We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired decor”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Room felt tired and marks on walls and light switches were not nice to see!
However the location was very good, we walked to the centre and back, no problem. The desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Never the less rooms need more attention.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the team at ibis York.
I have taken on board your comments regarding the rooms you stayed in and will address this situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

we stayed for 2 nights over the late May bank holiday weekend. I agree with previous reviews the hotel is tired and could do with upadating however if they do this then obviously the prices would increase! The room we stayed in was small but clean, the bed was comfortable considering how cheap the booking was (£112 for Saturday and Sunday night) I certainly have nothing to complain about.

We did eat breakfast in the hotel on both mornings. If you book the night before it is cheaper. The breakfast was very good, a hot buffet, continental buffet and also chiller with cheese, ham, yoghurts etc.

The staff were very friendly. I will definately book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geordie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is in a great place to explore York and is a very short walk from Minstergate. The staff are excellent and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are a bit basic but this is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here on friday the 23rd of may 2014.
We arrived around 5pm and was greeted by a lovely lady on reception, we did struggle to park but the lady opened up the disabled bay for us to park, we were checked in and all was good, although the room was really small (306) and a little noisey as it was straight infront of the lift doors it was clean and smelt fresh.
We offloaded and went a walk into the centre. ..the heavens opened as we headed back to the room.
We were both soaked through and was looking forward to a warm room however the heating didnt work.
Hubby went to reception and got a small fan heater, it worked for a second and then stopped, he went back to reception and the gent on the desk bought up another that did the job perfectly..
An hour later with a toastie warm room the fan was unplugged, 10 mins after that the t.v went off, by this point we had just got into bed so thought we would leave it until morning to tell them the t.v was broken...woke up early hours to a freezing room and still no t.v so plugged the heater back in and nope no worky!
Neither did the sockets in the room the power had gone to everything! 6:30 I wake a grumpy cold hubby to go to reception again...the young lad fiddled in a room off the corridor and eventually got the power back on,
After a quick freshen up we went back to reception had a cold breakfast the only warm thing was the toast, we spoke to a different person on reception and eventually got a full refund.
Some good points..
The bed was really comfortable.
The staff were super friendly and helpful.
The room was very clean.
Maybe this is just a one off...but the problem could have been solved by just moving us rooms!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that you experienced a number of issues during your stay. Please be assured that this was an issolated incident and these issues have now been rectified.
I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future, for what I'm sure will be a hassle free stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Easy to find, located within walking distance of all central attractions, clean and at a price you can't argue with.

Really basic but absolutely perfect and would recommend to all who are wanting a clean, nice, affordable place to stay. :)

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms on the second floor on both stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn1986me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us.
I am happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us.
please be advised that for any future bookings with us that you will always benifit from our best prices by booking though the ibis website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Ibis this week and for what we paid we felt it was good value.The rooms were clean and looked like they had recently been done up ours was not the biggest but perfectly adequate.The bed was one of the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in.Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Can't comment on the food as we ate out but the hotel menu offered little selection.
Only 10 mins walk from the train station.
We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you cack in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, it is a very basic no frills hotel. Also a small car park we was lucky to get one of the measly 25 small spaces ! The room could have done with a freshen up, not been painted in a while and the carpet was very thin and dirty as was all of the hotel. floorboards creaked all over the place in the room and corridors, walls are very thin we even heard someones phone alarm going off in the room above ! We didnt eat at night in the hotel as the menu is very limited, we did have breakfast which was a little dried up but majority of it was nice. staff all very pleasant and helpful I would class this hotel as star lower than a premier inn

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Silkybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review.
I am disappointed to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us.
I will look into the issues you have raised and carry out improvements where necessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £53 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, ACCOR, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing