We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A pleasant break”
Reviewed 22 November 2009

We checked into the hotel early evening and were informed we had been given a room in the apartments opposite the hotel. Initially I was a little worried that we had been given a "downgrade", however my initial fears were unfounded. We were given the keys to an stylish old looking building over the road from the Pavilion which housed several self contained self catering apartments. The apartment consisted of a living room with tv, dvd and cd player, with a sofa/sofa bed. The bathroom led off from a little kitchen area comprising of mini hob, microwave, fridge, sink and a small range of cooking implements!. Then at the back of the apartment was the bedroom with another tv, albeit with no remote control. On our first evening we dined at Langtons restaurant which was pricey, but the food and service was good. I do get a little miffed however at paying over £16 for a main course then having to pay extra for vegetables. The following evening we ate more cheaply at the Saddle Inn a few hundred yards away, the food was standard pub fare but quite acceptable and for £8 I had a large fish and chips with salad and mushy peas.
The hotel is located on a main road with buses going into the city regularly, however we chose to walk in via the riverside walk(avoiding the flooded areas) which took about 20 minutes. Our stay was pleasant, and the room acceptable, however our apartment looked a little on the tired side. The bathroom felt old, and the towels were a little threadbare. I booked the break through Tesco deals and overall was pleased with the value of the break.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glitterpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    436
    147
    71
    36
See reviews for
228
653
28
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UP NORTH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Granted the hotel is old but the bathroom needed refurbishment it was pathched up. The breakfast was cold every morning it was served in a cubby hole in le cruset dihes with lids on. Trying to lift the lid and get your cold baked beans etc onto your plate with nowhere to put the lids of each dish was tricky. The hotel is a 40 min walk to York. The bar with whicker tables and chairs looked like my nans conservatory. On a better note the staff were excellent trying hard in cramped conditions. It was overpriced at £125 for a double room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOODTIMESUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

I stayed at the Pavilion with my sister for one night as we were going to a concert at the Opera House in York. We had a twin room which was spacious and clean. The staff at the hotel were extremely efficient and very helpful (even providing us with some extra biscuits from the kitchen when we got back quite late after the concert!). The hotel is located in Fulford, a lovely little village, which is about a 20-30 minute walk into the city centre (depending on how fast you walk, of course). If you follow the blue pedestrian/cyclist signs along Fulford Road you are directed down to the riverside which makes the walk into the centre very pleasant. For the less energetic (or if the weather's poor) there is a bus stop just across the road or a taxi costs about £5.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talulah14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fosdyke, boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

The initial impressions of this hotel were good as we checked in and found ,to our delight, our spacious,atmospheric room (room 1) contained a wonderful 4 poster bed to die for. The hotel itself was at full capacity and the staff coped well with someone always on hand if needed. The self select breakfast was wonderful with a wide range to suit all tastes. Buses took you into York every quarter of an hour if you fancied leaving the car behind with the journey only taking about 7-8 mins. The bar facilities seemed nice but we chose to drink in a local pub, next door - 'The Saddle Inn' - which we found to be friendly and reasonable value. The only reason i have not given 5 stars is because in our room there was crumbling plasterwork on the alcoves and the carpet was a bit tired and i know this bothers some of you out there. Personally, to me, i did'nt care one little bit. In summary, a smashing hotel in a great location with a lovely ambience and friendly and attentive staff and the most WONDERFUL four - poster!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dunc-jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

My partner and I frequently visit York as it is one of our favourite cities. We have passed the York Pavilion on many occassions and decided to give the hotel a try. On arrival we discovered there was a wedding on which we had not been informed about on the telephone. It took 20 minutes to check in and we were asked to pay a different rate to that we had agreed. I refused. The first room we were allocated was small and dark and smelt of damp. After complaining we were offered another room but had to wait an hour for them to prepare it. In the meantime we decided to have a drink at the bar where we were overcharged by £4! Again after complaining this was corrected.
The second room was slightly better but up 3 flights of stairs. The heating didnt work, there was no window in the bathroom which was very dismal and in general could have done with a coat of paint. There was a stain on the bed cover and again the room smelt damp.
The breakfast was a serve yourself buffet but the food was cold and greasy and had limited choice. It was possibly one of the worst breakfasts we have ever had. Not what you would expect from a Best Western Hotel at all. It is fair to say I shall not be returning to this particular hotel in the near future. Rating 5/10.

Helpful?
4 Thank Ladyblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2009

I was staying with my wife and two children (10 and 9) for a short family holiday in York (Monday - Friday). We booked a little late and so there weren't many family rooms available in the city. Before we arrived, the room rate of £130 had seemed high, but after we had checked in we were delighted to find that we had a very large room with a similarly large bathroom (Room 5); and as breakfast for all of us was included in our tariff we came to the conclusion that it was a fair price. We had a four-poster bed, and there was plenty of room for the children to have two full-size folding beds. The room facilities were fine, with the bizarre exception that we were only given two plastic tumblers for four people.
The breakfasts were fine, with a good selection of cereals, bread (and toaster), cooked items, yoghurts etc., although the food buffet area could get crowded.
We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant on one evening only, and had well-prepared food of high quality. It was expensive in our view. I made a comment to our waiter that the table was too small for a dinner for four, and he appeared to think that I was making a joke (when I wasn't).
The hotel is at least half an hour's walk into the city, but on a fine day you can cut across and walk by the river, which is beautiful. Taxis back from the city (call in to the taxi office just down the lane from the 'York Dungeon' attraction) were approximately £5.
Our stay was very enjoyable, and I can think of only three constructive criticisms:
1. On one night the car park was full, and the fact that it is simply made from gravel meant that people took too much space - perhaps bays could be marked out in some way?
2. The hotel information brochure in the room said that there is a children's play area at the rear - but there isn't one at all (and the staff didn't appear to know that it was mentioned in the brochure).
3. The brochure also said that there was free WiFi to every room, but in fact you needed to go downstairs and sit near reception to get a signal (and a number of people mentioned that to me).
We were there in high summer of course, but would mention that the hotel from the outside, and its various gardens were very pretty and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsleofManBuggane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed for two nights and found this hotel very agreeable. The rooms are nicely decorated, quiet and comfortable. The rooms are also well equipped and have irons, ironing boards, a kettle and a hairdryer. The TV also has a good selection of channels and the WI-FI signal was strong.

The staff were all very friendly, efficient and clearly well trained . The cooked breakfast was of a very high standard.

There is a bus stop across the road with regular services to York. We walked back from the centre of York in about 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scots_tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Monkbar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,073 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.4 mi away
Middletons York
Middletons York
#24 of 46 in York
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Property: Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing