We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue for wedding. Staff are fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We booked this hotel for our wedding based on the beautiful rooms & character of the hotel. We used the Sandy Richardson suite for both the ceremony (with 1/2 the room partitioned off) and for the reception & evening do using the full room. The staff did a fantastic job, paying exquisite attention to detail. Nothing was to much trouble & they went above & beyond any level of customer service ive ever experienced. Whenever we visited the hotel we were greeted like royalty and made to feel completely at ease about all the wedding prep.

Myself & 2 of my bridesmaids stayed at the hotel the night before the wedding & stayed in a very clean, spacious room. On the morning of the wedding the put me up bed was quickly removed & extra chairs & glasses were brought up for while we got ready. Housekeeping very quickly turned round the bridal suite from the previous days wedding so i could have photo's in there before the ceremony.

Kate, the wedding co-ordinator is a lovely, friendly girl, who is always at the end of the phone to go over every single detail of the wedding. She clearly loves her job & made the whole wedding process scarily calming! Shaun the general manager was always on hand to oversee the smooth running & even helped carry the train on my dress. It was nice to see him serving the wedding breakfast with the waiters aswell. He is definitely not the kind of manager who has a superiority complex! If any brides book a wedding here I would advise them to request Rob to be their master of ceremony. He kept the whole day flowing from start to finish. He was there whenever we needed him & kept the day running to schedule. Little touches like putting a DVD on for the kids while speeches took place was brilliant. We were even suprised by the hotel with chinese lanterns! It was a lovely suprise & a moment we'll never forget. Our day was absolutely perfect & i would definitely recomend the Pavilion for a fairytale wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

Booked into this hotel last minute as we were travelling to elvington the following day for a race track experience day.
The room was freezing cold, the window wasnt closed properly and wouldnt shut so there was a whirr and breeze coming through.
My husband called down to the reception at 10:30pm to ask if someone could please look at the heating in our room..we were told that they would reboost the heating..we waited, still no heating. He rang back down and asked to speak with the duty manager. We were told "the best i can do is give you a blow heater!" My husband told the manager that we were not prepared to pay to stay in a freezing room so they either move us rooms or move us to a diff hotel. later, we were moved into a suite room with four poster and balcony. very warm indeed which we appreciated.

however will not be back here im afraid.

Room Tip: aviod room 28. room 44 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I booked this venue for my wedding and what an amazing day we had. I stayed on the Friday night prior to the wedding and the staff were plesant and welcoming. The room was a large room which is what I requested as all my bridesmaids were to get ready there in the morning.

On the morning of my wedding I went down for breakfast, greeted by a freindly waiter. The breakfast was brilliant. Getting ready for the ceremony the wedding planner, Kate was on hand to ensure everything was ok, she even helped fasten the bridesmaid dresses.

The day it's self was amazing with great gardens for photos to the service the staff provide. I honestly couldn't of asked for anymore.The food was amazing and when the children was being picky with the starter the staff offered alternatives. Even when we eventually got to the room at 1am to find out family had ransacked it the porters sorted it and wouldn't let us help.

Overall a brilliant venue with great staff and service. I would highly recommend this hotel as a wedding venue.

Room Tip: Bridal suite 3 is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We booked this hotel for my daughter's wedding and it was amazing, amazing, amazing! Every member of staff from the bar staff and waitresses, to the hotel managers were wonderful and just couldn't do enough for you! The food was super, the wedding planner so helpful and accommodating - the whole all round experience was great! We had taken about eight room and all were spotlessly clean and the public areas cosy and welcoming. Outside areas were spacious and beautifully maintained. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. No wonder it is ranked among the top wedding venues in York!

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if access is a problem request a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Booked a four poster room which was very small and dark. The room was very hot making it difficult to sleep and the doors and windows would only open with great effort. The corridor our room was located in was very noisy with guests slamming doors into the early hours.
The food was at best average and we were rushed through our three courses being half past nine the staff probably wanted to get cleaned up.
On the plus side apart from being hurried through our evening meal the staff were very friendly, helpfull and good at their job, this is the only saving grace for this hotel, back to the Monkbar for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeysox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

What a great hotel nice arrival working late did not arrive till seven pm checked in with minimum fuss room lovely nice chair to sit in biscuits with my tea great just what you want after a busy day.
After getting changed in a more than adequate bathroom time for dinner decided to to order room service no fuss here also it arrived in around half an hour and although the hotel was busy" i took the last room"a deputation arrived with my meal which I have to say was excellent I had a starter and main which arrived with covers thus keeping the food just right having eaten and had a nice drink off to bed which was very comfortable a pleasure to stop at this hotel even though the car park was full still managed to find a spot would recommend to the weary traveller

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We travelled to York last week-end for a meeting with some friends. The first room we were given was on the first floor, dark and overlooking the kitchen; one could hear the humming of the ventilation fan working right opposite - after asking, we were shown another room (number 12) on the second floor, better from the point of view of less noise. The bathroom floor was covered with linoleum, the bath had a shower curtain and a few white tiles around the shower area, wc cistern was noisy...These were probably adequate 20 years ago...There were 2 wall lights on each side of the bed but we could not use them as they were too dim for reading.
Breakfast is self-service where you help yourself in a small separate room next to the kitchen; you can also order a full breakfast. Watch out for the automatic toaster which will easily burn your toast! and the staff does not seem to be able to control it!
The food in the restaurant was not worth the prices charged. We were a party of about 40 people - our reservation was made in May and yet on the week-end we were there, there were one wedding one night and another on the two following nights; as a result we could not use the bar, and the car park was jam full. Loud music played till midnight followed by thudding noises from the staff clearing the tables and chairs downstairs...So the location of your bedroom is important!
I spoke to the manager about all these concerns and they were willing to deduct 20% of our total bill ...a good will gesture but we would have prefered in the first instance to have had a more comfortable room and better quality food. My advise to this 3-star hotel is :
- to update the bedrooms and particularly the bathrooms
- train the staff at reception to face the customer and not sit sideways looking at a screen as if not interested
- train the restaurant staff on how to serve and collect the dishes correctly at the table
- improve on the quality of the food
-give a lick of paint to the entrance hall and reception area (get rid of this awful mustard colour)

Room Tip: If you must stay in this establishment, ask for a room at the back (the ones in the front or sides a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,143 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#13 of 47 in York
1,597 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing