We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break booked through travelzoo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

£150.00 for a 2 night break booked through travelzoo which included 2 nights bed and breakfast for 2 people, 1 dinner, 1 afternoon tea and an upgrade to a superior room depending on availability. Unfortunately the upgrade didn't happen and on arrival we were allocated a room which looked out on a brick wall. Room 63. After asking if we could be moved we were put in an apartment across the road from the hotel the following day. Apart from that the staff were lovely, the dinner and afternoon tea delicious, the cooked breakfast not the best but could have been worse.

Room Tip: Don't go in room 63
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Suzanne553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay. Overall the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the place was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. We didn’t have dinner there but breakfast was good, I’d particularly recommend the omelettes and it was served promptly even at busy times. We found it an easy walk to York (approx 2 miles) during the day but it was a little too far to wlk at night.

The only problem we had was noisy rooms. The hotel is right on the A19 the main southern approach to York. There’s no double glazing but the bigger problem was lack of sound proofing between the rooms and floors which caused us a problem one night due to a function in the room below us. The hotel tried to be helpful, but as they said, it’s a grade 2 listed building so they are restricted in how much they can do to the building and we felt it would be a problem no matter which room you had.

However overall we enjoyed our stay and appreciated the helpfulness of the staff.

Room Tip: Phone and ask for a room at the back, emailing didn't get a response
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 45lmkf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pavillion for three nights (26/02/12 to 29/02/12) as a birthday treat/break and whilst the hotel is reasonably pleasant - as were the staff - our stay was spoilt completely by the pigeons roosting in the roof space above the room - their incessant cooing and scratching about went on from very early morning until the early hours of the following morning was driving us crazy. It was reported to reception on the first evening but nothing was done about it so if you were planning on staying here ask to switch rooms if you are allocated Room 12 which is on the second floor (to which there are no lifts)...

Like Cathy08Wakefield, we too were on a Travelzoo deal and we too were not offered the Afternoon tea and we had to tell the staff we were on the deal so we at least got our evening meal which was, at least, decent. I use Travelzoo a lot but wouldn't book another visit to The Pavillion in future for the reasons mentioned above.

Room Tip: Choose anyone but Room 12!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickson_maurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Booked through Travelzoo and got a deal where you got 1 evening meal, 1 afternoon tea and breakfast both days, upgrade to a Superior Room if available!!. Firstly no Superior room as the hotel was full and the Manager was not aware that the booking stated this, not offered any afternoon tea. Staff are insure what the deals are and which residents are on them, if you dont ask you dont get, and you have to prove it with your paperwork!!

Having said all that the Hotel is lovely and the food is very good. If there is a private function the Bar is not open to Residents. There are some lovely pubs in the vicinity and easy acces to York via Taxi, approx £6.00. Would not use Travelzoo again for this Hotel as they need to get their act together with each other.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathy08Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneCossins, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear Cathy - Please would you send us your contact details to gm@yorkpavilionhotel.com - as you can see we have had a lot of people staying with the travelzoo offer and are very familiar with the details. We clearly did not deliver our usual excellence that we strive for and would like to respond personally to you. thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed for four nights with our daughter and baby grandson to enjoy the many interesting places in York. The hotel building is a fascinating mixture of styles, probably from Georgian times, but the resulting rooms are a good size, with en suite facilities, as well as all the usual things you would expect in a good three star hotel. The free Wi-Fi was a bonus. The rooms were very clean and unobtrusively serviced. The breakfast was very good and we had one dinner during our stay and that was excellent also. Having a baby with us, meant we needed lots of extras during breakfast and for overnight and the staff in the dining room and reception were exceptionally helpful. Parking was always available and there was a lovely riverbank walk of about a mile to the medieval city walls. The bus service was also pretty frequent and stopped close to the hotel, a welcome facility at the end of a long day walking the many sights of the old city.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Visited for one night, friends anniversary party. Premises are located nicely and are easy to find. Only 5 mins from York city centre by car. Our room - 53 - was called The Oasis. It was quite small but very good. Perfectly clean, comfy bed, decent TV, bathroom good with powerful shower. Dining is throughout many medium sized rooms and can feel a little odd - or at least it did for us for breakfast. Staff were very good indeed, nothing too much trouble. Only slight complaint is the car park is a little awkward and can be tough to find a space if the place is near capacity. The food for our party buffet was very good too. Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjworton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Agree with Playitfair's review - the carpark was quite messy after the snow melted, I was quite worried my new suede boots would be ruined! Other than that our stay was fantastic. We had dinner in the restaurant our first night and it was fab - lot's of choice, really tasty, just ever so slightly dark with the candlelight. Breakfast was likewise great - there was everything we could have wanted provided and the staff were all really helpful and friendly. We slept soundly, I never heard noise from other rooms or the restaurant downstairs and most importantly the shower was the perfect pressure! A little gem on the outside of York!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lida-lids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £62 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing