We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go again.”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in February for 2 nights without the kids. Looks much better on line than it actually is. Had double room which looked very tired.

Desk/dressing table was coming away from the wall. Rips in the middle of the quilt cover. Heating system above door into room did not warm the room up (they must have had a previous complaint as there was a blow heater on a shelf in the room).

Sink and shelf in bathroom chipped and hadn't been cleaned properly. Shower was useless, you might as well use a cup filled with water to pour over you instead.

The menu for the Restaurant/Cafe was very limited, and on the first night we couldn't eat in as the cooker wasn't working.

Plus points: Staff are great. Downstairs is nice, clean and modern. Free Wifi. The Table Table restaurant across the road attached to the Premier Inn.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank StuartTurnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for your comments.
I will pass on your comments to relivent departments for improvements to be made where necessary.
Please be assured that if any of the team are made aware of issues from guest they will always aim to rectify them.
I send my apologies for the oven being out of service on the evening during your stay, and hope this did not impact on your evening too much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,027 - 1,033 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Spotless Hotel. Comfortable beds. Lisa on reception was most helpful and friendly. Hotel situated near all sightseeing and station. Lots of places to eat. Lots to see. Very enjoyable. The Railway museum was a must to see and tours of the Minster and city. Alan was our guide in the city he was excellent. The Minster was closed one day so we were able to see some filming outside for the Horrible History Books.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

It is a pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I will pass on your comments to Lisa, whom I am sure will be pleased that she has made your stay enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in the ibis hotel for 2 nights. The location is very good as it is within 8-10mins walk to the city centre. Parking is very limited and if you do not manage to get a space the alternative is behind the sainsburys at £7.50 a day. The rooms are very compact and clrosterphobic at times. Apart from downstairs in reception the rest of the building needs to be decorated and refurbished. The breakfast was cold but was reasonably priced. It was also very disappointing that we didn't have anyone to change our sheets during our stay. I wouldn't recommend this hotel however York is a lovely city and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17hldtpws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your review.
I am dissapointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Being a city centre hotel, we do have a limited free carpark which unfortunatly we do not have the opertunity to expand, but we will always advise guests of the cheapest alternative car parks in the area.
I will pass on your comments to the breakfast team and insure that improvements are made where needed.
Out policy is to change the bedding every other day, so with a two night stay your bedding would not be changed as we are midfull of our impact on the enviroment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived early and requested an early booking and receptionist was extremely helpful. Car parking very good. Room was of a good standard and very quiet.
Overall a very pleasant stay and will be recommending to others.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bigshow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your 'spot on' review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and would like to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

The shower didn't drain properly and you had to keep stopping it. The extract fan didn't work. There was mould in the bedroom and when you had a shower the window ledge got soaked in water in the bedroom. The curtains were filthy. Breakfast good

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank orangutans91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
I will ensure that the issues you have mentioned are acted on as a priority.
Should you wish to discuss your stay in further detail please dont hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have never been so cold in a hotel room. Only a fan heater to warm the rooms, the bathrooms were perishing and the extracts ineffective and noisy. As a result our windows were dripping with condensation. I wasn't happy to find the 3 toiletries I left tidily out thrown in a heap in a corner of the vanity unit with a damp flannel thrown on them (shows a lack of respect for our things) on our return that evening by housekeeping. Definitely the worst 2 nights I have ever spent in a budget hotel. The staff were very good, breakfast excellent and downstairs warm and pleasant but we were glad to leave simply to get a comfy warm restful nights sleep as no extra blankets available. We left feeling tired that it wasn't worth the £75 per person per night we each paid this week-end and on balance felt ripped off.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you for your review. I am disapointed that you did not enjoy your time with us. I will ensure that the comments you made are fully investigated and improvements to be carried out in order to improve any future stays with ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I booked and stayed here in Jan 2103, the room was good, very clean, and we had no complaints! The decor of the room was very similar to that of a travelodge, so nothing special. The bathroom was nice with a large, powerful shower. The breakfast was quite expensive, seeing as you could go to any of the lovely cafe/restaurants just down the street. The location is ideal for anyone wanting to be close to the centre, but not be disturbed by drunks, it took us about 10/15 minutes to walk into the centre. The staff were all friendly, and for the price we paid, we would definitely stay again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank katewills5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for your comments, I'm pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#42 of 47 in York
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £53 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Lastminute, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing