We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and well priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2012

This hotel is not in the centre of York which makes it a bit cheaper than the equivalent in the city centre. We chose to stay here as we got a really good offer via travel zoo, took the car as has on site parking, rather than getting the train. There is a frequent bus service over the road which takes you into the city in approx 10mins, however we also found that there was quite a pleasant walk through the park next to the river which got us back from the city in about 40mins.
Our standard room was small but clean and comfortable - only real complaint was that it was ridiculously hot and took a while to get the heating off and the room cooled down, even with no heating the room was still a bit hot and stuffy for sleeping.
We ate in the restaurant - 3 course evening meal which was lovely - good quality food, although a restricted menu. We also sampled afternoon tea - which was really nice, but a bit too sweet even for someone like me with a sweet tooth, as this consists of a lot of cake - would also prefer to see something offered other than tea and coffee with this as Im a non tea and coffee drinker. Breakfast was also good - lots of choice. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Only issue was a random knock in middle of night with room service we hadn't ordered, who then started to come in after knocking twice - this was not nice at time, and had I been alone it may have been a bit frightening as we were unaware of it being room service - the member of staff was very apologetic though.
Overall a pleasant stay and we would stay again. Look out for travelzoo offers as if they do repeat this, it makes it quite a bargain.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
There are newer reviews for Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

Would have liked to give this hotel a four, ( Very Good) . But we booked a standard double room. It was very small, and when we first entered the room it was very hot and stuffy and remained so for the whole of the stay. Because of the ivy covering the bjuilding, when we opened the window a lot of insects came inso we had to close it and we had a fan , which did,nt really cool the room and was quite noisy. The rest of the stay was very good, the reception, the service and the breakfast were all very good. It was just the room which let it down.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lancelottev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

A lot of stairs to climb to get to the rooms. Food was acceptable and the hotal comfortable. It is good to find somewhere with free parking. We were fortunate to have a delux room in which Frakie Howerd once stayed. There were othe named room

Room Tip: if you can try the delux rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PETERPAMEN75AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed overnight Friday 17th August. The staff, without exception were brilliant, friendly and helpful. The hotel looks nice from the outside, nice reception and bar and great outside areas. The full English breakfast was very good.
Our room and the journey to it was a different tale. The room had a huge damp problem coming through the bathroom wall spreading alond the dado rail behind the bed, stretching to the outside wall. The wallpaper was bubbling and stained with one corner showing established black mold. When we were getting ready for bed we were hit by a powerful smell of drainage as the loo in the room above was flushed. In fairness the hotel offered to move us to another room but it was after midnight and we were in dressing gowns, we declined. We kept the bathroom door closed and opened the patio doors. We also discovered that the flooring upstairs was wooden floorboards creak creak creak. In the morning we discovered a problem with the shower. Although it was very good with easy controls, good pressure and plenty of hot water, anyone above 5'9" could not stand up straight under it !

On checking out we raised these issues and the response was a swift 50% reduction in the room rate. Acceptable and professional.

My biggest grouch is that a room like this should not have guests in it if other rooms are available. This need not have happened, particularly as a refurbishment programme is apparantly under way. Ask for a refurbished room. If the facilities were as good as the staff it would be a sure winner.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IreneCossins, Manager at Best Western York Pavilion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Hello Andrew
Thank you for your constructive review. We got caught with the rain and a broken drain, which allowed the water to seep into the room. The problem has been resolved and the bedroom has now been fully redecorated. Best regards - Sean Battles - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed one night 19/8/12. Very nice place to stay, staff excellent, beakfast extensive, nice dining and sitting out areas. Handy for parking car up and using buses into York. Also situated nicely for Designer Shopping Ouitlet. Room compact but nice and in good order - bathroom quite large - bath larger than average. Good place for "smokers" - attractive covered sitting out area for this. Beakfast was good and dining room managed by friendly head waiter. Fruit juices, fruit, yogurts, cakes, cold meats, cereals, toast, pots of tea or coffee, coffee machine for nespressor type coffees, full english tailored to your preferences, most types of egg, smoked salmon, kippers etc. Will definetly use this hotel again. Car park was large - but could possibly get congested when functions are on - but plent of road parking also. Fans and hairdryers and flat screen tvs in rooms. Rooms well maintained.

Do not eat at the Plough Pub nearby. Had a meal there because it was recomended by other reviewers, but it was the worse in 40 years. Over-cooked fish and soggy chips. But beer was OK.

Room Tip: We got a special rate of £41 for the night for a double including breakfast and booked on line. Pres...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Checked in the hotel today 19th of August and we are predicted to stay one more night. Upon arrival the sraff were very helful and friendly, on our way to our room though morale fell signifucantly. There were quite a lot of steps and a little staircase leading to the room we were allocated. Word of advice: do not have too much to drink if you get the same room. The steps are in great need of TLC and they are creaking like there's no tomorrow. The room was very clean and tidy but it is so HOT!!! If you are a hormonal woman who sleeps with a fan even in January DO NOT attempt to sleep in this hotel. We asked for a room change but we were told that the hotel was full so that would not be possible. You cannot fault the staff however, they brought a huge fan upstairs bless them! It seems to be working well and window is open but still burning up unfortunately :(. All in all, goid value for money even with the aforementioned issues...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

we had a fantastic one night stay, helpful staff, wonderful breakfast, powerful shower, lovely clean room what more could you want for £26 each !! went with son and daughter-in-law who had just as lovely a room. bus stop right outside so car stayed on car park for the two days we were there and we got the bus ! it was £2 RETURN to york so cheap as chips. we did walk into YORK on the evening as it was lovely weather and it took half an hour so if you feeling fit its all flat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susanplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £74 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing