We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel as a result of a gamble with last minute secret hotels. This for those of you that dont know is where you pay your money and take a chance. I hadn't done it before and wouldnt again.
We were given a small double at the back of the hotel which was clean and simply furnished. The water provided a luke warm bath and the shower head so close to the wall that I was glad I wasnt any larger as my front would have remained dry.
We decided to have a drink in the bar which lacked any soft furnishings to encourage those to linger. This bar area doubled as the over spill area for breakfast which it more aptly suited being light and airy with a colonial feel with orangery style roof light.
Our deal included a cooked breakfast and we arrived 40 minutes before the end of service. The cold section was lacking and having elected to miss this and go straight for the full English ... doesnt everyone ? I found the provision of half a slice of black pudding most preculiar, had the chef eaten half, was I rationed as my size 14 dress fitted or is that normal ? The bacon had glanced at the pan and looked like my Scottish friend with sunburn ( if you like it cooked best specify ) the hash brown had obviously been hanging around a while, the four button mushrooms tinned ? need I say more .... choose a different breakfast. As for the nights sleep ... the hotel was stifling so we turned the radiator off and opened the window an inch only to be kept awake by what was probably an extractor of sorts going all night.
In saying all this, the staff were polite and there were enough of them. Maybe the other rooms were nicer but this certainly didnt lend itself to romance. Good luck

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninapup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,209 - 1,215 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

Our room was of a good size but could hav done with a refurb as it was tired. The staircase leading to our room was threadbare in places. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean. ALL the staff we encountered were very friendly, pleasesd to help and all asked if we were alright. We saw our friends room which was in the newer part of the hotel. It was adequate and our friends said there was no problems. The outside public spaces were beautiful. The breakfasts were very good. The memory we shall take from this hotel was the wonderful staff, Don't be put off by the tired room comment, i would go again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honestandbalanced87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Stayed 1 nigh BB friendly staff clean and comfortable plus with parking to rear.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amethst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Great four nights, looked after splendily from the time we got there. Food exceptionally good, breakfast buffet choice extensive, plus good cooked breakfast. We were moved to a larger room which was lovely. All staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillericayEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

I can't say enough about this hotel - we stayed there for 3 nights then went back a week later for my son's wedding. I have nothing negative to say. The staff are amazing - nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and always hot. The wedding was so relaxed (again, the staff were attentive and really friendly) and every detail was perfect. I will always use this hotel when in York and for special occasions.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsLManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

First of all - absolutely awful breakfast, had scrambled eggs w/smoked salmon which was microwaved eggs with cold salmon on the side (!!?). Asked for hash browns which never came . . .

As for the room: we asked for a room with a four poster bed. Were led to a room with its own landing, which was nice in theory except the light (which we couldn't find the switch for) leaked into our room, meaning the bulb had to be taken out at night. On opening the door I was momentarily excited when I thought we were upgraded to a suite - how wrong was I! . . .. turned out the door I thought led into a 'lounge area' was in fact our bathroom which was bigger, yes BIGGER than the main room!!!! This will give an indication to the size of the bedroom. View was of the side of a wall. Room was very dark. Bed quite uncomfortable.

All in all a very uncomfortable stay with an awful breakfast. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FatherToddUnctious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We have stayed at this hotel before and always enjoyed our stay. Our room was lovely, a good size, but unfortunately at the front of the hotel, so a lot of traffic noise. However, we booked it on-line at a good rate, so no major complaints.

We like the location. It is not far from the bypass to go to Scarborough, Bridlington or elsewhere. You can drive into York very easily and we did in the evenings, but during the day it's best to use the bus (frequent service), just across the road, or maybe walk as other reviewers have done.

For some reason I had problems with WIFI. The Hotel staff tried hard to help solve the problem, but in the end lent me a cable to plug in for direct broadband.

There is a small cosy lounge where you can sit and relax and read.

We had one evening meal at the Hotel. It was very good and a special meal deal, so good value too although the service was slow. Breakfasts were very good and the staff friendly and helpful.

Throughout our stay, the staff were always friendly and ver helpful.

I would have liked to see freeview or satellite on the TV, rather than just channels 1-5.

Overall, very good, we will go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
4.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
1.7 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
1.4 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hedley House
Hedley House
#14 of 47 in York
1,577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western York Pavilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western York Pavilion Hotel

Address: 45 Main Street | Fulford, York YO10 4PJ, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: £77 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western York Pavilion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western York Pavilion is a wonderful Grade II listed Georgian country house situated in walking distance of the walls of the historic city of York. The hotel is a true-gem and lovingly restored in-keeping with the original charm of a Georgian house. Offering elegance and excellence, a magnificent and memorable place to stay and relax. •Open fireplaces•intimate lounges and bedrooms with antiques and luxury soft furnishings•four poster beds•private walled gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western York Pavilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western York
York Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing