We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a night!”
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Without doubt one of the strangest nights away on business I've ever had. Fortunately the hotel was not at fault in any way!

I've always been impressed when visiting York by the appearance of the hotel and I wasn't let down by the interior. A beautiful reception area with a nice spattering of friendly helpful staff.

I was in room 16 at the very top of the hotel which upon arrival was very cold due to an open window and radiators that need bleeding. Having said that the room was very clean and the bed (although not level due to the sloping floor) was very comfortable. My only grumble was the wifi only working in certain areas of the room.

I didn't dine due to attending a football match and didn't return to the hotel till 03:00 due to my Father being taken ill whilst driving me back to the hotel after the game!! I worried I'd struggle to get back in but the night porter was a lovely guy so I managed to grab a couple of hours sleep. In the morning I had to rush off on business so rang reception to ask if I could perhaps have a bacon sandwich to take away with me, which was met with a definite yes no problem.

In difficult circumstances this hotel and its staff did itself proud. I plan on retuning sometime soon and would like to thank the staff for their friendly nature and professionalism.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noddyinnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    444
    149
    72
    36
See reviews for
231
660
28
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights whilst visiting York and Yorkshire moors. It is around 25mins to walk into York along a river path - lovely if the weather is pleasant. We also used the bus service which was frequent and stopped outside hotel. Receptionist was very helpful with this information and maps etc when checking in. Car parking was a challenge whilst weddings were taking place and breakfast was also busy/manic when hotel was full - the food was very nice though. We never ate an evening meal in the hotel so cannot comment on standards. The hotel setting is very nice and courtyard/old stables converted are quaint - the hotel seems very wedding focused and this did have an affect during our visit. This would be the main consideration if we were to stay here again. It is a very pleasant hotel.
As it is located on the outskirts of York it was very convenient to access routes to moors etc without encountering traffic which was useful for us. If visiting York only we would opt for more central hotel but would stay here again if travelling in surrounding area as well as the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StokeGiffordRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hotel is in a prime location with a pleasant 25 minute walk along the river into York and in a beautiful setting. However if you would rather not walk there are many busses into York every 10 minutes during the day, the bus stop is only over the road. My family stayed there for two nights and the staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfast is delicious and also freshly cooked, the hotel also has a restaurant which is equally as nice. The only negative is there are no lifts and also some of the rooms are slightly small. This may be inconvenient to families who need a cot in there room. Overall we would stay here again:)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My partner bought a 2 night getaway to York for my birthday and we stayed at this hotel so we could visit the city, shop and spend time together.

The first impressions of the hotel are great, it's just off the main road so it's easy to find and the architecture is great, really giving you that old York feeling.

The staff are very friendly and helped us with navigating to our room which is a little tricky as the hotel rooms are separated but that doesn't ruin the look of the building. The room was basic and could've used a lick of paint (renovations were happening in the main foyer at the time, not the rooms) but it served the purpose. The only problem we had was whatever was above our room, I figured it was a room because there was people walking around the room at all hours of the night and it never let up. Both nights we had this problem, people talking and people walking an unnecessary amount. Still not sure to this day what it was but that wasn't a problem with the hotel, merely a problem with its occupants.

The location is great as it's just off the main road and it's a short walk into the centre of York where there are a load of sights to see. It's also close to a shopping outlet which can be accessed by a frequent bus service.

Overall I had a good time in my first Best Western hotel and would recommend this hotel for anyone that wants to explore York be it couples or families.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My family & I held our Father´s 80th birthday party at this hotel. It couldn´t have been nicer, all the staff were so helpful, the food was wonderful & the setting beautiful. Everyone who attended really enjoyed themselves, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Great place to hold any function & excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

What a pleasure it is to find high quality service and accommodation so close to home. We live near York and have worked and studied there so we are well aware that the tourist trade allows some places to take advantage of the enthusiasm of their guests with accommodation in high demand all year round. Not so the Pavilion!
A splendid room and a lovely, stately atmosphere, even though the place was full on a dank, dreary Monday in late October. After 29 years wed, one appreciates such things! Mrs Fingers was in raptures (not easy to achieve in one of such synical outlook!) about the service and the quality of the breakfast, served with a certain dignity and aplomb in a venue that is worthy of it's reputation. Never mind staying within the City walls and paying a packet to spend the night in the company of drunken and miscreant youth; we enjoyed our stay in the beautiful 'burbs of Fulford, where prices are fair and quality high.

Room Tip: car parking can be at a premium if there are conefernces or workshops being held during the day. cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastYorkshireFingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We know York well but after an absence of 2 years decided to have a short break at this hotel. we booked via the BW site and the package was excellent value £126 for B&B for 2 people for 2 nights. The breakfasts were excellent and we had one evening meal which was very good. The Hotel is actually in the village of Fulford which is now a suburb of York. It is about a half hour walk to the city centre and if you veer off the fulford road you can walk by the river all the way into the city centre. If you do not fancy a walk then there are plenty of buses. We stayed for a short break after visiting relatives in Cumbria on our way home to Norfolk we will stay here again. If you do not want to eat at the hotel there are 2 or 3 pubs within short walking distance from the hotel. there is parking for about 50 cars at the hotel. I did not see any lifts and it is an old building so i do not think it would be suitable for people with disabiliities

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,303 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Property: Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing