We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Having returned from holiday I was called in to work early as it was our 20th anniversary on holiday and didn't have time to do anything whilst being in company with friends we thought whilst on buisness we could mix it with pleasure and booked ourselves into the york pavillion whilst I was at work as I am a member of best western on arrivals you have a choice of a free upgrade as of which my wife had organised the duty manager a man called paul pulled out all the stops for us and gave us a upgrade to the bridal suite with a complimentry bottle of champagne the hotel is wonderful the staff go that extra mile for you andwould recomend anyone to stay here its a bus ride from york city center which is easy access and come every 15 mins and on time I might add the food looks lovely and reasonably priced even hough we didn't eat. There as we was going in to town but we had breakfast and there was I wide choice from continental to full english which was very nice would like to if you are not members of best western you are missing out all hotels that we have stayed inhave been excellant and its free membership looking forward to my next weekend away

Room Tip: To be truthful all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

We got married here in August and I cannot fault the place and the wedding service. We had a fanastic day mostly due to the friendly well organised staff and the beautiful setting. Kate and Sophie the wedding co-ordinators are always available to help and the wedding packages are competitively priced. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a wedding. We had our whole wedding there and many of our guests stayed both before and afterwards. The honeymoon suite we stayed in was amazing. They catered well for all my family and friends including vegetarians and even gave us a private room for a guests for breakfast. We loved every minute of it and I could go on and on about how great it was but I think FAULTLESS sums it up well.

We also eat here (when we aren't getting married) and have always found the food nice and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessie86_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A quirky hotel but a nice stay. Layout of the hotel not the best however it was a very pleasant stay.
We had a room off the main hotel which opens onto a courtyard. Small room but had everything required. Biggest issue was having to walk through the conservatory/breakfast area to get to the courtyard and room. Plus, the kitchen seemed to be in a very awkward place for staff as well as diners. Overall it was quite nice and would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were attending a family wedding in York. The staff were all very friendly and polite. Breakfast selection was great - although the menu was a bit limited. Staff couldn't really decide wether gluten free was catered for or not. Other than that it was in great location. Easy to get a bus into city or a taxi will be around £7. Will definitely return. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sugarlover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We got married here and it was fantastic! They did all they could to make our wedding special.We really enjoyed the hog roast. Overall the food was excellent. We got some lovely photos to remember our day by. From the day we started planning,till the morning after our wedding,everything ran smooth as silk. We loved every minute of it. Thanks guys

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I arrived late at night and the night watchman was so helpful as if his hotel and found me a charger for my blackberry, in the morning the staff were equally as helpful. Room was clean and comfortable and bathroom nice. Slightly dated but not terribly so, very quiet and good value. Breakfast looked good although I didn't partake.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennyleics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed at the Pavilion as it was hosting a wedding we were attending, and was impressed with the service and rooms.
The wedding was beautiful and the staff were very helpful, Our room overlooked the courtyard but the wedding finished at 12 sharp so we weren't kept awake by noise.
The only downside to our stay was that the bar shut at 12 even for hotel guests and the English breakfast was a little disappointing.
i also thought that it was a little overpriced at £126.00 for 1 nights b&b for 2 (that also included a 10% discount as we were wedding guests) .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki_Matt2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,591 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £62 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing