We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in York
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfy beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Location was fine..we are 10 mins from the city center. There were numbers of restaurants within walking distance.
Bed was comfortable, but the size of beds for the twin room are very small (as in the width is very narrow). Rooms are newly furnished, however it is a very old building, even everything is nicely re-furnished..water draining system is very slow in the basin, and the air conditioning system is VERY loud we just have to switch it off...just the building is old, but things are well-decorated. There were also soap and bath gel available in the bathroom, but no toothbrush and toothpaste though. Hairdryer is available in the room.

One thing I wanted to add is, the location of the TV, it is facing the wardrobe and yet there are no sitting area provided nor the television can be physically moved to fit the view's eyesight. We find it strange because there is a sofa in the king bed room while the television can be turn slightly to face towards the bed but not the case in the twin bed room.
..
Wi-fi was great considering it hard to get to the internet free in the UK.
There were also a parking behind and along the street near the hotel, very good for people who drive.

Room Tip: Preferably not to choose room facing the street, could be a bit noisy starting from around 5-6am. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    683
    444
    185
    129
See reviews for
205
934
97
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Very convenient for York Centre - we walked there. Easy to find. Bed very comfortable. Would take a few clothes hangers next time as not much storage. Breakfast good value and varied. Useful to have car parking facilities. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel suited your needs during your stay with us. I hope to meet you during your next visit to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We were welcomed by very friendly staff. One room smelt of smoke and was changed immediately with no questions asked. The location is ideal for walking into York centre or to the racecourse. We did not eat at the hotel but that was our preference as the 2 ladies (wives) do not like getting up early.All of us said we would definitely stay in this hotel again when we again visit York for an over night stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and would like to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Room felt tired and marks on walls and light switches were not nice to see!
However the location was very good, we walked to the centre and back, no problem. The desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Never the less rooms need more attention.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the team at ibis York.
I have taken on board your comments regarding the rooms you stayed in and will address this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

we stayed for 2 nights over the late May bank holiday weekend. I agree with previous reviews the hotel is tired and could do with upadating however if they do this then obviously the prices would increase! The room we stayed in was small but clean, the bed was comfortable considering how cheap the booking was (£112 for Saturday and Sunday night) I certainly have nothing to complain about.

We did eat breakfast in the hotel on both mornings. If you book the night before it is cheaper. The breakfast was very good, a hot buffet, continental buffet and also chiller with cheese, ham, yoghurts etc.

The staff were very friendly. I will definately book this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is in a great place to explore York and is a very short walk from Minstergate. The staff are excellent and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are a bit basic but this is reflected in the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review.
I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here on friday the 23rd of may 2014.
We arrived around 5pm and was greeted by a lovely lady on reception, we did struggle to park but the lady opened up the disabled bay for us to park, we were checked in and all was good, although the room was really small (306) and a little noisey as it was straight infront of the lift doors it was clean and smelt fresh.
We offloaded and went a walk into the centre. ..the heavens opened as we headed back to the room.
We were both soaked through and was looking forward to a warm room however the heating didnt work.
Hubby went to reception and got a small fan heater, it worked for a second and then stopped, he went back to reception and the gent on the desk bought up another that did the job perfectly..
An hour later with a toastie warm room the fan was unplugged, 10 mins after that the t.v went off, by this point we had just got into bed so thought we would leave it until morning to tell them the t.v was broken...woke up early hours to a freezing room and still no t.v so plugged the heater back in and nope no worky!
Neither did the sockets in the room the power had gone to everything! 6:30 I wake a grumpy cold hubby to go to reception again...the young lad fiddled in a room off the corridor and eventually got the power back on,
After a quick freshen up we went back to reception had a cold breakfast the only warm thing was the toast, we spoke to a different person on reception and eventually got a full refund.
Some good points..
The bed was really comfortable.
The staff were super friendly and helpful.
The room was very clean.
Maybe this is just a one off...but the problem could have been solved by just moving us rooms!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that you experienced a number of issues during your stay. Please be assured that this was an issolated incident and these issues have now been rectified.
I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future, for what I'm sure will be a hassle free stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing