We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disabled or pushchair friendly”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not disabled or pushchair friendly”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and we were frustrated by the disabled access. It was not pushchair friendly as there are steps to the entrance and the disabled lift was not working properly, which meant everytime I wanted to enter I had to wait for a member of staff to activate it, which felt like forever!! Especially when they were busy with customers, this could cause a lot of bother if you need disabled access.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
Due to being a grade 2 listed building we are unable to change the frontage of the building, hence the accesable lift in order to help any guest with mobility issues to safely enter/exit the building. Staff members operate the lift from the inside of the building for the safety of all guests and I apologise if you were kept waiting whilst the receptionist on duty was serving another guest at the time you needed the lift and kept you waiting longer than we would have liked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    696
    462
    192
    136
See reviews for
216
960
100
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Our party of 3 friends stayed here for 2 nights this week. As always when you have booked a budget hotel there is a sense of nervousness when you arrive but we were greeted warmly by Lindsey on reception. The hotel was clean and modern inside and the rooms were nicely decorated with ample space and all the facilities you would expect in a more expensive hotel. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for a long time.

Lindsey was on duty everyday and gave us lots of useful information about places to eat, buses and booked taxis for us. One of our party did have a problem with her room but Lindsey sorted it out quickly.

The hotel is ideally situated a couple of minutes from the city walls so if you are looking for a decent place to stay at an affordable price I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
It is a pleasure to recieve such positive feedback. I have passed on your comments to Lindsey, who is also happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is a very reasonable standard for a low to medium budget city center hotel. Room was a good size and the beds were very comfortable. Plenty of hot water and most of all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Good hotel for a short city break as near to all the main attractions and will not break the bank. If you want luxury, pay a lot more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggieeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at ibis York.
Thank you also for your special mention of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here two nights. The all important WIFE was a ail able e er where in hotel including bedrooms.
The value was sent out date to none
Staff in bar and reception were friendly a day professional. The staff were help full. We had free morning paper when requested. All for a very reasknable £47.50 per night.
It was in sight of the old walls of York, slight Incline if walking is a challenge but only a £5 taxi fare if it all gets a bit much.

Room Tip: Edits quiet a day all our rooms were the same
See more room tips
Green Features: Everything in the hotel is friendly, it caters for all your needs at no extra cost. The hotel bar was well stocked and staff were help full and friendly.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that yourself and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a one night stay here and found it a great place to stay. Staff were excellent, especially Lindsay who was most cheerful and helpful. Room at rear of 1st floor was very good- spacious, clean and very comfortable. Public areas and restaurant were clean and attractive and food and drinks very reasonably priced. Certainly one of the better budget hotels I've visited. Great proximity to city, station and bus routes

Room Tip: Quiet room at rear, but didn't experience any others, so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earlybird10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I have passed on your comments to Lindsey, who have also sent her thanks for your kind comments. I hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing