We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rude unhelpful staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    677
    438
    184
    129
See reviews for
205
924
95
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham,England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Me and the wife have just got back from a short easter break to York and cant really fault this hotel.

As we all know,York,like many other large uk cities can be overtaken by stag,hen and large birthday groups at weekends so we chose our hotel carefully.Our main priorities were a central location,a free car park(almost non existent in the centre of York) and not a rowdy hotel.This hotel was perfect,yes the car park is small but 20 odd free spaces are better then none!!!!When we arrived there were spaces available and when we left,the same thing.It is pot luck though,we were lucky lol!!The other hotel guests were well behaved too.All the major sites are within 30 minutes walking distance

On booking,we requested a quiet room,they saved us a room on the top floor and it was perfect.Try and ask for either room 331(roadside) or 332(rear of hotel)
The bed was so comfortable,there is a flat screen tv,tea and coffee facilities and a great powerful shower.We stayed b and b and the buffet breakfast was lovely,we didnt have to wait for anything to be restocked.
The small things like arriving at 12.00 instead of 2 and still getting our room and the staff being so friendly,always saying hello to us were major plusses,all in all if we returned to York would we return to this hotel,most definatly!!!
Thank you all at the Ibis York.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room,ask for top floor,rear of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank villaturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
I am pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay and that the team left a lasting impression with you.
Thank you for your honest comments regarding the car parking at the hotel. Due to being a city centre hotel land is always at a premium and we try our best to maximise the space that we have at the hotel. Should you visit us again in the future and the car park be full, please check with the reception team who will happily offer the cheapest and closest alternitives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Great position near the train station and short walk to York Minster. Although basic it was very clean and comfortable. Bed really comfortable, shower very powerful and hot . Staff very polite and helpful. Really good breakfast, cheaper if you book it the night before. Only downfall we were on the main road which was a bit noisy. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sipidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
Please be advised that should you stay with us again in the future if you contact the hotel directly, one of the team will happily allocate a room at the back of the hotel, which may suit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This is a budget chain hotel. At less than 60 pounds for the night, I am really surprised at some of the other overly negative reviews. Having said that, there could definitely be improvements.

The bathroom was more or less clean (spots of mold on the ceiling though!), the bedroom was a good size, but is in dire need of modernizing (the curtains are just a joke). The bed was pleasantly firm, which suited me just fine. The window latches were broken, and the light-pull for over the mirror in the bathroom had been removed, so shaving was a dark and frankly masochistic experience.

The lobby area was clean and inviting, and the late night porter was accommodating when we stumbled in at midnight from our theater visit. We felt secure enough in the room, and we were able to have breakfast and not check out until 12.00 noon. They have limited parking spaces allocated on a first-come-first-serve basis (7 in total apparently).

Location is fairly central, and town center is definitely walk-able.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bfg_hightower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for balancing out the negative reviews on this site, with your honest review.
I will bring your comments to the attention of my team and ensure improvements are made where necessary.
I am pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We enjoyed our visit very much, hotel great position near station, very comfortable, nice sitting area for coffee, met relatives and fed baby no problems. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
I'm pleased to hear that enjoyed your time with us.
I hope you chhose to visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#45 of 46 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, HotelsClick, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing