We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A great family Wedding”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

What a great gem of a hotel..

We were lucky enought to be in this hotel on the 13th july for a family wedding.

The check in on the reception was fantastic quick and very efficent and directing us to Room 50
a great double room with a great size full bathroom with all the mod cons overlooking the garden.

The wedding was a great day and the service was lovely..

We were given canapes that were great and also the welcome drink the down side was there was not enough seating in the gardens and the bar was small and only two seats in there.

The wedding brekfast was wonderfull and also the wine choice really complemented the meal.
The evening buffet was also great but there was alot of sandwiches which are quite heavy after a day of eating and drinking.The staff throughout the day was great and very efficiante and the night time bar staff were great fun.

The bedroom was very comfortable and i thought the fully cooked brekfast was great and there was a great choice of breads and cerals.

Would i stay here again... Yes i would as i thought the hotel was a great quirky hotel with fantastic garden areas and the courtyard was amazing.

Well done a great hotel..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOANNE028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    436
    147
    71
    36
See reviews for
228
653
28
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We had our wedding at the York Pavilion and had quite a few guests staying for two nights. Everyone seemed very happy with their rooms and loved the breakfasts. Personally I stayed the night before my wedding and the night of the wedding both rooms I stayed in (a superior double and one of the honeymoon suites) we very nice and clean.I found that the staff were all very helpful and friendly. As far as the actual wedding went we had a wonderful day and all the staff that we dealt with throughout the whole planning etc especially Kate,Sean and Carolyn were wonderful and couldnt do enough for us. The food was excellent on every occasion including breakfasts, our wedding lunch and buffet in the evening. We came away from this hotel with wonderful memories and would definaltey recommend for a stay a meal or a wedding!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscoops080612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We came for a family wedding. Where they got married was very nice also where the pictures were taken. They took for ever befor the meal was served and in the meantime the were very few seats to sit on which was important to my sister as she has a problem with her leg and hip. The meal was very nice , but slow.We booked our rooms months in advance, but sadly they were miles apart. My sisters being right through a bar where another wedding was taking place and out through the garden. Mine had a four poster bed and the room was so dingy, There was wallpaper hanging off, the carpet didn' look clean and all in all it was very tired.
The buffet at the evening do was a joke. There was so much food thrown away. Breakfast was the worsy English breakfast we have ever had, Plus the room they showed us to was very basic and unknow to us all the rest of the family were in a large room having breakfast together.
The staff were not very helpful and looked miserable. I thought the hotel was very expensive for what we got. Needless to say, we will not go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a hotel which reeks of history and makes the most of it. From the stone floors to the rather quirky nature of the construction - which is so common and appealing in period buildings. All of that complimented by the period decor in the public areas- like the sitting room with its array of sofas and tasteful furnitire to the grand dining room where Sunday lunch is popular with visitors and locals.There is little wonder that this is a much used venue for weddings. The hotel also has more informal areas like the bar and charming gardens and outside areas . The staff are excellent - friendly and very obliging. Few hotels are so keen to provide early breakfast at 4:30 in the morning and still go to the trouble of warming pastries and offering hot milk. Bedrooms are a good size , clean and comfortable although they may need upgrading in the near future - but nothing significant. It's also excellent value at £60 a night for bed and breakfast. The hotel is easily reached from the A64 and within striking distance of the University and the centre of York.

Room Tip: If you are staying at a weekend request a quiet room as there may be a wedding with inevitable noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Iv stayed here a number of times. It's a beautiful hotel, staff are very pleasant. Iv always had my room booked from my place of work...depending on how busy the hotel was depended on which room I got. Iv stayed in 3 of the large rooms at the front of the main house, a twin room and also 2 rooms in the courtyard area. Rooms have always been clean. Breakfast very good. Staff very accommodating, especially late at night after a day of meetings! It's lovely and warm in the winter and cool enough in the sun. Plenty of free parking too. There's a little fish and chip shop to the left of the hotel, very nice...and the staff never stopped me taking my food to my room. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becky_blades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

York was such an amazing city. This hotel was very convenient for everything, good bus service into town although parking wasn't a problem. Staff extremely friendly and very obliging. The room was large and very clean. Food delicious and the many different rooms to eat in made it more interesting. Good, cosy outside courtyard x 2 which meant we could have a drink and cream tea sitting outside. Definitely will return again. We were so relaxed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jembey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here when visiting York University which is just a short drive away.

the hotel is in some beautiful old buildings with nice gardens around. Had a few beers sitting in the gardens with the sun shining. Very nice.

Room was fine. rather noisy as the place is old. i got woken up by the room above me in the morning. Lots of creaking floorboards.

Something was wrong with my TV and it came on twice during the night of its own accord and woke me up. Made me a bit grumpy. There was wifi across the hotel but it didnt work when i was there. Told the staff but never got fixed. Not good when on a business trip.

Breakfast okay. Orange juice nasty (this is my test of a good hotel breakfast).

overall a mixed place. The hotel looks great but was let down by a few things for me.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveBGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,072 reviews
1.4 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
816 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Property: Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing