We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back”
Review of Ibis York Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis York Centre
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go back”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

I stayed here for just for one night some time ago but wouldn't go back if I could avoid it. It may have improved but I wasn't impressed with the slightly cheap feel to the place. The staff all seemed a bit young and didn't seem to know what they were doing. I think it's a case of you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that your stay did not seem to meet your expectations and I wonder if you could contact me to discuss this matter. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    696
    462
    192
    136
See reviews for
216
960
100
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
norr26
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

This is probably the worst hotel I have stayed in in years! The hotel sits at the edge of town amongst fast food outlets, ramshakle shops and a fairly run down area! If you must stay in this area stay at the premier travel lodge it at least looks a nice hotel! On arrival the receptionist asked what was up with our miserable faces (we were down for a funeral). When we got to the lifts we noticed what looked like a dead body rolled up under the carpet, it was a wave of bumps and lumps, then things got worse, now I know this is a budget hotel so is travelodge so is premier travel inn, its has to be said this place was not a mark on those benchmarks. The room was tiny it had yellowed pillow cases, the carpet was stained with various unimaginable marks and the tv was a shower of snow - it was minging! So it was not a great start! We went out (York old town is nice) our son stayed in, he went down and ordered a pizza, it was an interesting ball of dough, he even kept it to show us - in fact it stayed with us a few more days! It was almost like a puppy! It had 4 dough legs and big puppy olive eyes (the cleaners must have thought we liked it so much we got to keep it )! Anyway next day getting dressed up for the funeral I managed to bang both sides of my head on both sides on the sharply inclined stucattod wall, this room was really small! My wife was raking around for a hair dryer guess what - no hair dryer, no shower matt - you get them from reception, must be highly desireable items to take home by the guests! Like the bathrobes and slippers (no just kidding - none in the room). So the next shocker is how thin the walls are and we would like to publicly thank the couple who attempted to destroy their bed through the night. bang bang bang! So we were leaving - at last! So standing outside beside a pool of sick waiting on my wife she came out to say they had no record of our booking - eventually we got away! Pheeww! So my advice add a few more pounds and stay at the premier travel lodge if you are doing a budget booking - it looks fine, York old town is lovely as well. I didnt know the Munsters were from York! p.s. we have kept the pizza puppy, its called Rolf, remember people pizza puppies are for life not just for Ibis hotels!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations and I wonder if you could contact me at your convenience to discuss this matter. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these York hotels

Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2010

The main good thing is I slept well and there were extra pillows etc. Unfortunately I have lots more bad things, where to start first...
Car Park - blimey - fine if you own a mini. It is a tight squeeze.
We had the misfortune of having to eat there on our first evening (as the person paying the bill insisted we ignore the vast quantity of good restaurants in York). All was going reasonably well from the quite limited menu until the main courses arrived. One was not as per the menu described. Two of the duck main courses were cold and the vegetarian pie was fine until I got to the middle to find it was frozen solid - urgh. Interesting enought no appologies were forthcoming nor were any alternatives offered. The next day we didnt risk breakfast or the evening meal there.
As for the room very basic but I was not expecting 5* - the bed was quite hard but to be honest I did sleep very well- but was working so that might have something to do with it.
I dont think I will be staying here in a hurry ever again not when you consider what York has to offer!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbilbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I was sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. I wonder if you could conctact me to discuss this matter. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boonies
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2010

Having read the tripadvisor reviews for the Ibis York. It was with considerable trepidation I booked a night's stay for my wife and I over the Early May Bank Holiday .The £50 price for the room clinched it, I just hoped the previous reviewers were frequent hotel travellers more used to 'Hotel du Vin' and the like.
Speaking from our experience:
The room was spacious with a double and a sofa bed made up on our arrival. Plenty of towels and extra pillows for two. Above all it was very clean and tidy (we wore shoes on the carpet, but we are extremely fastidious). Okay, the view from our rear facing room was best hidden by the curtains and yes, the car park was full but unrestricted parking a few hundred yards away on a side street was easy to find. For breakfast, we swiftly passed by the Ibis restaurant (burning toast odours emanating from the buffet) and made the short walk into the city centre where we were spoilt for choice. Lastly we did ask for assistance from one of the staff and they responded to our request quickly and without fuss.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hapennytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I was please to read that you enjoyed your stay in York and with my team, I am looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the area. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Very comfortable, clean and spacious room with an excellent view. The hotel is in an ideal location just outside the city walls with plenty of amenities such as a shop and chemist. The hotel was modern and the lounge area and bar were very welcoming after a long day out! The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to accomodate us. The breakfast was an all you can eat buffet and very good value for money. I could not fault our stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksims1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
Thank you for your very kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in York and with my team, I look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the area. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

You get what you pay for and we only used this hotel for the purpose of sleep (not that we got much). There were large groups and as to be expected lot's of noise, doors slamming etc. In short I wouldn't recommend this hotel other than for stag or hen weekends. Rooms were extremely small and clean (only just at standard)
Staff were ok but reception were unfriendly and after paying on arrival they were no longer interested.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighAnneI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LudovicVerzi, General Manager at Ibis York Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I was sorry to read of the unecessary disruption caused and please accept my apologies for this. I also wonder if you could contact me to discuss this matter. Kind regards, Ludovic Verzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This hotel has no interest in providing a pleasant and comfortable stay for their guests. The parking was a nightmare: we were told there was parking and found it full. Had to park on the street and get up at 6:45AM to move the car so as not to be booted. The carpet was filthy, there was only warm/cool water in the shower (sink was fine...whats with that??), doors in the corridor banged all night, etc etc. Got the picture?? All we wanted was what they said they were selling...they were NOT selling it. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtbnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#47 of 47 in York
1,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge York Central Micklegate
0.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge York Central
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 47 in York
1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wheatlands Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis York Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis York Centre

Property: Ibis York Centre
Address: 77 The Mount, York YO24 1BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis York Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis York Centre hotel is a budget hotel, located at the gates of the city walls, within a short walking distance from the Train Station and the main city centre. The National Railway museum and York's Racecourses are within a short driving distance. The en-suite accommodation comes with internet access and with satellite TV. Facilities include Café and bar offering hot and cold snacks 24 hours a day, WIFI, and two modern meeting rooms. Parking £7 per 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis York Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis York Centre Hotel York
Accor York Centre
Ibis Hotel York
Hotel Ibis York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing