We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
516 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I called before we arrived to chck on the parking and what to do if their limited spaces were taken.

At check in, the room was ready early so we were able to go to the room straight away, we had been able to park too.

The hotel is everything you would expect from an Ibis. It looks like a converted townhouse with a rear modern extension. The bar restaurant area is modern and fresh.

The buffet breakfast was good and plentiful.

The hotel is a short walk from Micklegate, 10 mins from the railway station, the city walls and next door is the Hotel de Vin.

We used the free wifi too, though the signal was not strong.

I would to use this hotel again if staying in York.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter than those on the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wraxall_Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    685
    452
    189
    132
See reviews for
208
943
97
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I arrived by train and this hotel is only a few minutes walk from the station, although about 15 mins walk from the city centre. The room I was given was quite small but very clean and quiet. However I couldn't connect to the wi-fi. When I mentioned this to the receptionist, she moved me to another room immediately. This room was huge, with a comfy king-size bed and a large spotlessly clean bathroom. I connected to the wi-fi with no problem but the signal was erratic. The room was quiet and there was no noise at all from outside.
My only gripe with the room was that the duvet was far too heavy for summer use and the shower lacked a little power.
There was a good choice at breakfast (nice sausages) in the large dining room.
I will definitely stay here again if I cant get a cheap room closer to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you will choose to stay with us again during your next visit to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in June for my partners birthday. The hotel is really upto date and new looking in the Reception and bar area but the rooms are very basic and could do with modernising.
And unfortunately we had a very noisy neighbour (we could even hear their conversations) so not sure if this is because the walls/ceilings are thin.

The centre of York is about 20 min walk from Hotel.
We loved York and will definitely be returning but we will be choosing other accommodation next time.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adele Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and will address the issues that you have brought to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having read some of the other reviews of this hotel I was a bit worried, but if you need a comfy bed and room for a couple of nights while in the city, without spending a lot, then this is perfectly fine.

The reception and restaurant has been modernised - very friendly, helpful staff, but when you get beyond that the decor is a bit tired. The poppy print carpets and door plaques are very tired and actually grubby looking, but the rooms (at least ours) were very comfy. Air Con would be good, but the fan was very much appreciated.

A great place to lay your hat whilst in the city, just a short walk to most places.
Again, decor is a bit fusty, but it seems clean and we definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I'm pleased to hear that on the whole you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will shortly be updating our corridors and for any future visits to ibis York, I'm sure that you will see improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as it was in a short walking distance to York centre, on first impressions it was good, though the corridors give it a dates look, the room was small & clean but perfect for the 2 of us, bearing in mind we were out list of the day/night. The breakfast was fantastic! With an excellent variety for all! Parking was free! So a definite bonus! We will definitely visit again! Well worth the price! Xx

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I am pleased to hear that you found us to be perfect for the price.
I hope you choose to stay with us again during your next visit to York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing