We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel and pleasant stay. Nice, convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Booked a three night stay through Travel Zoo. Included was one meal, afternoon tea and breakfast each day.
The room was nice, great power shower (bathroom needed an overhaul as had cracked ceiling and floor tiles). It was clean and bed comfortable. We were on third floor at the front of the hotel. It is on a busy road but the noise is minimal at night. The room was warm.
The evening meal was excellent. Three courses, a good choice on the menu and really large portion sizes.
Breakfast was ok. A continental buffet and full English too. The hotel was busy and they struggled to cope with getting guests sorted at breakfast time. But the staff were friendly and apologetic. The kitchen team must have struggled a bit more as the breakfasts were quite slow and not very hot but edible. We were very impressed with Wael who was a very attentive waiter during breakfasts.
We did not have afternoon tea as out most days.
It was conveniently located for visiting York.
All in all we found this a charming hotel and we would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EnglandRugbyFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,071 - 1,077 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2012

Not a modern building (obviously), but well maintained, and very cosy, with extremely comfortable beds (many of my colleagues mentioned this as well). With a room overlooking the courtyard it has the advantage of being a very quiet hotel, though having said that the only thing was the creaky floorboards! Not a modern building, but this is York and that's part of the charm! Fulford isn't in York in the walkable sense, but it's only a £7 taxi ride from the station and doesn't take long to get into the centre of town. All in all, excellent value and I'd stay here again if I came privately (or on business!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RL62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneCossins, Owner at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear RL
Thank you so much for your kind feedback, it is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

A very pleasent and enjoyable stay. The staff were very welcoming and very helpful from the very outset. We dined in both nights and there was a good choice of meals on the menu. The food was excellent, as well as the wine. The hotel is in a good position for walking into York but on the second day the Bus was a good option. In in all very enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

It is very rare today that a hotel goes way beyond your expectations. Staying at this hotel did.
From the moment we checked in the staff really care about their guests. The warmth of the friendliness from all the staff was outstanding and was maintained throughout our stay.
We had a 3 night break through travelzoo and thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Getting into York was brilliant, a 30/40 minute walk or a bus from outside the Hotel. Great not to have to worry about finding a parking space in the City.
Our evening meal was excellent and presentation superb. Afternoon tea was part of the deal and was great, lovely cakes and scones. Breakfast too was excellent.
This hotel has very high standards and we would highly recommend that you pay them a visit. You won’t be disappointed. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedroWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed for two nights 23rd and 24th March 2012, the hotel is very good with friendly and attentive staff which make you feel welcome right from the beginning. The hotel is ideally positioned to visit York and your can easily walk into town, like we did or jump on the regular buses running to and from the and out of town designer shopping mall.
The food in the hotel is to a high standard and I personally would recommend the Monk fish, with a side order of green vegetables for dinner.
We stayed in room 17 which is nicely decorated and positioned on the front corner on the top floor of the hotel. Room 17 may be a little awkward for anybody with a stairs disability, but me and my wife like the room as it was out of the way. The hotel is a fairly old building possibly Victorian (do not ask) but is full of character and the bar offers a warm welcome.
Would we stay there again, a definite yes.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Everything about this hotel was excellent--the food,the room,the staff could not have been more helpful,and the setting was good as well.If that is not enough there are a couple of good pubs nearby !

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade......if you don't ask ,you won't get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for the weekend on the Travelzoo deal. I can honestly say it was faultless. The staff were friendly and helpful without being 'over the top', the hotel was spotless and the food was excellent. There was a wedding at the hotel during our stay but this did not interfere with us at all. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel and the staff.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £62 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing