site parking if you are thinking of driving (reception staff will direct you to a car park up the road). Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kag15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Thank you for your comments.
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I'm an Ibis fan and look to use this brand where I can and therefore booked this hotel with an expectation of how my stay would be, and unfortunately it didn't quite match the view I'd conjured up prior to staying.

The staff were great, breakfast more than good, room clean but I found the hotel a little tired and in some areas a little shabby.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank inventoryclerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your comments.
We are currently working on making improvements to the the hotel and I hope that this instance will not stop you from being a loyal guest of ibis hotels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
東京
Level Contributor
247 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I visited this hotel in January.
The temperature was so cold outside, but the room of this hotel was very warm.
Free Wi-Fi(good reception), comfortable double bed, clean room, a coffee maker with full coffee, tea, milk, sugar, clean bathroom with shower(no bathtub)
If you want to stay at a budget hotel, this hotel was perfect.
Everything was good. There was no problem at all.
It took only for 5 minutes walk from the train station.
Please note; There was only one bottle of soap used for both shampoo and body wash.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 梓
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your positive review.
It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

I hope that you will choose to once again stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived too early to check in but the staff were happy to store our luggage as we set off to explore York.

The room was clean and of a good size although a little bare. Are Ibis missing an opportunity to put up pictures of other locations or hotels in the group? I found the bed too hard for my liking.

At £7.95 the all you can eat breakfast was good value and well cooked.

The hotel is within walking distance of York city centre and is good value for a budget hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TysonLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Upon check-in, we were given a nonsmoking room that smelled of smoke so bad that we asked to be moved. Were then moved into a room that, unbeknownst to the receptionist, had not been cleaned (not being overly picky on cleanliness here - it hadn't been cleaned at all, beds were not made, trash on surfaces, etc.). Once the room was clean, our stay was uneventful. Overall though, the rooms are a bit weary. Good comfy Ibis bed though and the location is great. Everyone was nice and helpful, and I'm assuming we just managed to roll the dice poorly, twice, in terms of the rooms we were given. On a different note, although we checked ahead to ensure that they had parking available, when we arrived there were not spots - the hotel's parking area is very small compared to the size of the hotel and we ended up having to pay extra to park in a lot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am dissapointed to hear that were let down with your room on 2 seperate occasions. I have passed on your comments to my head housekeeper and the issues you experienced have been fully investigated and these issues will not be repeated.
I am however pleased to see that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
I hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future for what I'm sure will be a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
1,282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing