We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Uplifting and heartwarming break"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at The Pavilion for three nights this week. We were on a special deal, but first of all we chose the hotel for it's character and location. We were given an upgrade to a room with a four poster bed, which we had always wanted to experience. Arriving in cold snowy weather, we were given a very warm welcome and loved the room we had been allocated. This was matched by the warmth and good service from all the staff. On the second evening we enjoyed a three course dinner in the restaurant, it was the best meal we have had for ages, with the ambience of the candle lit room and the rack of lamb was superb! We would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants to explore York.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
There are newer reviews for Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2012

Recently stayed for three nights at the Pavilion on business, my second visit to the hotel. The hotel is on a busy main road, so driving into York city centre is not a great option. Externally and internally, the hotel is attractive - certainly has more character than a typical three star chain hotel. My room was comfortable and clean. The food in the restaurant was excellent - dined there all three nights, and every course at each dinner was very good. Staff are also without exception very friendly and try to help at all times. Efficiency is a bit hit and miss, however - with a few mix ups over bills, room bookings etc. The Internet also went down while I was there, but apart from that all was fine, and I would unhesitatingly recommend the hotel. I would return there on a future visit to York.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seabreezers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Great location about 3 minutes from York centre by car , free parking at hotel a real bonus !!! . Fantastic hotel for the money and a real hidden gem in York , do visit .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simondela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We stayed at the Pavillion for a hen do using a deal through travelzoo. The staff were all very friendly & helpful. The room was comfortable & spacious. The food was lovely both dinner & breakfast.
I would to say a special thank you to the staff that cleared all the snow off the cars.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PolarYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed this weekend and had a great time. The hotel is about 1.5 miles south of York but easily walkable either along the road or by the river. It's on the park and ride route 7 (to/from Designer Outlet) and the buses go every 10 minutes, plus other buses provide a service up to midnight so no excuses for not staying here!
Our room was in the old part of a Georgian house and had exposed beams. There is also a newer wing which is still in keeping with the main house. Our room was clean, comfortable and warm - no mean feat as it was -6 this weekend and it snowed all night!
But the best thing about this hotel apart from its charm are the staff. The receptionist was so helpful and let us stay in the carpark before we checked in and long after we checked out so that we could use the bus to town. And when we did leave, the staff had cleaned all 50 cars of snow so that we could just drive out. This personal touch was fantastic and really made us want to go back. Well done Best Western York Pavilion!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loriol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just got back from 2 night stay at york pavilion hotel and it was wonderful. we were there for hen party weekend and every time when we thought it couldn't get any better, it did! We felt treated very special with our own dinning room for dinner and for breakfasts and the evening meal was the best meal i've had in a long time; it was delicious. The staff were really helpful and friendly. They had a great banter with us making us laugh and feel relaxed. It snowed overnight and they even cleared our cars of snow in the morning without us even asking which was a lovely suprise. The rooms were clean and comfy and the hotel dining areas were beautifully decorated. As part of our super deal for the weekend we got afternoon tea which was amazing as we had our own pianist playing for a whole hour non stop beautiful melodies. The cakes were good too! All in all i'd recommend this hotel for a great stay and although a little out of the centre, the bus sevice is excellent with a stop just outside so your in the centre within 10 minutes and designer outlet in less than 5. Thanks to everyone at the pavillion for making it a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liane0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Pavillion and had a fantastic time. We had a beautiful room with all the facilities we would expect in a hotel. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and would highly recommend it as we would say the food is bordering on Michelin Star quality.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £75 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing