We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“York visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Cornersville, Tn
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“York visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is in a good location for touring York city. The staff that we interacted with were all very friendly and helpful even tho the hotel was full. We spent 3 nites here. Unfortunately, this hotel is in bad need of a total do-over. I have never been in a hotel where you take the elevator to your floor and then have to take steps up or down to get to your room. The rooms need redoing. They do not have airconditioning. There were 5 of us in 4 rooms so I can say that in those rooms the carpets were worn and appeared dirty, our phones didn't work and rooms on the front street were very noisy due to early garbage pickups and deliveries and street noise at night. Their breakfast bar was the best that we experienced on our two week trip and again, all the staff we were in contact with were very nice.

Room Tip: Not sure that this is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel suited your needs during your stay. I am also happy to hear that team helped to make your stay.
Being a grade 2 listed building, we do have individalities in our building. I will pass on your comments regarding the decor of the hotel, which will be addressed during upgrades which will be happening shortly.
I'm sure that if you visit us in the future you will have a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    683
    445
    186
    129
See reviews for
205
935
97
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Rooms really need some improvements but any problems are very quickly addressed by staff Lyndsey and Lauren lovley lady's very helpful.

Mike on the bar very welcoming and helpful. We was on my hen weekend and had a range of ages And one disabled lady he was fantastic ordering our taxis, telling us best places to go, even brought drinks over to my disabled auntie.

Breakfast only 8.00 all you can eat worth the money lots of choice and very nice coffee.

Overall the staff really made our stay the best will be returning for my sisters birthday in September, hope it's the same staff.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1286479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that your party enjoyed their stay with us. I am pleased that the team such a lasting impression with you and helped to make your stay special.
I look forward to welcoming you back in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

After travelling 3 hrs to get to this hotel with elderly parents in tow we just wanted a clean place and a friendly face, we got neither. We were met with a terse "Name!" From the staff member on the desk, no hello or how are you.

Parking is always a problem in English towns, they want tourists to come but don't really provide many places to park. Park n Ride ain't always suitable people!

We made enquiries about the parking but got the short shrift from the same staff member which upset my partners parents.

When we complained about the attitude and asked to speak to the manager he told us that we could park out the front from 8pm to 8am everyday.

When we were taken to our rooms we could see that the floor had not (perhaps never???) Been vacummed and the bed was not made properly. We discovered the phones didn't work and the wifi in the rooms was woeful.

Having said all this we couldn't fault the actions of the staff to try to address our complaints. We were given new rooms ( no cleaner but we appreciated the effort) free breakfast and they knocked the price down by half when we left.

This place is very central to York and most of the staff are friendly but don't expect a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for wifi, check the phones and look around the corner for relatively cheap parking next to the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrudiSimonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
I would expect every guest to be welcomed to the hotel with a warm welcome and apologise that this was not the case for you and your family. I will ensure that the team are made aware of the standard I would expect.
I will pass on your comments regarding your room to my head housekeeper in order for improvements to be made where necessary.
i am pleased to hear that the team addressed the issues you found at the hotel to your satisfaction and hope that this issolated incident will not prevent you from staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed 1 night with friends..
Checked in by Lyndsey.. Great lass.. friendly and always had a laugh with us..
Room was on top floor looking over gardens and York minster in the distance..Clean and quiet..
Good value room..
There is a free car park for the hotel..the only bad point is the tight parking space..if you have a big car you might have probs..
Overall great stay..
Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniform1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
Lindsey has sent her thanks for your comment and like myself is pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay.
I hope you will join us again during your next visit to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

An ok hotel. Bit too much of a walk away from the centre and found better value for money closer by. Never the less it was an ok stay. Room a bit old and cold. Good parking. Would stay again if needing a cheap break and other cheap ones were unavailable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry that you found we were too far out of the city. It is approx 10 minutes walk to the centre of the city, however if needed there is a bus stop next to the hotel which will take you directly into the centre of the city.
I do hope you choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner visited York for three days and stayed at this hotel, from the moment we arrived to check in, the staff were friendly and were always willing to help. The room which we were provided with was to an excellent standard, the room was very clean including the on suite and we were provided with tea and coffee making facilities, a free view TV and plenty of storage space. Throughout our stay we haven't found one problem with either the hotel or the room itself and I advise people who want to visit here to not listen to any of the bad reviews, as this hotel will prove to be a satisfactory stay, the price for the room was well worth paying and we will be visiting again. Thank you for the hospitality from all of the staff who made our stay very worth while.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you have felt the genuine hospitality that the team aim to provide.
We do tend to find that the majority of our guests leave the hotel having had a relaxing stay, and I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

stayed just for one night, friendly check in, free parking ( but small car park) first come first served basis, room clean and tidy but very basic, check your supplies of shower gel/shampoo etc in the shower BEFORE you get in, only two tea bags and 2 sugars in the drinks tray so if you like a cuppa get your supplies from reception before you settle in for the night, not as near the town centre as advertised more like a 15 to 20 minute walk not good for high heels! And on a thursday evening most of the restaurants stop serving food at 9.30 so indian may be your only option even the thai over the bridge was closed early if you get the munchies after a few drinks,

Room Tip: room 109 very spacious and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased that on the whole you have enjoyed your time with us.
The majority of guests fine that the supplies in our rooms are adequate, but please be aware that the team are more than happy to suppply extra shower gel, tea/coffee ect. whenever needed.
I hope that you would choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing