We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

833 - 839 of 1,340 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A good 10 minutes drive out of York (can be 30+ in traffic) but on the bus route, this is a lovely hotel if you want a taste of "masterpiece theatre" living. Forget any preconceived notions about B Westerns, York Pavilion has country house charm in spades with ambience to boot. Chintzy drawing room, Dramatic staircases, four-poster beds etc. etc. Rooms vary widely from fly fisher man "Grandpa Woolley's" four poster room to "cottages on the ground floor. If noise bothers avoid rooms over the party room at all cost. Beds are super-comfy and the breakfasts offer lots of choices --cold buffet style and hot cooked-to-order. Hotel service top notch. Restaurant offers some "nouveau" takes on old classics but food service can be tortuously slow if the experienced wait personnel are not in attendance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank sheilaDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We have just got home from this hotel. Initially we were happy with the hotel, we had a family bereavement in august and the hotel (only after several phone calls) let us transfer our dates to December but confirmed that it would be an extra £30 as December rates are more expensive. We arrived - the windows were open with no radiators on! The room was freezing and on freshening up the shower adjuster fell apart in my husbands hand an nearly fell on his foot. The bath also had poor sealant work. The room was dated. For £120 for one night I was very disappointed - I would have paid £45 for that room and experience. There was also a sign outside the hotel stating £80 per night which only frustrated us further. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Fantastic Hotel, hosting a wedding the day of our stay so we were located just across the road from the main hotel in their Apartments. Really lovely, cosy place.

Briliant location, we caught the bus into the town and back again really easily which took the stress out of driving in the incredible traffic for the Market Weekend.

We also visited the York Outlet on the Sunday - really easy from this hotel.

The staff were really pleasant and efficient despite being really busy with the Wedding. We WILL be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillbilly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Booked this hotel as it was convenient for the city and the retail outlet, plus there is a car park. Having read previous reviews I knew that it would be all right but the reality came as a wonderful bonus. The hotel looked welcoming as we drove up at dusk and we decided to eat in the restaurant for the first night; the menu appears to be standard brasserie fare but the food is worthy of a top restaurant! Scotch egg made from duck egg and black pudding with a soft yolk was sublime, following this with the ham hock was a mistake as it was so delicious that I certainly ate more than was good for me, so we booked a table for our second night, an equally delicious meal. Every member of staff was friendly and helpful and no-one appeared too busy to talk. The room was as expected for a hotel of this rating. We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
1.4 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#25 of 47 in York
902 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 47 Hotels in York
Price Range: £54 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing