We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good price - breakfast buffet Hot & continental £7.95, Plenty of choices , Nice modern hotel, free wi fi , shoe polisher at lift, free parking limited spaces , customer friendly , Well done ibis hotel. Loved our stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen12051958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased to hear that you loved your stay with us at ibis York centre and hope to meet you during any future visits to the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    675
    438
    184
    129
See reviews for
204
923
95
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The hotel was situated just outside the city walls and an easy walk into the city. It was clean and fresh inside with someone on reception at all times. The bed was one of the most comfy I have ever slept in. The room was small but all that was needed. The only thing letting the hotel down was the breakfast, not a lot of choice compared to other hotels that I have stayed in. Free parking also available but limited space

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEFRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and will look into any ways we can improve for the points you have mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was a bit wary of this hotel as after I had booked it I read quite a few had reviews on TripAdvisor and was worried that the trip wouldnt be enjoyable. However I was wrong.

The hotel is really easy to find from the train station, only a 5-10 minute walk. We were early for check-in so we took the oppertunity to walk down past the hotel to the lovely town houses. The walk made us feel safe and showed the hotel was in a good area.

When checking in, the hotel staff were really friendly and nice. We arrived at the same time as another very large party so we stood back to allow them to check in and the hotel staff saw us milling about and called us over to get us checked in as fast as possible.

We were on the second floor, round the side so there wasnt any noise from the street out front, which I was wary of. The room was small but what we needed/had paid for. The bed was comfy, tv services great
And the bathroom very good.

The hotel is in a great location we walked to and from the centre of York, many times. And made use of the restaurant (a wetherspoons), a cafe for breakfast in the morning and the local sainsburies.

Overall we would definitely stay here again. Great value for
Money and added to a lovely trip that we had to York

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophieawalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
I am very pleased to hear that you were happily surprised with your stay and I thank you for your positve review. I hope that you choose to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here for one night and it was ideal for what you pay, and just far enough away from the tourist throng. The hotel is situated just outside micklegate with many eateries and pubs ,oppisite the cinema , a leisurely stroll away from the city wall and train station took about 15 mins to get to the minster. The hotel overlooked lovely town houses and the staff were extremely friendly, the rooms were clean and comfy .
We paid £50 for two people which is ideal and affordable the parking was tight but we managed to get a space, it is the luck of the draw and we drew lucky .If you want boutique hotels then be prepared to pay boutique prices in the centre with no parking. Wifi free but wifi in York I have found is hit and miss .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback.
I am happy hear that you found the hotel to be everything that you paid for. I am pleased to see that you found the location of the hotel suited your needs for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Check in pretty slow and we then discovered our two children were in a room some way from ours

Rooms were very old and dated and the carpet was more of a fury vinyl laid straight onto the concrete
floor. We went straight back to reception to ask if this was the standard throughout the hotel. It was apparently and reception didn't seem at all bothered that we were unhappy and considering moving hotel

In the end we stayed two nights. We overlooked the main road and the rooms were very noisy.

Very unhappy with the hotel, with the reception team and with Ibis who were not interested in our complaints.

Would avoid at all cost in the future. There's a premier inn opposite which looks far more inviting

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank M2Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
I am very surprised to hear that you were unhappy with the reception team at the hotel, who historically have very positive comments, especially on this website, please allow me to apologise if this was the impression you were given by the team, who do take any complaint very seriously.
Please be advised for any future bookings at ibis York should you have a special request such as travelling with children, the team are happy to accomodate, please simply contact the hotel prior to arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My partner and I stayed here and paid £202 for 2 nights. The reception staff were lovely on arrival, however, we weren't able to park in the hotel car park as it was full so the other half had to go and find somewhere else. He found a Sainsbury's car park at £12 for 24 hours. We moved the car into the hotel car park the next day. The car park is quite small and tight (so beware if you have a huge people carrier). I'm quite small but we still had to move the car so that I could get in without bumping the car door next to us.

The room was small but clean. There wasn't much hanging space or anywhere to put suitcases etc, so we put our stuff on the floor. This wasn't a problem for 2 nights. The only bugbear was that the room overlooked the air conditioning units, so there was some noise through the night. However, there was no noise from within the hotel whatseover (despite there being a few hen parties on the nights we stayed).

The hotel is in a great location, only a 10 minute walk into town. There was plenty to see and do all around the hotel and the reception staff were very helpful with directions and suggestions of where to visit.

Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The room also had the most powerful small hairdryer I've ever come across (bonus!).

For the price we paid we were very happy and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nortoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-Helen-Eades-, Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you were very happy with the price you paid for your stay.
I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#45 of 46 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel York Centre
1.1 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Lastminute and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing