We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beginning to show its age.”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This is the third time we've stayed here, sadly unless it has a makeover I think it will be the last.
The rooms are starting to look a little jaded and some give the impression of being one room knocked into 2.

We spent our first night in room 202 which wasn't too bad. However when we arrived back from breakfast, we found out that the lock didn't work. Shut the door and give a pull to make sure it was shut. No problem. Push door without Inserting key card and it opened.
Lass in reception couldn't believe it either.

Immediately moved us to 309. This is where
the 1 into 2 feeling came. Huge bathroom, but living area not so big. Also could hear everything going on in room next door, including kettle going on !!

All in all the hotel rooms need renovation.

Staff wise. They were excellent. From check in to check out and in between everyone had a happy disposition when dealing with us. Well done.

Breakfast yet again didn't disappoint. They even serve black pudding now !!!
Also still all you can eat too

Going to have to really think about staying here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picksandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
Please be aware that the issue you mentioned regarding your door has now been rectified. I am dissapointed to hera that you did not find your return visit as pleasant as previous stays.
We are always looking for ways to improve on guest experience and will act apon the points you have raised.
I hope you chose to stay with us again in the future, for what I'm sure will be a plesant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,929)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

947 - 953 of 1,929 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Room Tip: Could do with plug sockets beside the beds. Modernisation would make it more pleasant. But keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank TeaCakeBreadILoveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel was a good price but is showing its age and could do with a reverb,
Staff were polite and helpful and the room was clean.
It's location is excellent for the city centre.
Rooms are small and basic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback.
Your comments have been taken on board and our rooms are contantly monitored for where improvements can be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed two nights with my son & enjoyed our stay.Beds were comfortable although room tired was clean, enjoyed breakfast.Only a short walk from station & York centre. Staff friendly,Jade in the bar & Michael at reception made us welcome. Would stay again but would request a refurbished room if refurbishment of rooms not completed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidRobertson_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us.
I am pleased that your son and yourself enjoyed your time with us.
I will pass on your kind words to Michael and Jade, whom I'm sure will also be pleased that had an enjoyable stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The IBIS York Centre is only three minutes walk outside Micklegate Bar in York. This makes it a central and very good value basic option for a short break. The bed was comfortable and we found everything clean and the staff friendly and helpful. I would recommend booking room only and taking breakfast at La Tazzina by Micklegate Bar.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to see that found the hotel to be a good base for exploring the city.
I hope you choose to stay with us during any future visits to York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just stayed three nights at this Ibis hotel and a vital part of a stay is to sleep at night...
If you like a a proper uninterrupted rest DON'T stay here!! There is no soundproofing in any shape or form and you hear guests marching up and down and slamming room doors all hours...
If you don't sleep at all then stay!!??

Room Tip: Sleep in the lounge......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

I am dissapointed to hear that you had a disturbed stay with us.
Had we have been aware of any issues during your stay, one of the team would have been happy to rectify it for you.
Should decide to stay with us again in the future please be assured that guest satisfaction is our number one priority and my team will always go the extra mile to provide a great guest experience for all guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I was warmly greeted as usual at Ibis York by Jakob at the reception and before going to the room had a nice cold beer at the bar again served by Jakob. Very good custoner service and attention to detail well done.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your kind review regarding Jakub.
I have passed on these comments and Jakub is happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and sends his best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jorvik Hotel
Jorvik Hotel
#41 of 47 in York
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £53 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing