We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful character hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed this weekend and had a great time. The hotel is about 1.5 miles south of York but easily walkable either along the road or by the river. It's on the park and ride route 7 (to/from Designer Outlet) and the buses go every 10 minutes, plus other buses provide a service up to midnight so no excuses for not staying here!
Our room was in the old part of a Georgian house and had exposed beams. There is also a newer wing which is still in keeping with the main house. Our room was clean, comfortable and warm - no mean feat as it was -6 this weekend and it snowed all night!
But the best thing about this hotel apart from its charm are the staff. The receptionist was so helpful and let us stay in the carpark before we checked in and long after we checked out so that we could use the bus to town. And when we did leave, the staff had cleaned all 50 cars of snow so that we could just drive out. This personal touch was fantastic and really made us want to go back. Well done Best Western York Pavilion!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loriol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,099 - 1,105 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just got back from 2 night stay at york pavilion hotel and it was wonderful. we were there for hen party weekend and every time when we thought it couldn't get any better, it did! We felt treated very special with our own dinning room for dinner and for breakfasts and the evening meal was the best meal i've had in a long time; it was delicious. The staff were really helpful and friendly. They had a great banter with us making us laugh and feel relaxed. It snowed overnight and they even cleared our cars of snow in the morning without us even asking which was a lovely suprise. The rooms were clean and comfy and the hotel dining areas were beautifully decorated. As part of our super deal for the weekend we got afternoon tea which was amazing as we had our own pianist playing for a whole hour non stop beautiful melodies. The cakes were good too! All in all i'd recommend this hotel for a great stay and although a little out of the centre, the bus sevice is excellent with a stop just outside so your in the centre within 10 minutes and designer outlet in less than 5. Thanks to everyone at the pavillion for making it a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liane0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Pavillion and had a fantastic time. We had a beautiful room with all the facilities we would expect in a hotel. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and would highly recommend it as we would say the food is bordering on Michelin Star quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Super two night stay at the Pavilion Hotel. Well situated 1 mile from the city centre in a characterful 18th century house the hotel has very pleasant rooms and an attractive lounge,bar and restaurant.The staff are first class and made us welcome from the moment we arrived.Breakfasts were excellent with a full range of options and our meal in the restaurant was truly memorable.Strongly recommended!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We have stayed at the Pavilion Hotel several times over the last five years and at different times of the year. Our last stay was between Christmas & New Year. It was lovely to relax by the log fire in the lounge & recover from all the hectic activity of Christmas.The staff are friendly & we always have excellent service. The food is good too.The owners have kept the character of the old house & adapted it very well.In fact we have already booked again for May & this time we are taking both daughters & partners for the weekend.
The hotel is well placed for visiting the York Designer Outlet or for visiting the centre of York. There are buses to both outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghosthuntfan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

all the staff are very nice .The head of house was really nice he made our party very welcome.you can walk into town in 10 minutes hotel very clean and food very good .keep the good work up

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Just arrived back from the three night zoo travel stay in the hotel which was £177 for two people for 3 nights. Hotel looks nice and the staff were very nice but thats about it. We were upgraded to a superior room with the deal, but there was nothing superior about it, it looked nice but the bed was a pull down squeaky thing, and if you rested your head on the head rest there was a sort of humming noise from down stairs coming through it???? Also the walls must of been paper thin as about 11.30pm the people next door had a shower for about an 45-60 and then again at 5am every day on our stay and it was so loud it woke both myself and my wife without fail, and the maid never gave us new soap or shampoo all the time we were there. In with the deal was a one night three course meal for free, i asked three times was there a set menu that we had to order from to get this and we were told just to order from the main menu, so we did and upon check out i was billed £23 pounds as there was a limit on the food of £50 which we werent told about. The food was also very pricey for what it was and the three course we had wasnt worth £70 believe me. The also tried to charge me for wine that I didnt have?When this was removed from my bill they also removed my drinks discount??? I recomend you dont stay at this hotel. However York itself is defo worth the visit lovely place. hope this was a help.

Room Tip: superior room wasnt worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneCossins, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear Robert G - We have e-mailed you through tripadvisor for your details to no avail, please send your contact details and date of stay to gm@yorkpavilionhotel.com. Your comments are very out of kilter with our other reviews and I cannot find reference to your booking. We would obviously like to respond personally to your comments once we substantiate your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,129 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £78 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing