We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,311 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

Fantastic Hotel, hosting a wedding the day of our stay so we were located just across the road from the main hotel in their Apartments. Really lovely, cosy place.

Briliant location, we caught the bus into the town and back again really easily which took the stress out of driving in the incredible traffic for the Market Weekend.

We also visited the York Outlet on the Sunday - really easy from this hotel.

The staff were really pleasant and efficient despite being really busy with the Wedding. We WILL be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillbilly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Booked this hotel as it was convenient for the city and the retail outlet, plus there is a car park. Having read previous reviews I knew that it would be all right but the reality came as a wonderful bonus. The hotel looked welcoming as we drove up at dusk and we decided to eat in the restaurant for the first night; the menu appears to be standard brasserie fare but the food is worthy of a top restaurant! Scotch egg made from duck egg and black pudding with a soft yolk was sublime, following this with the ham hock was a mistake as it was so delicious that I certainly ate more than was good for me, so we booked a table for our second night, an equally delicious meal. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful and no-one appeared too busy to talk. The room was as expected for a hotel of this rating. We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Recently stayed for one night with my wife and in-laws and was very impressed with the friendly atmosphere and comfort. All staff were very pleasant, especially the duty manager. Breakfast was continental buffet and cooked items to order. Variety was good along with overall quality. We had 3 additional guests with us for breakfast and this was no problem. We didn't get to try the restaurant in the evening. Location is good, but a fairly long 30 minutes if you want to walk into the city. Taxis seem plentiful and reasonably cheap though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We have a night in York every couple of years or so and always seem to be drawn to the Pavillion. It's perfectly located a mile or so south of the city on the A19 in Fulford. Handy for the designer outlet aswell. Parking is free and we've never had a problem getting a space. The rooms are just ok but for a night do the job nicely. The best things for us are the service by all the staff and more so the food. We had a light meal on arrival about 2pm in the bar area which was very tasty and set us up well for a trip to the city for the evening. Breakfast was superb as ever. We didn't eat dinner on this stay but have previously and from memory it was excellent.
I've no doubt we will return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed here last weekend and could not find fault . We arrived at 9am Saturday morning the hotel was busy as they were getting ready for a wedding, which I must say seemed to run very smoothly .They were also busy serving breakfast to the guests .However despite this the reception staff were more than happy to point us in the right direction for town ,providing a bus number and a taxi number, the deputy manager even took us outside to show us where to go if we wanted to walk ! Our room was clean comfy and had everything we needed . All the staff were helpful polite and friendly without exception . Nothing was too much trouble . The breakfast was delicious and filled us up ready for our journey home . We will definitely return here and recommend to others . Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,590 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £62 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing