We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb wedding venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Our daughter had her wedding here in April and the hotel team could not have been better in dealing with the arrangements. From the initial meeting through to the actual day they showed outstanding professionaliam with exceptional attention and care to detail. The package we had covered everything including harpist, photographer, DJ, table flowers, chair covers and bows, and other details that have to be booked independently at many venues - it made it very easy for us all. The wedding breakfast and the evening buffet were excellent and a tasting evening had enabled us to select from range of starters, mains and desserts. The bridal suite was included in the package as will be an anniversay meal next year. Deluxe rooms were available at a discount for wedding guests and the rooms were varied, attractive and well equipped. The largest wedding room (there are three altogether) is tastefully decorated, plush but not over the top.
The manager and the wedding co-ordinator had been available for arrangements in the months leading up to the event and both instilled confidence and were fully aware of our requirements. On the day the Master of Ceremonies handled the occasion superbly and all the staff knew exactly what they were doing. The fact that another smaller wedding was taking place on the same day did not intrude upon ours at all - there was no conflict in terms of space or the staff's attention to detail.
Friends from the south of England could not believe how reasonable the inclusive package was and cited friends who had paid over £20k for a similar event with 100 day guests and 150 in the evening. This was less than half that figure, but far from a cheap or cut-down event - just excellent value for a quality service and product.

Room Tip: Be clear whether you want a four poster bed in your deluxe room or a wider king-sized bed. The wedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMB53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,068 - 1,074 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have just attended a wedding at the Pavillion, the venue is perfect, the attention to detail, food and accommodation could not be faulted. The disco did finish at midnight on the dot, and our party dispersed to thier rooms quickly and quietly, as it had been a very long day. The room we had (24) was clean and comfortable, breakfast was also excellent. We visit York often to see family and this hotel will definately be our choise for our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittykat_freddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Just returned from the three night travel zoo deal and can only say what good value for money this was. As stated in previous reviews the staff were lovely and the food and service was first class. As it had been many years since our last visit to York we asked at reception what the parking facilities were like in the city centre. The receptionist then produced a parking voucher which could be used free of charge within ten mins walk of city centre. Bargain !!! I agree the rooms are a little tired but ours was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IpswichJudyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked this deal on Travelzoo for 3 nights, with full breakfast, 3 course evening meal & afternoon cream tea taking my parents with us. Every single member of staff was polite, helpful and professional. Rooms spotless and the character of the listed building retained. The food was excellent although we did have a bit of a wait for our evening meal as there was another function on. Not ideal for my elderly parents to finish eating after 10.00pm but it was only for one night. Beautiful walk into the city centre along the river...about a mile and a half but didn't seem that far. We would definately return to this hotel as we still have more to see and do in York and would recommend it.

Room Tip: We had a four poster bed....very creaky. I will be asking for a superior room again but not with fou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamG_1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We selected this hotel due to the Travelzoo offer which is very attractive. It is pleasing to read other reviews and see that many have been impressed by the hotel and have enjoyed their stay but our stay was not universally good, indeed it was very far from perfect.

The hotel is trying very hard to market itself for weddings with many adverts for fixed price weddings and it is also advertising itself with the Travelzoo offer to gain mid-week business and it may well be that the two are incompatible. It was certainly a major contributory factor in our stay being at times not very pleasant. Though we had one wedding to contend with on the Tuesday, there were two weddings booked for the day we left and we felt some pleasure that we were not overlapping. I would suspect that those who have had a really good stay and I can see from other reviews there are several, did not have the overlap with a wedding that we all had.

On arrival the car park was completely full which gave us obvious problems but this was to be expected as there was a wedding happening in the hotel. It does make life very difficult for guests with cases.

We booked the stay many months ago for three couples and at the time of booking were categorically assured that we had three superior rooms. We arrived at different times, us first and we were given the key to our room. There was only one route to our room and we had to struggle through the wedding reception party with our cases which wasn’t a lot of fun for them or us. When we left our room to see our friends we had the same journey in reverse. Perhaps a member of staff to guide us through the wedding reception would have shown some foresight. Our room (49) looked delightful with a tasteful decor and a lovely four poster bed and a great shower. We were impressed, little did we know what was in store for us later.

Our friends had arrived and checked in and we went to see them. They took some finding as one was in the other wing and one was in the outside courtyard. Their rooms were most obviously not of the same standard as ours and we decided to check with Reception. The lady on Reception was not at all helpful. She seemed to aware the enquiry was coming and when she eventually, after some time, accepted that the rooms were not all “Superior” said that was what we had been given and it was too late to change and she was curt and dismissive. She was supported in this by a member of management who was similarly dismissive. Persistence gained us an audience with the manager who asked for 5 minutes to investigate the problem. He returned, apologized profusely and offered to swap our friends rooms the next morning giving them a choice of rooms ..... under the circumstances this seemed the best offer we were going to get and we graciously accepted. At this time, quite incidentally, the manager also pointed out that our room was directly above the wedding disco and we might hear it that evening but he told us he had given instructions that the disco must finish by midnight! Might hear it was an understatement. My wife went to our room to read about 10.30 and could hardly believe the noise, which made reading let alone sleep impossible, and she gave up and came to the guest lounge to join the rest of our party. We returned to the room at 11.30. In our room the DJ’s announcements were crystal clear as were the words of all the songs but they did finish promptly at midnight. At varying times between 12.30 and 1.30 guests who had obviously enjoyed the wedding and were resident made their way back to their rooms. I am sure they were unaware of quite how noisy they were but there was much raucous laughter. Ours was not a quiet corridor. Added to this, despite the radiator being turned off the room seemed very hot and we wondered if this was due to our proximity to what seemed to be the Pump Room for the hotel. We opened the window wide. At about 5.00am the pump started which was very noisy and despite our radiator being switched off it also was really noisy. At 6.00am right outside our window the first delivery arrived, as it did every morning, with the large truck reversing for some distance right outside our window. A pretty awful night’s sleep obviously didn’t contribute to a jolly stay.

Next morning at breakfast which was VERY busy one set of our friends suggested that they had also had a bad night with a room in the courtyard which was too hot. We awaited the manager’s new room offerings. The first couple were told they had a choice of two rooms and took the first (42) and the second couple were told they had one choice, take it or leave it and they declined. They had slept well and decided it, in view of the experience of the others, to remain in the room allocated.

Our meal on the first evening was fine but far from exceptional. Two of us asked for a starter of asparagus, smoked salmon and poached egg which arrived in both cases without salmon. We had given up complaining by that time and said nothing. My wife’s starter was supposed to be chicken liver pate with brioche but the brioche was burnt toast (burnt side down ) and my wife asked the waitress if she would be kind enough just to remove the burnt toast and she would happily settle for a brown roll which duly arrived. There were a few other incidents, missing vegetables and poached ages which ranged from brilliant to brick like depending on your luck, which were less than acceptable from a hotel dining experience. However, it must be said that throughout the meal the waitress and all staff serving food were faultless and tried really hard to make our meal pleasant.

We decided to eat out on the second evening. Mid afternoon, one of our party rang down to Reception to ask if we could book a taxi. When no one seemed to be answering he decided it may be quicker to walk down to Reception. He asked the lady on Reception if she could book a taxi and was given the response that she was too busy but she would give him the number of a taxi firm to book his own! The staff in this hotel seemed to be very contrasting. Those on Reception that we encountered were abrasive and unhelpful whilst those on food or on the bar were very good indeed and a credit to the establishment.

We were a party of three couples all within two years of 60. It is very unusual for any of us to complain (see ALL my previous reviews) but this was poor and so easily avoidable service.

The deal being offered is excellent. The cream tea was superb. The guests’ lounge was really nice and a delightful gathering place for guests. The staff who served us were very good, smiling, full of banter and added to our stay. Overall our holiday was far from a disaster.

However, the hotel seems stretched to breaking point when a wedding is happening with room 49 (and almost certainly all other rooms on that corridor) uninhabitable unless by the wedding party. Maybe the hotel would achieve more by promising less. Not offering an upgrade and housing non wedding guests away from that corridor would be a plus. Training Reception staff so that they do not let all the other staff down and offend guests would be another suggestion. Having mentioned that, the lady on Reception when we all checked out seemed very helpful and genuine and we could only reflect how different our stay and this ensuing revue may have been had she been on duty throughout.

I have met up with those friends before on hotel deals in different parts of the country when a cheaper deal did not mean second class treatment. This hotel can, and should, do better.

Room Tip: avoid 40's corridor if hotel is hosting a wedding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank chichesterdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneCossins, Manager at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your comments, we were expecting them as you not only announced yourself as a senior trip advisor reviewer on check in, you also sent us your post before you placed it on trip advisor. You are right we have many positive reviews from guests who come to enjoy themselves. We work very hard to deliver an excellent experience for our guests but we also know this is a continuous journey of improvement. Regards - Sean Battles - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We selected this hotel because it was a Travelzoo offer - and it was a good choice. The hotel is not far from the south ring road, and on an excellent bus route (P&R) into town. So we were able to park our car and leave it! The bus route going out of town terminates at the large outlet centre, for those who like shopping.
The hotel itself is a little quirky, being a converted large house, with several small dining areas, and some rooms in converted outbuildings. We were in the "Gardeners Office", off the central courtyard, and very comfortable too. Lovely bed, bathroom, flat screen TV, and small office space for those on business.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and were not averse to a little leg-pulling, which gave a good rapport. We had one evening meal, one afternoon tea, and two breakfaste as the two-night deal @ £150 for two - and the food couldn't be faulted. For example, poached eggs were runny, and the bacon had flavour.
To be recommended, and a place we would happily return to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling-man38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My mother and I stayed here last November. The staff were friendly and helpful always happy to help with information regarding bus times etc. The food here is excellent, so much so that we always had our meals in the restaurant here to try their various menu's. The breakfast menu is extensive just what you need ready for a busy day sight seeing. My mother heartily recommends the porridge! The rooms were marvellous, very comfy and warm. Can't fault this hotel in any way. Will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolyne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,592 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £61 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing