We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Recently stayed for one night with my wife and in-laws and was very impressed with the friendly atmosphere and comfort. All staff were very pleasant, especially the duty manager. Breakfast was continental buffet and cooked items to order. Variety was good along with overall quality. We had 3 additional guests with us for breakfast and this was no problem. We didn't get to try the restaurant in the evening. Location is good, but a fairly long 30 minutes if you want to walk into the city. Taxis seem plentiful and reasonably cheap though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    411
    144
    70
    36
See reviews for
219
632
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We have a night in York every couple of years or so and always seem to be drawn to the Pavillion. It's perfectly located a mile or so south of the city on the A19 in Fulford. Handy for the designer outlet aswell. Parking is free and we've never had a problem getting a space. The rooms are just ok but for a night do the job nicely. The best things for us are the service by all the staff and more so the food. We had a light meal on arrival about 2pm in the bar area which was very tasty and set us up well for a trip to the city for the evening. Breakfast was superb as ever. We didn't eat dinner on this stay but have previously and from memory it was excellent.
I've no doubt we will return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here last weekend and could not find fault . We arrived at 9am Saturday morning the hotel was busy as they were getting ready for a wedding, which I must say seemed to run very smoothly .They were also busy serving breakfast to the guests .However despite this the reception staff were more than happy to point us in the right direction for town ,providing a bus number and a taxi number, the deputy manager even took us outside to show us where to go if we wanted to walk ! Our room was clean comfy and had everything we needed . All the staff were helpful polite and friendly without exception . Nothing was too much trouble . The breakfast was delicious and filled us up ready for our journey home . We will definitely return here and recommend to others . Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This amazing hotel played host to my wedding (1/11/13) The staff were attentive and friendly and catered to our every need on every day of our stay despite another wedding following ours the next day! There aren't enough words to praise this magnificent hotel and its staff but it will be somewhere i go back to again and again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StagJamesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband and I got married at The Pavilion in October 2013. Having looked at several venues around York we choose The Pavilion and we are so very pleased we did.
A few of our family and close friends stayed at the hotel the evening before the wedding and from the moment we arrived the staff were so friendly and attentive and genuinely could not do enough for us. On the day itself everything was done, we did not have to worry about a thing. Dan in particular looked after us all through the day and also Paul, we can not thank them enough for all they did in making our day so special.
The venue itself has so much character and the bedrooms we spacious and well equipped. The food was tasty and well presented. We had the prefect wedding that we'd always imagined.
Thank you to all staff at The Pavilion Hotel we had an amazing day and a large part of that was due to the service we received from you all.
We look forward to future visits.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We ended up here because the Monkbar (also Best Western) where we normally stay in York centre was full. The Pavilion is a little distance away from the centre, but not unacceptably so.
The initial impression was of an old world charm and all the staff we encountered were very friendly, courteous and helpful.
We were a little surprised to be told that our room was in a separate building across the road! The 'road' is the very busy A19 - a main route into York. This made our morning trip to breakfast a protracted affair as we waited for a rare break in the traffic flow.
That apart, the room was very acceptable and we had a comfortable night’s sleep. It was a small apartment, with a separate lounge area on entry, from which the corridor to the bedroom also contained a kitchenette and a door off to the bathroom. Thankfully the bedroom was at the back of the apartment, otherwise the traffic noise would have been a problem. The decor was in need of some repair, particularly in the bathroom, where the toilet roll holder was also broken.
We only used the main hotel building for breakfast on our two days there. We found the arrangements somewhat confusing in that there were a number of rooms in use for breakfast and, with all of these rooms full, the staff seemed stretched to cope. On the first day, it took quite a while (and a reminder) to get our order taken after we noted that new arrivals were having their orders taken before us. Thankfully, the second day was prompter.
Generally, a good, clean and friendly hotel – we’d stay there again, but would try to get a room in the main building.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hotel and avoid a room overlooking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenPuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monkbar Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 3 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
Address: 45 Main Street, York YO10 4PJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing