We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Charges for kids stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Booked a family room. Had bill and charged £15 a night extra for kids to stay. This is on top of extortionate room price. No mention of this charge when we booked or on website. Cleaners did not clean the room either.
E-mailed them twice. Suprise suprise no response.
Best Western need to get a grip of this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenD413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,294)
There are newer reviews for Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

837 - 843 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a tired and slightly sad hotel living on past glories.

I booked the hotel for 2 colleagues and myself because the hotel I usually use in the York area was full. We arrived, checked in and had a look around. First impressions were good, the welcome is positive and the building welcoming, but first impressions flatter to deceive.

My room, No 43, was themed around Ben Hogan, the golfer. Although nice it was clean but dull and tired: damaged wallpaper round the plugs by the desk, paint chips and slightly worn. Lighting was poor, adding to the overall feel of faded glamor. Excellent wifi though, which helped.

We went down for dinner at 20:00, having pre-booked but this didn’t seem to help, parked in the bar for a drink the menus eventually arrived. The selection was good and we ordered. Taken to our tables the dining room echoed my room, clearly “designed” but now slightly shabby and with poor lighting.
Shown to our table the floor management was somewhat chaotic, our choice of wine had sold out, so had to order a replacement. Starters arrived before bread had been offered and as the wine waiter was pouring out wine to taste.

My starter, baked scallops arrived, nice enough but the scallops were very small and the shells had been over baked so the cheesy top was hard at the edges. On to my main course, Yorkshire Pork Plate: a good idea with pork offered 5 ways but the execution was not great and the baked apple way over. I felt that this dish had sat in the oven a bit too long: it was OK but could have been excellent. I passed on a pudding and had an espresso coffee, again OK but could have been better…

I slept well, but at 6 am was suddenly woken by the arrival of a delivery van outside my window. I got up and showered…the shower flow was poor, making the shower less than amazing. I went down to breakfast. It was dire. Self service in a dingy area, cheap ingredients and a miserable choice. The orange juice was very acid and flavorless, most probably pasteurized long life. Fresh fruit? Tinned prunes, tinned oranges and thawed frozen berries probably better used as pie filling. Coffee? I’ve had better instant coffee…..

Overall a disappointing experience: it could have been so good.

Room Tip: Avoid those at the back, overlooking the delivery area
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenkspj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Beautiful hotel, on the way into York city centre(the bus stops right outside so no need to take the car into town), beautiful gardens, and our room even had a balcony, friendly staff who could not have been more helpful, lovely food, and a fantastic breakfast, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This Hotel compares very unfavourably with the two other 3 star Hotels we stayed at during our 3 weeks in the UK hence the "poor" overall grading

It has good parking and is on one of the main bus routes into York City centre. It was once a Georgian gentlemen's residence. The subsequent conversion has produced some charming features, the garden views and the courtyard style buttery for example. However it is a very rambling building and in dire need of some re decoration. The route march to our Ground floor bedroom was quite the experience!

The bedroom seemed small in comparison with the other hotels we stayed in. The cleanliness could not be faulted but it was tired and dreary. Service at Reception and the Buttery was cheerful and efficient. I will write a separate review of the Restaurant, suffice to say I would not eat there again.

note for Editor......there is no Swimming Pool or Fitness Centre please delete grading

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We went here for the first time in February and as we were very disappointed with the dirty head stained headboard dirt and poor breakfast. We were offered a complementary stay to try again. Still as bad. We were given a four poster room was dark gloomy and dusty, Still no mini fridges. Paint work old wall paper old bad finished touches bath panel coming off very poor standard. Lights not all working wires hanging from the television. Breakfast put in the horrible cold drab uninviting bar room again with old marked wooden tables and cane furniture hated it. The breakfast nothing wet of the plate beans, tomatoes so was very dry only one bacon and one sausage had to give my partner mine or he would of been eating a child's breakfast it was one of everything 1,bacon,egg,sausage,black pudding ,hash brown. So he had my bacon black pudding and hash brown so if your wanting a hearty breakfast don't expect here. I know it's an old building but glad it was complementary as again as I said in my last review about this place it is just not worth the money at all. We visit York regularly but we won't be using this hotel again the rooms need complete refurbishing. And stop putting guest's in that back bar room it's awful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss-English-Rose81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our 2nd stay at The Pavillion. From a courtyard room to a room on the 1st floor... Once again excellent in all areas, room, food, staff, cleanliness and parking, all 1st class! Special mention to 'Victoria' on reception, helpful and courteous with a lovely smile! Lots of weddings at this hotel hence some noise, but it only adds to the lovely ambience ... Our room on the 1st floor had a balcony that overlooked a very pretty courtyard...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night for a wedding, service within the hotel was brilliant,rooms were clean and tidy to. It was central to the centre of York. There is also a great desighner outlet about 2 mile away. Overall this was a great central hotel :-)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarface9769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £74 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing